What’s For Dinner?

Have you ever wondered what this vegetarian eats for dinner? Well, this isn’t my normal dinner fare, but I decided I was in the mood for a pizza yesterday, so I picked up an Amy’s Soy Cheese pizza at the store and embellished it with artichokes, spinach, mushrooms, basil and garlic, and, at the last minute decided I wanted more sauce. Mmmmm, it was yummy!

2007-05-19 001a

And no, I didn’t eat the whole thing! I left some for lunch today!

And this next thing I made is Oatmeal Rhubarb Crumble which I got from a recent issue of Vegeterian Times that I copied to make for my Dad’s birthday since he loved rhubarb. I don’t normally make dessert for myself, but I saw the rhubarb in the store yesterday- mmmmm – and decided to make it. This was totally yummy! (I substituted olive oil for canola oil, arrowroot for cornstarch, and I use raw sugar instead of white sugar).

2007-05-19 004a

I know my Dad would have loved it, too! He had rhubarb plants growing in my Mom’s gardens, and he called them his pie plants. Mmmm, I so love rhubarb, do you, too?

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ruth
    May 20, 2007 @ 09:08:04

    Wow. It all looks so good. I did not realize you were vegetarian. My daughter and I are experimenting with a meatless diet and you are an inspiration.

    Reply

  2. Pam
    May 20, 2007 @ 09:20:16

    Ruth – I love eating vegan vegetarian. I’m also into eating organic. The food is so yummy – to me it’s about using good herbs and spices. My Mom and I are both vegetarian. She recently subscribed to Vegetarian Times and we’ve found quite a few excellent recipes in each issue. We also like “The Cookbook for People Who Love Animals.” I don’t normally eat pizza, but when I saw Amy’s Soy Cheese pizza in the store just waiting for embellishments, I knew I had to try it. Good luck to you and your daughter.

    Reply

  3. Laura
    May 20, 2007 @ 12:01:10

    I’ve never tried rhubarb, Pam, but your dessert sounds yummy!

    Reply

  4. Cathy
    May 20, 2007 @ 15:00:38

    Ohhh. That pizza looks deeelicious. I really admire vegetarians. I’m slowly working my way there. Poultry only. A few years ago I decided that mammals suffer more emotionally and that just did it for me.

    My older stomach would require a light touch on the garlic. My Dad, too, liked rhubarb pie. Any strawberries in there ? :0)

    Reply

  5. jayne
    May 20, 2007 @ 18:13:17

    OK, so tell me what rhubarb tastes like? :c) Maybe figs or something like that?

    The pizza does look yummy!

    Reply

  6. Mary
    May 20, 2007 @ 19:08:08

    I am next in line behind Jayne – what does rhubarb taste like? That pizza looks delicious!!!

    Reply

  7. Pam
    May 20, 2007 @ 20:51:22

    Laura – it is yummy!
    Cathy – I slowly worked my way to becoming vegeterian, too. It had nothing to do with the animals at the time, but my stomach was always upset eating meat and dairy, now it’s not! No strawberries, but some could be added next time!
    Jayne – I wonder is rhubarb is an upstate NY thing or something since you and Laura and Mary have never had it. Hmmm, rhubarb has a unique taste so I really don’t know how to describe it. It is tart, it’s stringy like celery but doesn’t taste like celery. It’s really good though.
    Mary – the pizza was delicious – it’s all a pleasant memory now! My friend said he thought rhubarb tastes like plums, but I don’t think so.

    Reply

  8. mon@rch
    May 20, 2007 @ 22:33:23

    Hmm, now that looks good! Hmm Do you have any slices left?

    Reply

  9. susangetsnative
    May 21, 2007 @ 00:12:31

    Vegetarians eat pizza? I thought they just went out in the yard and grazed.

    Vegetarian Times? You’re joking.
    šŸ™‚

    Reply

  10. Lynne from Hasty Brook
    May 21, 2007 @ 16:34:44

    I didn’t know you were vegetarian either!! My daugher Molly (14) is vegetarian and I could use some help in getting her to eat better. Right now to her being vegetarian just means no meat.

    I love rhubarb! We pair it with apples or strawberries alot because it is tart. Mmm…rhubarb cake this week!

    Reply

  11. Sandy
    May 21, 2007 @ 18:06:35

    Pizza looks good, and my mouth is watering just thinking about that rhubarb crumble. My rhubarb is getting tall enough to pick so the first strawberry- rhubarb pie is not far away!

    Reply

  12. Pam
    May 21, 2007 @ 18:23:33

    Tom, the pizza is history, but I have rhubarb left! I can always make another pizza!
    Susan – OMG you crack me up so good girlfriend!! LOL!!!
    Lynne – I’m finding Vegetarian Times is a good magazine with good, easy recipes for vegetarian dishes.
    Oh, I’m glad you love rhubarb, too! I love rhubarb anything! I’ll have to try it with apples – what kind of apples do you use?
    Sandy – oh, I love a good strawberry – rhubarb pie. I bet you make an excellent pie!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

