Dreaming of Spring Flowers. . .

While it seems like all of my blogging friends are displaying their spring flowers, I’m still dreaming of them appearing here. Soon, they’ll be here, soon. Here’s one of my many favorite woodland spring flowers. Actually I can’t think of a spring flower that isn’t my favorite! Trout Lily (Erythronium americanum)

FLCC_Woodlot_04162005 008 closeup

Hey! I didn’t realize Mutual of Omaha’s Wild Kingdom was on again!  I remember watching it every Sunday night when I was a kid! How awesome is this!

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mary
    Mar 11, 2007 @ 19:44:14

    TEst

    Reply

  2. mary
    Mar 11, 2007 @ 19:47:07

    I tried to post earlier today but I think WordPress was under the weather.

    I remember watching the Mutual of Omaha’s Wild Kingdom. I believe it aired on Sunday evenings, before the Wonderful World of Disney. On Saturday evenings we watched “The Honeymooners” with the June Taylor Dancers. A few years later, Saturday nights weren’t complete unless I watched Mary Tyler Moore with a bowl of ice cream on my lap!

    This didn’t have anything to do with the subject of your post. That Trout Lily is very nice!

    Reply

  3. Pam
    Mar 11, 2007 @ 20:02:26

    Mary, hmmm, I’m sorry I think my server was acting up earlier, grrrr.
    I was just telling one of my friends I thought the Wild Kingdom came on before the Wonderful World of Disney – thanks for confirming that! I used to watch both! It did irritate me when the Wonderful World of Disney had animal stuff on it, too. Two hours of watching animals on TV was too much for me. I wanted stories or cartoons on the Wonderful World of Disney!
    I faintly remember “The Jackie Gleason Show” – ‘HOW SWEEEEEET IT IS!’ And now I have all of The Honeymooners episodes because I love the memories of watching Jackie Gleason with my parents – and even though it seems sexist now, Alice always wins in the end.
    Oh, Saturday nights in the 70’s, OMG – the lineup was awesome – The Carol Burnett Show, Mary Tyler Moore and The Bob Newhart Show. That and a bowl of popcorn and a glass of orange juice (we weren’t allowed to drink soda). Now when I have popcorn I have to have a glass of orange juice! And this has nothing to do with my post, but it was on my mind, too! Great minds think alike!

    Reply

  4. mon@rch
    Mar 11, 2007 @ 21:38:32

    Without a doubt, Jim Fowler is a true hero to many! I so love this trout lily!! For a second, I thought someone from down south had this flower already! What a great sign of spring to be coming here soon!

    Reply

  5. Pam
    Mar 11, 2007 @ 21:41:41

    Mon@rch – Oh yeah, Jim *is* the man, well, one of the men, anyway!
    I can’t wait to see the trout lilies. This photo was taken in April of 2005 – so soon we’ll be seeing them here!! Yay! (Sorry, I didn’t mean to make you think someone down south saw this, I haven’t seen it on any of the blogs I read).

    Reply

  6. Susan Gets Native
    Mar 11, 2007 @ 22:10:54

    I wanted to be Carol Burnett when I grew up!
    I learned how to do the Tarzan yell in my driveway.

    Spring is coming. Spring is coming. Spring is coming.

    Reply

  7. Egret's Nest
    Mar 11, 2007 @ 23:44:18

    Gorgeous trout lily! We too had to watch Wild Kingdom and then Disney. And, yes, Carol Burnett rocks!

    Reply

  8. jayne
    Mar 12, 2007 @ 05:41:44

    Oh, yes! I remember Jim and Marlon well too! We loved that show on Sunday evenings. Marlon more often than not stood on the sidelines describing poor Jim in the middle of tackling a wild animal…lol! Beautiful lily!!

    Reply

  9. Pam
    Mar 12, 2007 @ 08:39:49

    Susan – OMG – do you still do the Tarzan yell? That is so cool! Spring is coming, spring is coming, I’m going to keep saying it!

    Lizalee – Thank you! Sounds like many of us were watching the same TV shows every Sunday night. I love Tim Conway, too!

    Jayne – if you get to see the particular show “Magnificent Moments” which airs again a couple of times this week it shows Jim doing amazing things, but then he and Marlon had to run like heck to get away from the elephant seals. I love trout lilies!

    Reply

  10. Mary
    Mar 12, 2007 @ 12:26:33

    Oh, yes! Saturday night line-up will never be beat. We don’t have line-ups like that anymore! Loved Carol and Bob Newhart. Then came Rhoda. And I might get a lashing for this one but I loved All in the Family.

    Am I too old to remember Red Skelton as Clem Kadiddlehopper? Nope.

    Reply

  11. Pam
    Mar 12, 2007 @ 12:34:25

    Mary – so true – we sure don’t have lineups like we used to anymore! Rhoda – I had forgotten about Rhoda! I loved her, too!
    You won’t get a lashing from me – I still love ‘All in the Family.’ Archie voiced what most of America really wanted to (and still do want to in most cases) voice.
    I’ll have to go see which character Clem Kadiddlehopper is! Red Skelton cracks me up!

    Reply

  12. Susan Gets Native
    Mar 12, 2007 @ 22:52:13

    Yes, I can still do the Tarzan yell. I will demonstrate at Cape May.

    Reply

  13. Pam
    Mar 13, 2007 @ 07:05:30

    Cool Susan! Can’t wait to hear it!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

