Last Week’s (and some of this week’s) Plants in Bloom

Remember last week I forgot my camera when I went to my Mom’s house, but I used her camera, and finally brought the photos home. Okay, so last week the Quince flowers were open:

101_0145

And the rhododendrons were beautiful (the heat killed the blossoms way too fast this year):

101_0179

And the azaleas (same deal with the blossoms and the heat):

101_0184

And gaznia, which the woodchucks promptly ate (grrrr):

101_0149

And Solomon’s Seal (I wanted a macro of these, but I didn’t use Mom’s camera right to get a good macro):

101_0137

And this week, I started taking photos and then it started raining so I didn’t get to finish. Here’s some flowers from the Weigela shrub. The first one has a little bee inside:

2007-06-03 021

2007-06-03 023

The beautiful German Iris we planted last fall are starting to blossom:

2007-06-03 026

2007-06-03 030

2007-06-03 031

I enjoy iris buds, too:

2007-06-03 032

A different view of some of the ferns:

2007-06-03 037

And then the storm hit (wind and rain):

2007-06-03 038

As I was planting seeds this damselfly was flitting about, making it really hard to get a good photo – this was the best I could do:

2007-06-03 007_crop

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mon@rch
    Jun 05, 2007 @ 21:27:40

    So many colors and check out your damselfly!! BRAVO

    Reply

  2. Cathy
    Jun 05, 2007 @ 21:37:22

    Such nice photos of flowers and bugs. Life is so good this time of year. Have you sniffed those iris? Is it just me or are some of them very pleasant smelling? Some actually remind me of grape Kool Aid.

    Reply

  3. laurie
    Jun 05, 2007 @ 21:46:57

    I could almost smell the flowers as I viewed.

    Lovely.

    Reply

  4. Susan Gets Native
    Jun 05, 2007 @ 23:39:16

    Pretty, pretty, pretty!
    I miss blooms, sometimes. I plant lots of green, get very little color.

    Reply

  5. naturegirl
    Jun 05, 2007 @ 23:40:32

    How do you do naturewoman..I am naturegirl and we seem to have similar passions! Today mine are peonies..and moss well
    I have it all around me! NG from Canada

    Reply

  6. jayne
    Jun 06, 2007 @ 07:03:00

    Beautiful flowers!! The color on those iris is amazing, and I love the Weigela. :c)

    Reply

  7. Lynne from Hasty Brook
    Jun 06, 2007 @ 10:31:52

    Mmmm… pretty fern!
    What’s quince? I’ll have to google that one.
    That Solomon’s Seal is huge and gorgeous! Mine never take off.

    Reply

  8. Mary
    Jun 06, 2007 @ 11:53:24

    I love them all! Especially the Solomon’s Seal. Bright and showy (just like you) :o)

    Glad you are enjoying this great time of year!

    Reply

  9. Mary Carlson
    Jun 06, 2007 @ 16:49:16

    Beautiful photos all around. I really like those irises – such beautiful colors. I have a neighbor (an older gentleman) who also has planted and grown beautiful irises, similar colors as yours. But, of course, living here in central California, the irises are long gone. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  10. lizalee
    Jun 06, 2007 @ 19:42:10

    Beautiful. I really love irises. Something about them. Yum. I need to plant more in my yard. That damselfly is lovely.

    Reply

  11. Pam
    Jun 06, 2007 @ 19:54:45

    Mon@rch – thanks!

    Cathy – Thank you – I love the smell of irises – you’re right, they do smell like grape Kool Aid.

    Laurie – I’ve been thinking about you and sending you hugs. Hope the flower photos helped.

    Susan – Me too! My Mom is really good at planning for color throughout the growing season.

    Naturegirl – Hi! We do have similiar interests! Oh, my peonies haven’t come out yet – they’re about to burst forward. I am in love with moss, too!

    Jayne – Thank you! I love the Weigela, too. It’s a huge shrub.

    Lynne – I knew you’d love the fern! Quince is a very sour fruit which I wish we could handle because this tree has so much fruit. The Solomon’s Seal was there when my parents bought the house so it probably is a well established bed. I have to keep it under control from spreading every year.

    Mary – thanks! I love the Solomon’s Seal, too. Oh, thanks, I don’t feel very bright and showy right now, so thanks!

    Mary C – Thank you! I’ll share more as they come. What’s in bloom in CA now?

    Lizalee – Me too! I need to replant mine in a better location so they’ll do better. I loved the damselfly – just wish I could have gotten a close-up of it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

