Taking Photos, Finally!

I actually got the camera out again yesterday, and boy do I need to practice with this camera to relearn what I was working on before you know what. But I’ll post my attempts for you anyway. These photos were taken at my Mom’s home. Her woodland garden contains many beautiful flowers, including this red trillium, who has its head pointed in the downwards direction so I couldn’t get a good shot of the flower head on:

2007-05-06 040_cropped

And right near it a patch of some other kind of trillium. I’m too lazy to look it up – oh, I don’t have Newcomb’s wildflower book yet – I need to buy my own copy. Good excuse, nah, I have other wildflower books.

2007-05-06 036

I love crowned imperial, not only in the woodland garden, but this one in her sidewalk gardens:

2007-05-06 021_cropped

I’m sure you know, but if you lift the flower up and look inside, you’ll see two droplets of some clear substance. It amazes me that it stays in there without dripping down the flower. I know, I should look this up too – sorry, too lazy right now.

Mom’s cherry tree. I was trying to focus on the open flower, but the camera had other ideas:

2007-05-06 026

And finally, Mom’s forsythia bush. I love this bush because it is so cheery this time of year!

2007-05-06 034

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynne from Hasty Brook
    May 07, 2007 @ 20:09:45

    I’m so happy to see your photos again!!
    My favorite is the cheery cherry blossoms. Brings me memories of my Mom and Dad listening to the Harmonicats on the Hi-fi. They had a popular song called “Cherry Pink and Apple Blossom Time”. Thanks for the memory!!

    Reply

  2. Mary
    May 07, 2007 @ 20:50:31

    You didn’t forget, Pam! These are outstanding flower photos! I don’t think I’ve seen better ones from you!!!!!

    And I remember “Apple Blossom Time”… “I’ll…be seeing you…in Apple Blossom Time”. Who were those sisters? Gosh, I’m having a brain cloud.

    Reply

  3. mon@rch
    May 07, 2007 @ 21:10:12

    So many colors and flowers! I am so glad to see you out taking pictures and posting again! Missed your wonderful comments and interesting post!

    Reply

  4. Pam
    May 07, 2007 @ 21:28:55

    Thanks Lynne! I’m so happy to be feeling like taking photos again. For the last few weeks, I just have been observing everything – birds, flowers, etc. as if in a dream. Oh, I’m so glad that my photos brought back the wonderful memories for you. Don’t you love memories – they are truly our saving grace, I swear!

    Thanks Mary! I remember “Apple Blossom Time” too, don’t remember who sang it though.

    Thanks Mon@rch! I actually took the photos yesterday as a way to focus and to stop thinking about my Dad so much. I still won’t be able to post every day and to comment every day, but I’m back!

    Reply

  5. Ruth
    May 07, 2007 @ 22:32:01

    The white trilliums are like a blanket in our woodlands right now. The red trilliums are few and far between and seem to drop quickly. Lovely pictures!

    Reply

  6. laurie
    May 08, 2007 @ 00:18:13

    Those are beautiful photos, Pam. You’ve not lost your touch at all. Thanks for sharing your beautiful photography with us.

    Reply

  7. susangetsnative
    May 08, 2007 @ 00:20:14

    Are all of your brain’s asleep? It was the Andrew’s Sisters!
    Yay! Flower photos from Pam!

    Reply

  8. Mary
    May 08, 2007 @ 05:54:59

    Thanks to Susan. The Andrew Sisters. Geeesh.

    Reply

  9. jayne
    May 08, 2007 @ 06:49:13

    Oh the beauty Pam! My eyes hurt! So glad to see you behind the lens again sharing all this with us. Hugs to you!

    Reply

  10. lizalee
    May 09, 2007 @ 01:32:04

    Thanks for the gorgeous pictures! It’s like spring all over again! (We are already on to irises here!)

    Reply

  11. Sandy
    May 09, 2007 @ 17:14:54

    Beautiful colors and the photography is just fine. You are way ahead of us. We won’t have trillium for another week or so. And, I haven’t seen the red one here.
    Please tell Mom that she has a lovely garden.

    Reply

  12. Lynne from Hasty Brook
    May 10, 2007 @ 10:28:56

    Of COURSE it was the Andrew Sisters!!
    Another musical memory for me.

    Reply

  13. Cathy
    May 10, 2007 @ 21:36:07

    Your mom sure has a pretty garden. You can tell the flowers feel loved. Like everyone, above – I sure don’t see any indication of rusty photography skills in these photos. They’re beautiful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

