Roadrunner

So I was starting to read a book about Roadrunners that I picked up at the Desert Botanical Garden so I could be all smart about them to post here, and then you know what hit the fan. And I haven’t picked it up since, but I want to do this post anyway.

For anyone who thinks roadrunners run really fast like in the Looney Tunes Wyle E. Coyote and Roadrunner shows, it isn’t true. I’ve seen them with my own eyeballs in the wild three times. The first time the roadrunner was hanging out in the middle of a red dirt road in Sedona. I said “get out of the way bird!” And Mom said “it’s a roadrunner!” The second time we were headed to some place in Tucson on a quiet side road and one was just hanging out on the side.

And the third time we saw a roadrunner in the wild was this past time when we were at Tuzigoot National Monument in Camp Verde, AZ. I had just come out of the bathroom and lookit who was just hanging around on the wall:

AZ-2007-03-20thru29 618

See it? You wanna closer look? Okay, here you go:

AZ-2007-03-20thru29 619

Right after I took this photo it put its crest up! Now do you want to see it run? Okay, here’s a video!

[blip.tv ?posts_id=188461&dest=9641]

See, it doesn’t run as fast as the cartoons. At least not from what I’ve seen!

P.S. The red Dodge charger in the first photo was our rental car. Brrumm brrumm, that thing could move.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary
    Apr 29, 2007 @ 09:07:17

    Who would’ve known? He does run, but I don’t see any smoke behind him. LOL! Great little vidio clip, Pam.

    BEEP BEEP!

    Reply

  2. Sandy
    Apr 29, 2007 @ 10:24:23

    Pam,
    When I was in school in Oklahoma, we walked a mile down a dirt road to the school bus stop, and lots of days, a roadrunner was would be on the road just ahead of us. I don’t know if it wasn’t afraid or just didn’t want to get off in the brush, on the side of the road.
    I can’t believe I took all the birds we had there for granted. Now I wish I had looked closer!

    Reply

  3. jason
    Apr 29, 2007 @ 11:33:45

    Great photos, Pam, and the video is downright fun!

    Reply

  4. lizalee
    Apr 29, 2007 @ 13:12:57

    Cool, Pam. I’ve seen a roadrunnr or two in the desert as well. They are very cool and totally unlike the ones in the cartoons!

    Meep-meep!

    Reply

  5. Cathy
    Apr 29, 2007 @ 18:51:35

    Great movie! My aunt stopped putting potted blooming plants on her patio in Tuscon. The Roadrunner lurked in the shadows and then picked off the hummingbirds that we’re visiting the flowers. Yikes.

    Reply

  6. mon@rch
    Apr 29, 2007 @ 22:38:14

    Roadrunners are so much fun and love the video! Beep Beep!

    Reply

  7. Container Gardening Tips
    Apr 29, 2007 @ 23:59:12

    He’s quite small, isn’t he? The roadrunner in the cartoon is so tall and lanky. Not like this little fellow at all, huh? It’s a lovely bird, though. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Lynne from Hasty Brook
    Apr 30, 2007 @ 09:42:36

    COOL Pam! I never got to see one on our trip to AZ, maybe next time…
    Your video is terrific. Beep Beep!

    Reply

  9. jayne
    Apr 30, 2007 @ 16:52:00

    Oh how funny… he almost waddles fast! Very cool!

    Reply

  10. susangetsnative
    Apr 30, 2007 @ 21:54:25

    Well, he’s sorta fast….he moves faster than a duck.

    I’m a Dodge girl…my last vehicle was a Dodge Ram 150.
    Vrrroooom!

    Reply

  11. laurie
    May 03, 2007 @ 21:42:46

    Great pictures and video, Pam. Thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

