Where’s Pam?

So I’m going to need to take an unplanned blogging break here. My Dad is in the ICU in critical condition and to me, besides taking care of myself, that is A #1 priority with me right now. I’ll be back, hopefully soon, and hopefully with good news that he’s on his way to recovery.

I’ll leave you for now with this beautiful flower from one of the cactus plants at Taliesen West.

AZ-2007-03-20thru29 157

I hope everyone enjoys their spring.

24 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lizalee
    Apr 02, 2007 @ 15:32:03

    Take care of yourself and your dad. I hope he recovers quickly and thoroughly!

    Reply

  2. jason
    Apr 02, 2007 @ 15:51:07

    I hope all goes well, Pam. Just take care of yourself and your family.

    Reply

  3. Sandy
    Apr 02, 2007 @ 17:32:18

    Pam,
    Prayers and hugs!

    Reply

  4. Lynne from Hasty Brook
    Apr 02, 2007 @ 18:54:02

    Pam- You and your Dad are in my prayers tonight. Take care!

    Reply

  5. mon@rch
    Apr 02, 2007 @ 21:27:42

    Take care of your dad and we will be here when you get more time! We will be thinking about you and your father!

    Reply

  6. Laura
    Apr 02, 2007 @ 22:30:34

    I’ll be thinking of you both. Take care.

    Reply

  7. susangetsnative
    Apr 02, 2007 @ 23:49:29

    Oh, Lord. Hoping all is well with your Dad, Pam.
    We all love you.

    Reply

  8. jayne
    Apr 03, 2007 @ 07:19:27

    Oh Pam…. so sorry to hear about your dad. I will keep him (and you) in my prayers and hope all goes well.

    Reply

  9. Pam
    Apr 03, 2007 @ 08:55:26

    Thank you all so very much for your prayers and hugs and thoughts and love. I love all of you, you’re the best. My Dad still has a long way to go, but he’s a huge fighter and he’s always been overflowing, just busting in fact, with life, so hopefully that will help him through this time. In fact, they had to sedate him because he was ready to get the hell out of there within the first hour of being in ICU. He squeezed my hand so hard I thought my fingers were going to go numb and I kept telling him to relax. I don’t like seeing him sedated, but I go and talk to him because they say he can hear me. He loves music – Benny Goodman is one of his favs – so we’re bringing him some music to listen to. Music is healing, right! Go music!! Go anything that will work!!

    Reply

  10. Mary
    Apr 03, 2007 @ 09:05:25

    Pam, take care. My goodness, nothing is more important than your Dad’s recovery. I’ll be praying for all of you.

    HUGS!

    Reply

  11. Laura
    Apr 03, 2007 @ 21:37:49

    How is he tonight? Resting and healing to Benny Goodman, I hope.

    Reply

  12. susangetsnative
    Apr 03, 2007 @ 22:50:45

    I’ve been checking obsessively throughout the day. Hope dear Dad is healing.
    Hugs.

    Reply

  13. Pam
    Apr 04, 2007 @ 09:56:02

    Mary – thank you so much! Hugs back to you, too!

    Laura and Susan and everyone – my Dad made great progress yesterday – the doctors are very pleased. One doctor said he will be back to normal! He still has to be in the ICU for a l-o-n-g time, it turns out he has pneumonia & strep and it went into his blood so it’s sepsis (I soooo don’t know if I’m saying this right, I know those are the terms though). They started feeding him yesterday. They’ve been giving him antibiotics for strep the whole time. They reduced his respiratory input and he’s fighting even having that. His heart rate has gone down and his oxygen level has gone up, and his skin is returning to its normal ruddy color. And he is producing his own steroids!
    He’s in an area with this young kid and they keep throwing us out because they have to run tests on the kid – it is soooo irritating. Anyways, Laura, one time when I got kicked out I left him with a Benny Goodman CD and when it would finish the nurse started it over for him (my CD player doesn’t run continuously). She’s an *awesome* nurse anyway, and that put her over the top in my book! We’re going to get him an iPod and fill it up with the music he loves.
    Thank you so much for your concern. I’m going to wait ’til tonight to see him so I’ll post an update in the comments tomorrow a.m.

    Reply

  14. mon@rch
    Apr 04, 2007 @ 11:37:46

    Glad to hear he is doing progress! Also, great to hear the nurse is playing the Benny Goodman CD over again! They really do care but an Ipod would be nice for him to hear many other wonderful songs!

    Reply

  15. jayne
    Apr 05, 2007 @ 07:01:22

    Pam, so glad to hear he’s making progress. He remains in my prayers. Hugs to you…

    Reply

  16. Mary
    Apr 05, 2007 @ 15:26:12

    I’m glad you are letting us know. I should have stopped by here yesterday. Sounds like he is going to be just fine! Keep him smiling, Pam!

    Reply

  17. Pam
    Apr 05, 2007 @ 21:10:02

    Thanks Mon@rch – my brother is working on the iPod so hopefully he’ll have it soon.
    Jayne – thank you so much. Your recovery remains in my prayers, too. Hugs to you, too.
    Thanks Mary, I will keep him smiling!

    Everyone – my Dad has made great improvements over the past two days. He is *off* the respirator – yay!!!! That was much sooner than originally anticipated! Everything is moving in the right direction, even though he still has a ways a go. He is being called the “wonder patient” considering when he came into the hospital they told me that he was dying – wah! I just found that out today. I’m so happy my Daddy is getting better. I am sooo not done with him yet! (Not that anyone ever is).

    Reply

  18. Mary
    Apr 05, 2007 @ 22:10:53

    That’s the attitude to have! Congratulate him on being the “wonder patient”! I am so glad he recovering so well. I’ve been there with very ill parents and I know it tears at your insides. I have a good feeling that he’s on the mend and will be around to make you smile for a long time ;o)

    Reply

  19. susangetsnative
    Apr 05, 2007 @ 23:19:37

    Thank goodness he is getting better so fast! Sepsis is serious.
    You used the terms correctly, by the way. It’s when bacteria crosses over into the bloodstream and wrecks all kinds of havoc.
    Keep it up, Pam’s Daddy!

    Reply

  20. Laura
    Apr 05, 2007 @ 23:32:07

    Glad for your good news.

    Reply

  21. dmmgmfm
    Apr 06, 2007 @ 02:31:31

    I am so sorry to hear he has been ill, but absolutely thrilled that he is improving so quickly. I’m sure that with you by his side keeping him smiling and laughing, he will be fine in no time.

    You are in my thoughts and prayers.

    Reply

  22. jayne
    Apr 06, 2007 @ 09:59:22

    Yea! So glad to hear he’s off the vent and on the road to recovery! Hugs aplenty to you Pam.

    Reply

  23. laurie
    Apr 07, 2007 @ 02:44:18

    Dmmgmfm is me (Laurie), and I am just checking back to see how things are going. It sounds good and I’m thrilled for you and your dad!

    Reply

  24. Pam
    Apr 07, 2007 @ 07:05:48

    Thank you so much for all of your concern and support. My blogging friends are the best!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

