Peony Bud

I have very little time to myself tonight, so I’d thought I’d share with you one of my peony buds with some kind of insect on it. It never ceases to amaze me that a beautiful flower comes out of this tight little bud.

2007-06-04 007

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynne from Hasty Brook
    Jun 06, 2007 @ 21:57:41

    I really love peonies. They are beautiful to watch unfurl.

    Reply

  2. Ruth
    Jun 06, 2007 @ 22:28:00

    My peonies are at the same stage and are the same colour. I have 20 bright pink buds… a record for my garden…and I go out to admire them a couple of times a day.

    Reply

  3. Mary
    Jun 06, 2007 @ 22:52:30

    Ok, Pam. I think you are the queen of bud photography. Nice to have time for thyself, ey?

    Reply

  4. Susan Gets Native
    Jun 06, 2007 @ 23:53:34

    That reminds me of those tennis balls you can get for dogs.
    Hot pink and green!

    Beautiful! (And to steal from Mary…just like you!)

    Reply

  5. jayne
    Jun 07, 2007 @ 06:40:23

    It really is amazing, isn’t it? Beautiful photo!

    Reply

  6. lizalee
    Jun 07, 2007 @ 10:54:39

    Time? To yourSELF? Wow! I’m glad you spent it in a way that gives the rest of us so much pleasure!

    Reply

  7. mon@rch
    Jun 07, 2007 @ 14:04:20

    Such a cool shot and love the shape of it!

    Reply

  8. naturegirl
    Jun 07, 2007 @ 14:11:56

    I adore my peonies as I have expressed in my latest postings!
    They are a flower that makes my heart sing but they are so short lived! I think the insects LoVe the sticky nectar around the bud…it does amaze me how they flower so full of frills!!
    🙂 NG

    Reply

  9. Cathy
    Jun 07, 2007 @ 14:19:07

    Hmmm. That is amazing, isn’t it? The profusion of silken flower petals from that hard little knob of a bud. wow.

    Reply

  10. Pam
    Jun 07, 2007 @ 21:27:05

    Lynne – I love them too. That reminds me, I should go to Highland Park where they have tons of peonies.

    Ruth – I love this color peony very much, and the smell, oh so wonderful! Congratulations on 20 buds – that will be beautiful!

    Mary – Thanks – I’m working on my macros, it takes practice for sure. Nice to have time to myself!

    Susan – Oh yeah, I love those hot pink tennis balls. Ah thanks, to both you and Mary. I’m not feeling beautiful on the outside these days. I nice vacation on a tropical island somewhere (no stinging bugs though) might help me feel better!

    Jayne – It sure is, thanks!

    Lizalee – I know, self time is very limited, too limited!

    Mon@rch – Thanks! I love it’s shape too!

    Naturegirl – I wish they lived longer too, because they do make one’s heart sing!

    Cathy – It is amazing, I think each bud is a miracle!

    Reply

  11. Lynn
    Jun 14, 2007 @ 10:45:03

    My peonies bloomed on June 10th which would have been my grandmother’s birthday. She was the one who helped form my love for Peonies.
    The color of mine is the same as yours.
    Thanks for sharing all of your wonderful pictures.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

