TamPontification from Seventh Generation

This is so cool of Seventh Generation to help women’s shelters, and since I use Seventh Generation products (including the girlie items) I thought I’d pass this along to you:

TamPontification

From their website:

Women’s shelters in the U.S. go through thousands of tampons and pads monthly, and, while agencies generally assist with everyday necessities such as toilet paper, diapers, and clothing, this most basic need is often overlooked. You and I may take our monthly trips down the feminine care aisle for granted, but, for women in shelters, a box of tampons is five dollars they can’t spare. Here’s some good news: you can help us contribute to rectifying this situation by making a virtual donation below! For each virtual donation, Seventh Generation will send a pack of organic cotton tampons or chlorine-free pads to a shelter in your state.

TamPontification

Please clicky and pass it on to your friends. I never thought about this before. I plan on doing a daily click. This is on the list of one of the things I could NOT live without and wouldn’t want to see any woman living without these, either.

While I’m talking about Seventh Generation products, I take it they got their name from The Great Law of The Iroquois Confederacy:

‘In our every deliberation, we must consider the impact of our decisions on the next seven generations.’

This is from their toilet paper package:

YOU ARE MAKING A DIFFERENCE TM

If every household in the U.S. replaced just one roll of 500 sheet virgin fiber bathroom tissue with 100% recycled ones, we could save:

  • 423,900 trees
  • 1.0 million cubic feet of landfill space, equal to 1,600 full garbage trucks.
  • 153 million gallons of water, a year’s supply for 1,200 families of four.

This product is free of dyes, inks and fragrances.

Safe for septic systems.

Ideal for low-flow toilets.

P.S. Male readers please clicky, too!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Mar 09, 2007 @ 10:25:03

    I did it!

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Mar 09, 2007 @ 10:27:11

    Yay Lynne! That’s very cool! 😀

    Reply

  3. jayne
    Mar 09, 2007 @ 16:17:02

    What a wonderful cause to support. :c)

    Reply

  4. Sandy
    Mar 09, 2007 @ 16:17:11

    I did it, too!

    Reply

  5. Pam
    Mar 09, 2007 @ 16:24:08

    Jayne – I agree – especially since I never thought about it before.

    Sandy – yay! I think it’s a really cool thing to do, click and drag the heart takes all of a second which I can do every day.

    Reply

  6. laurie
    Mar 09, 2007 @ 20:15:40

    Very cool. Even thought I don’t use any products (don’t hate me, I had a hyster. several years ago), I clicky clicky’ed it too.

    Reply

  7. Pam
    Mar 09, 2007 @ 20:19:22

    Laurie – I don’t hate you at all! My Mom had one, too, when she was 39. I soooo can’t wait to not have to use these girlie things anymore (such a waste of money)! Very cool you clicky clicky’ed!!!

    Reply

  8. Mary
    Mar 09, 2007 @ 21:33:52

    Pam, this is great! I haven’t used these things since 03 but I know the true value of them! Absolutely, it’s expensive and necessary. Thanks for lending your help.

    Reply

  9. Pam
    Mar 09, 2007 @ 21:35:42

    Thanks Mary! Oh yeah, expensive and necessary for sure!

    Reply

  10. mon@rch
    Mar 09, 2007 @ 22:33:00

    hmmm ……..

    Reply

  11. Susan Gets Native
    Mar 09, 2007 @ 23:21:01

    It never, EVER, occurred to me that shelters would have a problem with supplies of the feminine nature.

    When I first became aware of Seventh Generation, I could never find the products. Now I am seeing them more and more, and I will be buying them from now on.

    A good heart is a blessing, Pam.
    And you are blessed.

    Reply

  12. Pam
    Mar 10, 2007 @ 08:09:56

    Mon@rch – don’t think about it! Just clicky clicky for the lovely ladies of NY! I mean, it’s all about the ladies for you, isn’t it? 😉

    Susan – It NEVER occurred to me either! I’ve done the paper supplies thing before, but never *these* feminine things!

    When I switched over to Seventh Generation productts it was like going back to Kotex, but to *not* have any chemicals used in making these things are excellent for the environment and down there, too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

