This Week in Bloom

Well, now wouldn’t you know I forgot my camera when I went to my Mom’s house this week – but, never fear I did capture photos. But, they’re sitting on her computer. So I’ll get them next time I go there and post them for you. For now, here’s a couple of random flower photos for you. My chives are in blossom now, so they basically end up in anything I cook from now until they’re gone, mmmm. And they are extra zingy this year. Little did I know until I blew this photo up that chive flowers are so interesting:

2007-05-28 013_crop

And from my shade garden, Bleeding Heart (Dicentra ‘Luxuriant’). This was blowing in the breeze so it was hard to get a clear photo:

2007-05-28 009_crop

And some rock soapwort flowers, which look really boring in this photo, but they’re in a large clump that drapes along the edge of the garden.
2007-05-28 007_crop

On another topic, I did scan in my Dad’s Navy photos, and the following photo is an example of the type of stuff I wanted to ask him about. Okay, when a plane obviously doesn’t make the flight deck to land, or for some reason doesn’t take off and it lands upside-down in the water like this, were the people okay? Is the plane still usable? And how do they get the plane back onto the aircraft carrier? Bummer Dad, I have questions you needed to answer!

scan0013b

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandy
    May 29, 2007 @ 18:04:11

    Looks good, Pam!
    My chives are not open yet. The soapwort looks good to me. It it a pretty little flower.

    They must have had some sort of procedure to get the guys out of planes like that. I am sure it happened quite often, since the pilots never knew what kind of weather they would return to.

    Reply

  2. Pam
    May 29, 2007 @ 19:29:49

    Sandy – Do you use your chive flowers in salads, etc., too? I love soapwort, it is so dependable. And animals stay away from it.
    I can ask my brother since he was in the Navy, too, it just would have been nice to hear it from my Dad, because he would have loved doing it with all of the minute details.

    Reply

  3. Lynne from Hasty Brook
    May 29, 2007 @ 22:33:23

    That soapwort is lovely! I’ll be looking for it at the garden center. I still think of things I want to tell my Dad too. I’ll bet he’s proud of the interest you’ve taken in the pictures.

    Reply

  4. susangetsnative
    May 29, 2007 @ 22:43:27

    Yum…chives….
    I will bring the cream cheese and crackers, you bring the chives, and we will have a cheese ball!

    I bet the Navy has training for a water-landing. Remember the scene in “Officer and a Gentleman”?

    Reply

  5. mon@rch
    May 29, 2007 @ 23:13:54

    Just love these photos Pam and I always take my camera with me most everywhere I go (I have one or another with me). Heck, I even have my camera phone with me! LOL! PS: Love your new header image and icon!

    Reply

  6. laurie
    May 30, 2007 @ 00:20:33

    Hugs, Pam. I imagine you need some.

    Laurie

    Reply

  7. jayne
    May 30, 2007 @ 07:23:30

    Beautiful images Pam! How DO they get that plane right side up?… hmmmmm….

    Reply

  8. Mary
    May 30, 2007 @ 08:25:23

    Pam, I love chives, too. With cream cheese and onion. Mmmm. Great photos, too! I wrote down “soapwort” so I’ll remember it at the nursery.

    That’s a good question regarding the plane….hmmm….you will have an answer to that one because I know how much you like to research. Your Dad is proud of your interest!

    Reply

  9. KGMom
    May 30, 2007 @ 17:20:27

    Seeing the bleeding hearts inspires me to get some for a wonderful shady area I have. I have planted some hosta there, but would like some flowers. I will keep reading you for more inspiration.

    Reply

  10. Pam
    May 30, 2007 @ 19:25:46

    Lynne – I’m glad the soapwort came through as being lovely – it’s actually much better in real life. I guess we’re never finished talking to loved ones, right?

    Susan – oh yeah, loving the chives, hey that’s a deal, I can provide all of the chives you want!
    Can you believe I’ve never seen an “Officer and a Gentleman?”

    Mon@rch – Thanks! I know, I had something else on my mind when I left my house, and it wasn’t on taking photos unfortunately! I used my Mom’s camera, but that was the first time and most of the macro shots sucked!

    Laurie – thanks for the hugs – I am majorly hugged deprived!!

    Jayne – I’ll find out how they get that plane out of the water next time I talk to my brother.

    Mary – Mmmm, Mary that sounds good! Thanks!

    KGMom – I love my bleeding hearts with my hosta. Glad it gave you inspiration.

    Reply

  11. Cathy
    Jun 02, 2007 @ 20:58:58

    Pam –

    The unanswered question is so poignant. Over Memorial Day I was filled with regret that I hadn’t talked to my dad more about his WWII experiences. I went to his grave and strew rose petals with my sister-in-law. The VFW always places a white cross there with the flag. It’s hard to walk away.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

