I Love Seeds

Remember this anenome I posted a couple of weeks or so ago, here?

2007-05-13 036

Mom usually keeps up with deadheading the spent flowers, but missed one of her anenomes, and the result was a bunch of seeds wrapped in very soft, fuzzy material, around the hollow center (being held by my Mom)

2007-06-03 001

and the seeds are protected by this hairy covering:

2007-06-03 004

It started raining yesterday before I got a chance to plant these seeds. I’m glad for the rain, finally! The air feels so much better now.

How about you, do you love seeds as much as I do?

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandy
    Jun 04, 2007 @ 17:26:52

    I sure do. We are having heavy rain right now, and this has been going on off and on all day. Several times this weekend, I put on my gardenshoes and raincoat to go out and see if my cucumbers and squash were up yet. Most of the flower seeds get planted indoors, but remember the “blues” from a couple weeks back? They are doing well planted directly into the ground.

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Jun 04, 2007 @ 21:25:34

    Sandy – We had the rain all night too – about 3/4″ which doesn’t make up for the lack of rain, but I’m not complaining. Glad to hear your “blues” are doing well. Hope your cucumbers and squash come up soon. I’m giving my garden a rest this year. Maybe I’ll plant some buckwheat to till in the soil for next year.

    Reply

  3. Susan Gets Native
    Jun 04, 2007 @ 23:12:09

    I LOVE SEEDS.
    I poke acorns into the ground when I find them.
    I have collected evening primrose seeds from my Mom’s plant for sowing.
    I love throwing a boxful of wildflower seeds on freshly turned soil.
    Seeds, seeds, seeds!
    Hey, send me some of those anemone seeds!

    Reply

  4. Sherry
    Jun 04, 2007 @ 23:26:32

    I love seeds!
    I am a seed to seed gardener. I save my seed for the next season. I have done this for 34 years.
    so happy to meet another seed lover.
    Sherry

    Reply

  5. lizalee
    Jun 04, 2007 @ 23:53:30

    Seeds are very cool. My favorites are nasturtium seeds. Why? Well, they actually grow for me. Most other seeds won’t grow for me. I like to toss seeds on the ground and water them. Only my nasturtiums will grow for me that way. 🙂

    Reply

  6. winterwoman
    Jun 05, 2007 @ 06:13:13

    I love seeds, too. They have so many interesting ways of getting around. Hitch-hiking, parachuting, floating, dropping straight down, passing through animal intestines… etc.

    Here’s one of my favorite pictures from last fall:
    Future Monarch Food

    Reply

  7. jayne
    Jun 05, 2007 @ 06:50:31

    I love how they can just bloom where every they land many times. Rain? What’s that? We’ve had none for weeks and weeks. We are so very parched and dry it’s pitifully sad. :c(

    Reply

  8. Mary
    Jun 05, 2007 @ 14:52:27

    I get excited when I buy a pack of seeds and sprinkle them. Then I’m obsessed about watching for growth.

    Reply

  9. Pam
    Jun 05, 2007 @ 16:22:09

    Susan – Hmmm, I’d say you love seeds as much as I do!!! I’ll ask my Mom to let another anenome go to seed for you!!

    Sherry – Nice to meet you, too! I’ll be reading your blog to see your gardens, etc.!

    Lizalee – Oh, nasturtium seeds are the best. I also love marigolds and zinnias – those seem to never fail for me either.

    Winterwoman – Oh yes, I love the different ways seeds can get around. That would make for an interesting post! Your milkweed seed photo is gorgeous – I can see why it’s your favorite. I fav’d it!

    Jayne – I do, too. Wow, I thought for sure you’d have gotten some of the rain that’s been going around. We haven’t gotten enough, but at least we got some.

    Mary – Me too! I love rifling through the seed packages and arranging how I’m going to plant them. I’m such a geek even in the garden!

    Reply

  10. Susan Gets Native
    Jun 05, 2007 @ 23:34:37

    Pam, ever heard of a “bird planting” line? You till up a strip of soil, put a post at each end, and run a line from post to post.
    Birds will perch there and “do their business”, and you never know what you will get!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

