This Week’s Plants in Bloom

Mom and I were going to go to the Lilac Festival last week, but the day we picked to go it was all of 50 degrees, so we’ll go to the park this week or next to see what’s in bloom there. For now, here’s some more of what’s in bloom this week at my Mom’s gardens, starting with one of her lilac shrubs, which smells as good as it looks:

2007-05-20 016

Her little irises are in bloom and beautiful:

2007-05-20 011

Her one rhododendron is in full bloom:

2007-05-20 004

While another one is just starting to bloom:

2007-05-20 005

The quince tree is just starting to come into blossom, maybe this weekend they’ll be out in full force:

2007-05-20 030

It’s been fun watching the ferns unfurl over the last couple of weeks:

2007-05-20 024

Even though the sun wasn’t shining the day I took these photos (Sunday) it is today, and I also “wrote” another haiku in my sleep about my Dad:

Sunny skies
Beautiful days without you
Life goes on

Hmmm, that wasn’t it exactly, drats, you know, I need to write them down as soon as I think of them.  It is in the ballpark, though.

I hope you enjoy this beautiful week, wherever you are!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ruth
    May 22, 2007 @ 17:29:16

    A patient of mine once gave me a bag of quinces. My, they were tart. I tried to make a jelly out of them, but it was not very successful and required too much sugar! I have never seen the blossoms. Lovely pictures, Pam.

    Reply

  2. Lynne from Hasty Brook
    May 22, 2007 @ 18:48:24

    Is quince a friut? Don’t know if I’ve heard of it. Love those dark colored lilacs- wish you had smell-o-vision! I like your haiku. I get frustrated too when I can’t think exactly of something I’ve deamed.

    Reply

  3. lizalee
    May 22, 2007 @ 19:06:42

    Spectacular lilacs. Our California lilacs are NOT the same. I like your haiku but I know that feeling of brilliance lost.

    Reply

  4. Mary
    May 22, 2007 @ 20:31:00

    Pam, your Haiku says a lot, no matter how it’s written. Once in a while I have a brilliant line, but POOF, it’s gone. You Dad knows…

    Your Mom’s garden, as shown by your incredible photos, is a “walk in the park”. I can just smell everything…especially the lilacs. Oh, my goodness.

    Enjoy it, girl!

    Reply

  5. samibear
    May 22, 2007 @ 21:16:53

    Beautiful flowers. My Dad is in Heaven now since last November. I know how you feel.

    Reply

  6. mon@rch
    May 22, 2007 @ 22:29:18

    probably the best smelling festival ever! I just love seeing all your great flower shots and glad you had fun!

    Reply

  7. susangetsnative
    May 22, 2007 @ 23:55:25

    I only know what a quince is because I used to play Scrabble a lot.
    Spring is so cool.

    Reply

  8. jayne
    May 23, 2007 @ 12:39:16

    What a beautiful garden you mom has and what lovely shots to share with us all. Hugs to you Pam.

    Reply

  9. Cathy
    May 23, 2007 @ 16:55:46

    Pam, that may not be exactly as you dreamt it, but it went straight to my heart.

    Your pixes are gorgeous. My neighbor actually plucked a rhododendron flower from her bush and gave it to me floating in a clear round vase. I’d never thought to pick any from my own scant bushes and thought her gesture very generous.

    Reply

  10. Sandy
    May 23, 2007 @ 17:41:35

    The garden is very beautiful. I see where your got your interest and skill. It is cold here, too. This afternoon, the seabreeze drove me indoors. Why can’t we have them in the middle of summer?

    Reply

  11. Pam
    May 23, 2007 @ 20:59:15

    Ruth – we’ve tried everything with the Quinces, and they are so tart, I agree. I don’t like to use a ton of sugar either, but I hate to see the fruit on the ground every fall. If anyone knows what to do with quince, I would really enjoy knowing!

    Lynne – Yes it is! It looks like a cross between an apple and a pear, but it tastes very tart.

    Lizalee – Ohh, I’d love to see CA lilacs! I didn’t realize there was a difference.

    Mary – I swear, I need to have a pen and paper on my bed stand so I can write it down before it goes out of my head. Mom and I worked really hard on the gardens last summer – I keep telling her I’m glad we did because who knew we would need all of this beauty now! It feeds the soul big time!

    Mon@rch – I agree – hoping to get there tomorrow night! It was great weather today but had to go the financial adviser!

    Susan – I love spring, too! Well, okay, April is on my shit list now because of what happened, but the rest of it is okay!

    Jayne – Thank you so much! Hugs to you Jayne!

    Cathy – Oh, I’m glad my haiku went to your heart. It gets to mine whenever I think of it.
    Wow! To pick a treasured rhododenron flower and give it to you is very special!

    Sandy – Thank you – my Mom and Dad had me out gardening when I was old enough to walk. I’ve always loved working in the soil, even weeding.
    The breeze from the lake was refreshing today as I drove home because it was hot in Rochester!

    Reply

  12. Marg
    May 27, 2007 @ 21:33:50

    Lovely flower photos-love the rhododendron! I am sorry about your dad-the haiku was lovely (even if not exactly right)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

