Somebody’s Missing One of Their Little Feathers Tonight. . .

When I went to get to the mail today, I found this tiny feather frozen onto the road. Of course I had to dig it up, let it dry out and photograph it for you. It’s all of 2″ long, and I have no clue who it belonged to or what feather it is. If you know, please let me know! I took the photo on one of the envelopes I received so you could see how small it is:

2007-03-06 001

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mon@rch
    Mar 06, 2007 @ 20:41:52

    Without a doubt this is one first class feather!

    Reply

  2. Mary
    Mar 06, 2007 @ 21:46:53

    Awww. If I found it here, it could be a wren, a sparrow, a cowbird, and the list goes on…

    Hopefully, it was just a little shedding – but, hey! Doesn’t that mean spring is around the corner?

    I think you all should have thawed by now. I’m getting impatient :o(

    Reply

  3. Susan Gets Native
    Mar 06, 2007 @ 22:53:07

    Oh, good grief.
    A towhee? It could be anything.
    Don’t post pictures like this! I am going to be up all night trying to guess what it is!

    Reply

  4. laurie
    Mar 07, 2007 @ 00:28:04

    That is lovely and first class. 🙂

    Reply

  5. jayne
    Mar 07, 2007 @ 06:38:57

    Maybe a wren?? Sweet!

    Reply

  6. jim
    Mar 07, 2007 @ 10:02:35

    that is a nice picture of a feather,let us know what it is when you find out . You could put up a bird feeder and see what types of birds come to it to compare.

    Reply

  7. Sandy
    Mar 07, 2007 @ 11:40:42

    I don’t know either, but it is a good shot. Hope someone identifies it.

    Reply

  8. Pam
    Mar 07, 2007 @ 19:29:06

    Mon@rch – I love the shape of this little feather!

    Mary – Yeah, I was hoping it was just shedding and not blown out by the nasty wind we had a couple of days ago. I’m still in the deep freeze here, with temps going a little higher tomorrow. I’m getting impatient, too!

    Susan! I’m sorry – I hope you slept good last night.

    Laurie – thanks!

    Jayne – It could be a wren! It’s so cute – it’s so small.

    Jim – thanks, I was hoping you would tell me what bird it was from! Yup, somebody could put up a bird feeder for me and we could watch / photograph the birds!

    Sandy – thank you. I thought it would be an easy one for Mon@rch – I guess not, so it doesn’t matter. I just love it and will take it to my Mom for her feather collection.

    Reply

  9. jim
    Mar 08, 2007 @ 03:56:30

    I thought you would already have a bunch of bird feeders up and some bird houses to keep the birds around all year long. When i was in school back in the day, I had a class that we had to go out and watch birds. kinda fun. You would be surprised how many different kind of birds are really out in your back yard.
    well good luck

    Reply

  10. Pam
    Mar 08, 2007 @ 09:52:21

    Jim – I used to until the deer seriously kept helping themselves – and I hate deer tramping through my yard, even though bird feeders or not, they still do. I remember your bird class and your photos and stories – I haven’t forgotten you!
    Yeah, in my backyard birds have a lot of trees to hide in, so sometimes it’s hard to catch them. I’ll put up some feeders this year.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

