Weekly Dose of Beauty

Yesterday for Mother’s Day my Mum wanted to work outside in her gardens – no problem! Anything to be outside. I took photos of this week’s flowers in blossom from her gardens for you to enjoy this week. Well, some have been around, I just didn’t get to them last week. First up, Red Bloom Bergenia:

2007-05-13 008

Flowering Plum. This tree is outdoing itself in blossoming this year:

2007-05-13 021

Korean Spicebush viburnum. Let me tell you, if you want viburnum, this one smells absolutely wonderful:

2007-05-13 028

Creeping Phlox, I think it’s candystripe:

2007-05-13 032

One of the many beautiful Anenomes in blossom right now:

2007-05-13 036

Foam Flower:

2007-05-13 040

And last, but certainly not least, Bleeding Heart:

2007-05-13 042

I love bleeding heart, but I also love all of these plants. Which one is your favorite?

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandy
    May 14, 2007 @ 17:46:58

    Everything looks so nice. That is not the same foam flower that grows in the woods, is it?
    My bleeding heart is only about six inches tall so far.

    Reply

  2. Mary
    May 14, 2007 @ 21:38:44

    Pam,

    Answer: ALL OF THEM! This is quite a difference from the white and brown during your long winter. You must feel so revived!

    I think your photographs are better than ever. Have you done anything differently?

    Reply

  3. Ruth
    May 14, 2007 @ 21:41:31

    Beautiful pictures, Pam. Bleeding Heart is near the top of my list of favourites, and is extra special because it comes so early in the season.

    Reply

  4. laurie
    May 14, 2007 @ 23:20:52

    I’m sorry, I can’t possibly choose. They are all gorgeous. How do you get such crisp, clear photos?

    Reply

  5. susangetsnative
    May 15, 2007 @ 00:06:07

    I have to say the Anemones. It is so beautiful, it doesn’t look real!
    But the phlox is great, too. It LOOKS like candy!

    Reply

  6. lizalee
    May 15, 2007 @ 02:24:41

    I enjoyed the Creeping Phlox the most — so cheerful!

    Reply

  7. jayne
    May 15, 2007 @ 06:52:25

    Oh, I can only imagine how beautiful that flowering plum is! Just gorgeous images Pam!

    Reply

  8. mon@rch
    May 15, 2007 @ 07:07:20

    Such a wonderful place to take your mother! Love all your flower photos Pam!

    Reply

  9. Pam
    May 15, 2007 @ 16:26:41

    Sandy – thank you. It think it is the foam flower that grows in the woods. Mom’s bleeding heart came out last week when it was so hot and humid here.

    Mary – I do feel revived to see green and colors. Thanks, I don’t know what I’m doing different with my camera! Maybe it’s just because it’s so nice and bright outside!

    Ruth – thank you. I love bleeding heart for its early arrival, too.

    Laurie – thank you! I’m using an “old” Canon S1 – I don’t know if that makes a difference in the crispness of the photos.

    Susan – I agree, the anenomes don’t look real! Mmmm, candy. . .

    Lizalee – thanks! Glad you enjoyed the phlox!

    Jayne – Thank you! The flowering plum it is so gorgeous I can’t capture it in a photo.

    Mon@rch – thanks – these were taken at my Mom’s home! Her gardens are gorgeous because we both work hard on them!

    Reply

  10. Lynne from Hasty Brook
    May 15, 2007 @ 22:09:56

    I love that foam flower. I’ve tried to grow them in my shade bed several times with no success. Lovely gardens Pam!!! 🙂

    Reply

  11. Cathy
    May 16, 2007 @ 23:35:27

    Foam Flower! Foam Flower! Oh thank you, thank you, thank you. I saw a beautiful specimen of this in a local park and knew I HAD to have some. Problem was – it wasn’t labeled.

    Reply

  12. Pam
    May 19, 2007 @ 08:59:32

    Lynne – This foam flower has had a tough time of it in recent years, but this year it’s very happy. The conditions must have been just right for it!

    Cathy – You’re welcome! This is a wonderful little plant – you’re going to love it!

    Reply

  13. Trackback: I Love Seeds « Nature Woman

Leave a Reply

