What I Do When I Have a STUPID Day. . .

what else, instead of hiding under the covers and praying for a quick end to the day, but to go for a walk in the woods! And that’s just what I did. After a stupid day at work. Stupid stupid stupid. Stupid. Stupid. There, now on to my walk. I went to 1000 Acre Swamp. I’ll be searching out other woods, because swamp = mosquitoes, and how the heck am I supposed to get decent photos with them sucking my very life’s blood out of my body.

Anyway, I came home from stupid (yes I really do appreciate having a job) and ate an early, quick dinner, and headed out to the swamp/woods. I felt an instant serge of peace and energy flow through me as I walked down this path to the swamp / woods.

2007-05-30 003

I saw buttercups, and columbine. This one was being shy, but I love the purple.

2007-05-30 015_crop

And fleabane, which looks white in this photo, but it’s actually a very light purple:

2007-05-30 012_crop

As I started walking on the boardwalk,

2007-05-30 017

I heard the frogs rebel and hop into the water. Someone’s looking at you!

2007-05-30 020

I love these cinnamon ferns on this log in the middle of the swamp:

2007-05-30 025

and this little island with the reflection of the blue sky on the water, and the sunlight:

2007-05-30 027

Christmas Fern:

2007-05-30 037

I love this photo of the boardwalk. I set the camera darker than it really was. Don’t know why I did that, I just felt like it.

2007-05-30 030

There was a bird here, a lifer too, one beautiful bird. I sooo need a quicker camera.

2007-05-30 032

And a fern I didn’t id:

2007-05-30 035

Lots of fungus on a log:

2007-05-30 040

I saw a jack-in-the-pulpit. Sorry, I wasn’t in the mood to get down in the mud to photograph “Jack.”

2007-05-30 043

Another fern I didn’t id:

2007-05-30 044

It was at this point that I started seeing leaves of three all over the place. Nooooo, I won’t be taking any more walks in this swamp for now. I am not going to get poison ivy again this summer if I can help it.

And then I saw the partly fallen tree that goes over the path I had to walk on. I forgot about that, too. It makes me VERY uncomfortable to walk under it. All I need is to be the “straw that broke the camel’s back” so to speak.

2007-05-30 045

Ohhh, rocks, but nothing like what I saw at ASP last Saturday.

2007-05-30 046

Okay, so I’ve been waiting very patiently to show you this. Remember the tree on Trillium Trail that looks like it’s running away from its issues?

2007-05-30 049

It.

2007-05-30 050

Has.

2007-05-30 051

Leaves!! And it’s a maple.

2007-05-30 052

How awesome is that!

All in all, what a peaceful end to a, ummm, what kind of day was that again?

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan Gets Native
    May 31, 2007 @ 00:17:55

    Oh, those days that make us want to smack ourselves on the forehead. Repeatedly.

    A nature walk is a balm to cure any injury…to body or pride.

    I love all the colors you captured…the blue sky reflected in the water around the island is my favorite.

    Please, for the love of Pete, don’t get PI again this year. I think of YOU whenever I see it!

    So glad that even if that tree has issues, he can put them behind him….or under him.

    I remember that tree. It blows my mind when I see a tree with all its innards OUT, and still growing. A lesson there, I think.

    Reply

  2. Mary
    May 31, 2007 @ 05:55:43

    The word was STUPID. We all have those days. When my day is STUPID at the office, I get my camera and go outside and walk if there’s time.

    I’m with Susan, my fav picture is the island. Great job. And I do remember that pitiful tree. Hardly seems real for it to bear leaves.

    Pam, part of my walk is through a sea of PI – it grew so fast! I’ve never had PI but I wonder if you can get it without touching it.

    Reply

  3. jayne
    May 31, 2007 @ 07:45:18

    Glad your walk was just the balm you needed. Love all the photos, esp. the tree and I rather liked the darkened bridge. :c)

    Reply

  4. mon@rch
    May 31, 2007 @ 08:53:56

    Love to walk when I have a stupid day and when I am having a good day! It is the cure to everything! Sorry you had a bad day and sometimes it is better not to ask what happened.

    Reply

  5. Pam
    May 31, 2007 @ 17:16:27

    Susan – yeah, those days stink! A nature walk is a sure cure-all! Glad you loved the island shot! I sooo do not want to get PI again this year, I will avoid it like the plague! No more swamp for me! Gotta find another woods that I can walk in. Yup, I love the tenacity of trees!
    Mary – oh yeah, thanks! Taking a walk and taking photos sure helps, doesn’t it! You have to get just a little bit of PI oil from the plant on you to have a full blown attack. It totally sucks. I think I rubbed my pants on it. So they went right in the wash.
    Jayne – thank you, I love the darkened bridge, too. The walk was definitely the balm I needed!
    Mon@rch – ohhhh, I love going in the woods anytime, for sure! Yeah, the day was so stupid it isn’t even worth talking about! P.S. I love your little monarch caterpillar avatar!

    Reply

  6. Sandy
    May 31, 2007 @ 17:59:25

    Even if it was a Stupid day, you got lots of good shots. And, I am impressed that you know your ferns, I don’t.
    We have mosquitos and blackflies. I wear boots, and long sleeves and a hat when I venture in the woods this time of the year, but it is worth it!

    Reply

  7. laurie
    May 31, 2007 @ 23:50:24

    I loved the photo of the bridge. It really is unique. I’m glad you were able to take a nice walk today. It sounds as if you deserved it.

    Hugs,
    Laurie

    Reply

  8. winterwoman
    Jun 01, 2007 @ 05:30:19

    I can sooooooo relate to needing a walk at the end of the day. Which is kinda weird, since some of my job is leading walks… but alone with camera is so much more relaxing!

    Reply

  9. Nina
    Jun 01, 2007 @ 08:41:53

    Everybody needs beauty as well as bread, places to play in and pray in, where nature may heal and give strength to body and soul.
    John Muir

    Reply

  10. Lynne from Hasty Brook
    Jun 01, 2007 @ 09:10:05

    I’m stuck at home today doing much needed house chores so when I found this post that I missed it was like getting a present- with a pretty bow! Thanks Pam for getting me out of the house. I love walking with you! Sorry you had such a stupid day, but the result of your stupid day really brightened mine.

    Reply

  11. Pam
    Jun 01, 2007 @ 18:15:29

    Sandy – thank you. I don’t all of the ferns, but I’m working on it. I wear long things like in the photo Tom took of me on Mary’s blog. I put Burt’s Bees on my bare skin and hair, but didn’t think about it at first until I got bit.

    Laurie – thank you! I needed the walk.

    Winterwoman – Oh, I agree, being alone with my camera is definitely relaxing.

    Lynne – I’m glad my post was a present for you and brightened your day – and ferns to boot!! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

