Much Better Day! Charlotte-Genesee Lighthouse, Lake Ontario at Durand Eastman Park

So I played with my blog by upgrading it to 2.1.2 and added sidebar widgets for a while (update: which I have since had to stay up to midnight Tuesday night to remove them and downgrade to WordPress 2.0.7 because 2.1.2 isn’t working properly and now I have to fix all of my links), and then headed out to 1000 Acre Swamp and encountered the sign “Parking Lot Closed For the Winter.” I drove back in there anyway. The driveway was full of snow, ice, mud and water:

2007-03-13 002

And swamps on either side of me:

2007-03-13 004

And the parking lot was still snowed in: Shoot.

2007-03-13 003

Hey, I’m declaring winter is gone, let’s get that snow plowed out of there! I was ready with my hiking boots to slog through some deep water if I had to, just to find birds and skunk cabbage and other things. No place to park without getting towed. Okay, change of plans.

I went out to the Charlotte-Genesee Lighthouse on Lake Ontario which was built in 1822. The keeper’s house was built in 1863.

2007-03-13 006

The following information is from the detailed sign:

2007-03-13 008_crop

A Heritage Harbor – The outlet of the Genesee River has always been an important location for commerce. Native Americans camped here, the first white settlers chose this site to build a cabin, and the bluff was also recognized as the best location for the beacon that marked the entrance to a growing lakeport.

2007-03-13 028

2007-03-13 023

A Strategic Location – Charlotte was once a bustling commercial shipping port, the destination of sidewheelers and sailing vessels unloading supplies for a growing city and loading products from the region. Today the harbor is still an unimportant hub, but now it is used primarily by recreational boaters.

2007-03-13 021

Timeline (some dates were hard to read, so they may be off by ten or twenty years).

1781 First Light on the Great Lakes at Mouth of the Niagara River

1789 Lighthouses Become Federal Responsibility

1792 Hincher Cabin Built

1822 Lighthouse and Original Keeper’s Dwelling Built

1829 First Piers Built

1838 Pier Light Built

1856 New Lantern and Fresnel Lens Added

1863 Present Keeper’s House Built

1881 Light Remove from Service. Lantern Moved to Pier

1905 Lighthouse Saved from Demolition. Primarily by Efforts of Charlotte High School Students.

1984 Initial Restoration Begun

Daffodils in front of the Keeper’s House – another sure sign of spring – woo hoo!

2007-03-13 022

My next destination was Irondequoit Bay, but first I stopped along the Lake Ontario shoreline at Durand Eastman Park (which is a place for exploration for another day or two or three or . . .). Here’s the pier with the light mentioned above:

2007-03-13 054

Same gulls I’ve seen a million times now, but that’s okay, I like it when they spread their wings:

2007-03-13 069

The beach is a mixture of sand and ice-snow – it felt really nice to walk on sand again:

2007-03-13 059

Since this post is getting really long, I’ll save my blogging about Irondequoit Bay for next time! I got at least one new lifer there! Yay!

However, I will say this morning I woke up to the rusty gate sound of Grackles. Yay! The Grackles are back. Also the crows (thanks Susan). When I got home a crow was doing its thing in my yard:

2007-03-13 117_crop

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ruth
    Mar 13, 2007 @ 22:08:15

    Sounds like you had a great day. Daffodils already! The lighthouse is very picturesque. Next time I go to Rochester, I will skip the malls. Did you know there used to be a ferry from Brant county, just a few miles south of us, that went down the Grand River and across Lake Ontario to Rochester? It was a 2 day trip and an old hotel still stands on the route.

    Reply

  2. Susan Gets Native
    Mar 13, 2007 @ 22:24:16

    That’s a crow, I think.
    Lighthouse, (First light on the Lake?!)swamps, daffodils…a much better day. Thank goodness. My face can’t take back-to-back rants from you!

    Reply

  3. mon@rch
    Mar 13, 2007 @ 22:27:10

    Having problems commenting but looks like it is working now! Love the blue sky and blue water! Almost looks like summer but not without the leaves on the trees! Glad you found some birds, can’t wait to see the post tomorrow!

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Mar 13, 2007 @ 22:52:44

    Ruth, I did have a great day! I couldn’t believe the daffodils either! I still have lots of snow covering where mine will be coming up. Rochester has a lot of neat things to do besides the malls. I haven’t been to a mall in quite a while.
    I didn’t know about the two day ferry – that’s interesting! I know about the fast ferry debacle – which I noticed is finally gone from the river.

    Susan – thanks. I should know better. Grackles sparkle blue!
    From what I saw it looks like this was the second lighthouse on Lake Ontario. I can’t take back-to-back rants myself!

    Mon@rch – thank you for all of your great help and patience. I have to rebuild my links now that I’ve downgraded. Hopefully there won’t be any more SQL problems. If so this blog is moving! You’ll love to see the birds I saw today!

    Reply

  5. Mary
    Mar 14, 2007 @ 08:21:23

    Yay! Pam got out! The daffodils prove it. Spring is upon you! Your interest in history is great. That lighthouse photo and map is quite cool.

    The beach doesn’t look to inviting yet but there is something about a beach in off-season that’s even more appealing to me. But that’s me.

    Good crow photo. I don’t mind crows but they’re screaming can be a little annoying.

    Reply

  6. jim
    Mar 14, 2007 @ 08:25:38

    It looks like it was a nice day for you. I like the pictures of the light house, i will have to go some day too. Yep i see you took a picture from your truck ,from the inside of your truck – thats all i have to say about that.
    I v been to 1000 Acre Swamp , it looks different in the fall. nice pictures. A really cool place to visit, They have nice board walks that take you though the woods and swamp. other place of intrest if you like this are is mendon ponds , I spent over two hrs walking around and feeding the wild birds black sisl seeds from hand and taking pictures.

    Reply

  7. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Mar 14, 2007 @ 09:56:49

    Sounds like a fabulous day! I really love how you frame your landscape pictures. I need to put lots more thought into my efforts. I like crows- they’re busy and VOCAL around here right now.

    Reply

  8. Sandy
    Mar 14, 2007 @ 16:31:45

    Great shots, so glad you got out for a shooting spree. We have grackles now, too. And, this is the week the roblns usually show up, but so far they haven’t.
    That is a sturdy looking lighthouse. But then, you know I love bricks and rock.
    You have lots more snow than we do right now. There is supposed to be some sort of a storm this weekend, though.

    Reply

  9. Pam
    Mar 14, 2007 @ 19:13:26

    Mary – I put all of my responsibilities on hold and had a great time! Then I had to make up for goofing up by staying up late! Daffodils = spring absolutely!! Woo Hoo! I prefer the beach this way, too, with no people there! Yeah, the crows can get screaming good here, too!

    Jim – Thanks! yup the day was really beautiful. Hmmm, what else do you have to say about me taking pictures from my truck – I wasn’t moving, believe me! Notice the shiny truck – I just washed it, and then took it into the goo.
    I’d love to go to Mendon Ponds sometime soon. Birds came up to your hands to eat the seeds? That’s cool! Where’s the pics? On your computer? Hmmmm, I’ll be over!

    Lynne – Thanks! Sometimes I have to *make* my days fabulous in order to feel better about everything, if that makes sense! I love crows and grackles – the under loved birds, IMHO!

    Sandy – thank you! You were right, it made me feel much better. I haven’t seen Robins yet either. And I thought of you while I was visiting the lighthouse and thought you would really appreciate it! Hope your storm doesn’t end up too bad. I haven’t seen the forecast here yet.

    Reply

  10. laurie
    Mar 15, 2007 @ 00:19:10

    I love the gull picture!

    Reply

  11. Pam
    Mar 15, 2007 @ 08:28:03

    Thanks Laurie!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

