Wow! What a Difference A Day Makes!

So I went outside last night to check the status of my peonies and other plants, and this is what I found:

2007-06-07 001

And as I was driving into work today I was thinking that I want to get a really close photo of this, kind of like looking into a private place we’re not supposed to look at. So when I got home today I went out to my peony and this same bud is now a full flower!

2007-06-08 001

I think it’s so pretty! And it smells heavenly, yummy!  Here’s this one up close and personal:

2007-06-08 005

So I’ll have to study the next bud that partly opens. For now I saw a really cool bug on one. Yes, I need to work on getting closer to bugs. This photo is kind of blurry cause it is windy out. Hey I have to blame something, right? It has *nothing* to do with the fact that bugs make me a little nervous (insert rolling eyes here).

2007-06-08 009

I captured this bee hanging out on the dame’s rocket (yes Susan, near the poison ivy that I just found in my backyard that I’ll ask *someone* else to get rid of for me)! Again, I’ll work on getting up my nerve to get closer.

2007-06-08 016

P.S. I haven’t heard from Jim yet today. I know what it’s like to have to hang out at a hospital – it’s hard to call. Plus he was feeling guilty last night for talking to me about it. No worries Jim, none at all.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ruth
    Jun 08, 2007 @ 17:45:15

    Thanks for sharing the lovely photos! My peonies were still tightly closed on Wednesday and just opened early this morning. We had some strong winds and heavy rain from thunderstorms this afternoon and the flowers are very battered. 😦

    Reply

  2. lizalee
    Jun 08, 2007 @ 18:31:43

    Utterly beautiful. Absolutely my favorite color — that bold, rich pink. Love the bugs.

    Reply

  3. jason
    Jun 08, 2007 @ 18:41:01

    I love it, Pam! I had to laugh when I read “It has *nothing* to do with the fact that bugs make me a little nervous…” That’s true of so many people, yet the vast majority of insects can’t and won’t hurt you. Want to know something? It was my mother who taught me to not be afraid of bugs. She’s never seen one that scares her, I don’t think.

    And that blurry photo is a ladybug young’un. You give that child room to grow, and it’ll set about protecting your garden from other destructive pests.

    As for the flower… Stunning. Simply stunning. I could stare at these pictures for hours without growing weary of that beauty.

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Jun 08, 2007 @ 21:53:00

    Ruth, Whenever my peonies start coming out like this, it is sure to rain bad, and of course, that’s just what it did tonight. Tomorrow I’ll go out and save them.

    Lizalee – thanks – it’s one of my favorite colors, too – anything hot like this is a fav of mine! I love the bugs, too!

    Jason – thanks! I know this to be true about insects, but still I have the type of body that *all* stingy, biting, sucking and whatever else insects do love and will do so given even the smallest piece of skin. So we have a love-hate relationship. You’re Mom sounds really cool to teach you bugs are great.
    Thanks for the id on the ladybug. I have lots of those – and some of those bite, too.
    I could stare at the flowers for hours, too. I can’t wait for the next partially open one so I can get the camera right in there and see what I get.

    Reply

  5. Mary
    Jun 08, 2007 @ 23:14:42

    Pam, I am always wary of the bugs, too, but they aren’t interested in you at all! Especially bees. I can sit close with them and as long as they have something to savor, they don’t care.

    Lovely PINK.

    Keep us posted on Jim…

    Reply

  6. jayne
    Jun 09, 2007 @ 09:21:25

    Oh my… pink blisssss! Beautiful Pam!!

    Reply

  7. Sandy
    Jun 09, 2007 @ 12:55:14

    Aren’t you in the pink today??? I don’t mind shooting bugs, but couldn’t do a snake unless I had a 1000mm lens!

    Reply

  8. Pam
    Jun 09, 2007 @ 12:58:31

    Mary – that’s the story my Mom tells me too, but somehow they always end up landing on me. Must be cuz I’m so sweet – LOL!!
    Jayne – Thanks! The peonies come and go so fast, I’m trying to enjoy every minute I can!
    Sandy – Yes, and I’m loving it! I don’t mind snakes at all! I used to pick them up all of the time when I was a kid. I’m going out now to see if I can find my resident snakes while I garden.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

