The 100 Books Meme

I saw this on xenogere.com and since this looked like a good book list I thought I’d post it here, even though it looks like I don’t read much! I do though. Most of the books I read aren’t on this list.

books

If you want to participate, this is how it works. Look at the list of books below.

  • Bold the ones you’ve read.
  • Italicize the ones you want to read.
  • Leave blank the ones that you aren’t interested in.
  1. The DaVinci Code (Dan Brown)
  2. Pride and Prejudice (Jane Austen)
  3. To Kill A Mockingbird (Harper Lee)
  4. Gone With The Wind (Margaret Mitchell)
  5. The Lord of the Rings: Return of the King (Tolkien) – while all of my friends were reading this series in ninth grade, I was outside!
  6. The Lord of the Rings: Fellowship of the Ring (Tolkien)
  7. The Lord of the Rings: Two Towers (Tolkien)
  8. Anne of Green Gables (L.M. Montgomery)
  9. Outlander (Diana Gabaldon) – I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS SERIES TO EVERYONE!
  10. A Fine Balance (Rohinton Mistry)
  11. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Rowling)
  12. Angels and Demons (Dan Brown)
  13. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Rowling)
  14. A Prayer for Owen Meany (John Irving)
  15. Memoirs of a Geisha (Arthur Golden)
  16. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (Rowling)
  17. Fall on Your Knees (Ann-Marie MacDonald)
  18. The Stand (Stephen King)
  19. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (Rowling)
  20. Jane Eyre (Charlotte Bronte)
  21. The Hobbit (Tolkien)
  22. The Catcher in the Rye (J.D. Salinger)
  23. Little Women (Louisa May Alcott)
  24. The Lovely Bones (Alice Sebold)
  25. Life of Pi (Yann Martel)
  26. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (Douglas Adams)
  27. Wuthering Heights (Emily Bronte)
  28. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (C. S. Lewis)
  29. East of Eden (John Steinbeck)
  30. Tuesdays with Morrie (Mitch Albom)
  31. Dune (Frank Herbert)
  32. The Notebook (Nicholas Sparks)
  33. Atlas Shrugged (Ayn Rand)
  34. 1984 (Orwell)
  35. The Mists of Avalon (Marion Zimmer Bradley)
  36. The Pillars of the Earth (Ken Follett) – ANOTHER BOOK I HIGHLY RECOMMEND
  37. The Power of One (Bryce Courtenay)
  38. I Know This Much is True (Wally Lamb)
  39. The Red Tent (Anita Diamant)
  40. The Alchemist (Paulo Coelho)
  41. The Clan of the Cave Bear (Jean M. Auel) – still need to read the rest of this series.
  42. The Kite Runner (Khaled Hosseini)
  43. Confessions of a Shopaholic (Sophie Kinsella)
  44. The Five People You Meet In Heaven (Mitch Albom)
  45. The Bible
  46. Anna Karenina (Tolstoy)
  47. The Count of Monte Cristo (Alexandre Dumas)
  48. Angela’s Ashes (Frank McCourt)
  49. The Grapes of Wrath (John Steinbeck)
  50. She’s Come Undone (Wally Lamb)
  51. The Poisonwood Bible (Barbara Kingsolver)
  52. A Tale of Two Cities (Dickens)
  53. Ender’s Game (Orson Scott Card)
  54. Great Expectations (Dickens)
  55. The Great Gatsby (Fitzgerald)
  56. The Stone Angel (Margaret Laurence)
  57. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Rowling)
  58. The Thorn Birds (Colleen McCullough)
  59. The Handmaid’s Tale (Margaret Atwood)
  60. The Time Traveler’s Wife (Audrew Niffenegger) – started this but couldn’t get into it.
  61. Crime and Punishment (Fyodor Dostoyevsky)
  62. The Fountainhead (Ayn Rand)
  63. War and Peace (Tolstoy)
  64. Interview With The Vampire (Anne Rice)
  65. Fifth Business (Robertson Davis)
  66. One Hundred Years Of Solitude (Gabriel Garcia Marquez)
  67. The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants (Ann Brashares)
  68. Catch-22 (Joseph Heller)
  69. Les Miserables (Hugo)
  70. The Little Prince (Antoine de Saint-Exupéry)
  71. Bridget Jones’ Diary (Fielding)
  72. Love in the Time of Cholera (Gabriel Garcia Marquez)
  73. Shogun (James Clavell)
  74. The English Patient (Michael Ondaatje)
  75. The Secret Garden (Frances Hodgson Burnett)
  76. The Summer Tree (Guy Gavriel Kay)
  77. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn (Betty Smith)
  78. The World According to Garp (John Irving)
  79. The Diviners (Margaret Laurence)
  80. Charlotte’s Web (E.B. White)
  81. Not Wanted On The Voyage (Timothy Findley)
  82. Of Mice And Men (Steinbeck)
  83. Rebecca (Daphne DuMaurier)
  84. Wizard’s First Rule (Terry Goodkind)
  85. Emma (Jane Austen)
  86. Watership Down (Richard Adams)
  87. Brave New World (Aldous Huxley)
  88. The Stone Diaries (Carol Shields)
  89. Blindness (Jose Saramago)
  90. Kane and Abel (Jeffrey Archer)
  91. In The Skin Of A Lion (Michael Ondaatje)
  92. Lord of the Flies (Golding)
  93. The Good Earth (Pearl S. Buck)
  94. The Secret Life of Bees (Sue Monk Kidd)
  95. The Bourne Identity (Robert Ludlum) – and every other book by Robert Ludlum
  96. The Outsiders (S.E. Hinton)
  97. White Oleander (Janet Fitch)
  98. A Woman of Substance (Barbara Taylor Bradford) – am catching up on the other books written by her.
  99. The Celestine Prophecy (James Redfield)
  100. Ulysses (James Joyce)
10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sarah
    May 25, 2007 @ 05:55:19

    Great book list (The Kite Runner is a fabulous book!). But, alas, I’ve already got a stack of books by my bed waiting to be read!!

    Have you come across http://www.theneverendingstory.co.uk?

    You can have a go at writing as well as reading the stories.

    Reply

  2. Mary
    May 25, 2007 @ 14:00:16

    Oh, gee, Pam. That is quite a list. I’ve read only 17 of them. Do yourself a favor and italicize “Tuesdays with Morrie”. I read several of them during high school (required reading).

    I’m not an avid reader anymore. I have four books on my nightstand that need attention but I spend too much time reading blogs. Oh, well!

    Reply

  3. Lynne from Hasty Brook
    May 25, 2007 @ 19:46:59

    I came up with 36 of the 100 that I have read. I always have to have a book in progress but my interests bounce around alot. I’m not good at reading more than one book at a time like some folks are.

    Reply

  4. Pam
    May 25, 2007 @ 19:53:48

    Sarah – I’ll have to read The Kite Runner – thanks for letting me know it’s fabulous! I have a stack going too!
    I’ll have to click theneverendingstory – thanks for the link!

    Mary – I didn’t count how many I’ve read, I know I do lousy at some of the classics!

    Lynne – Mine do too. I usually read serially, but right now I have three big books going, a John Jakes (Charleston), Diana Gabaldon (A Breath of Snow and Ashes – I am making this last nice and long) and a Barbara Taylor Bradford. It’s part of my escape from the real world for a little while every night.

    Reply

  5. laurie
    May 25, 2007 @ 22:46:41

    I’ve read 51 of them, but most of them quite some time ago. Lately I haven’t had much time to read, and if I do, it’s some kind of crime drama because that is what my dad has at his house.

    Reply

  6. laurie
    May 25, 2007 @ 22:47:10

    I’ve read 51 of them, but most of them quite some time ago. Lately I haven’t had much time to read, and if I do, it’s some kind of crime drama because that is around the house.

    Reply

  7. laurie
    May 25, 2007 @ 22:48:16

    Oops, I didn’t think that posted. Sorry for the repeat. Feel free to delete it if you want, along with this one.

    Reply

  8. susangetsnative
    May 26, 2007 @ 23:48:45

    I went through this, and I have read most of them!
    Wow. I’m a super reader!
    Well, I was. Until I started blogging.

    Reply

  9. KGMom
    May 27, 2007 @ 11:46:37

    I wandered here via Mon@rch’s website, and came upon this book meme. I LOVE BOOKS, so you know I will be using this.
    And I love your blog site–I will be back for many visits.

    Reply

  10. Pam
    May 28, 2007 @ 08:15:11

    Laurie – I know it is hard to find time to read when you’re dealing with what you’re dealing with.

    Susan – You rock! You are a super reader – yay! I know, blogging takes away from my reading time, too!

    KGMom – thank you for stopping by! I LOVE books, too! I have built-in bookshelves in every room in my home (except the bathroom). If I go to sell my home, whoever buys it better love books!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

