Making weeding fun

So this afternoon I started weeding my gardens, and noticed some piggy has eaten almost all of my Echinacea down (and I have a ton of it). Grrrr, the echinacea flowers are for the butterflies and the seed pods are for the birds, grrrrrrrrrrrr. I hope they recover and end up blossoming. Or else. I know just who the piggy is, too.

2007-06-09 011

As I was leaving for work early this morning I noticed all of the peony buds were unfurling. I hoped they would wait for me, but they didn’t. Here’s another one that was tightly wrapped just yesterday, almost in full bloom today:

2007-06-09 002

I pulled this next weed and then saw the caterpillar. Hope I didn’t screw up his food. There’s lots more plants.

2007-06-09 016

I thought this plant had croaked years ago, and I saw it under my peony plant today. It’s got such a pretty, delicate yellow flower (I need to find the name):

2007-06-09 027

Here’s another ladybug on my ginger:

2007-06-09 007

Since the peonies are in full bloom, I decided to get up close & personal with my irises. Here’s the inside of iris #1

2007-06-09 030

And a side view

2007-06-09 032

and another side view

2007-06-09 033

Here’s the inside of iris #2

2007-06-09 036

And a side view

2007-06-09 038

Iris #3 – you’re next. But for now I’m enjoying the way your very light purple color sparkles in the sunlight:

2007-06-09 040

The cherries are coming along good for the birds, if some other fat ass doesn’t eat them before they get a chance to ripen and eat them.

2007-06-09 043

Mmmm, spearmint is growing great in my mint bed:

2007-06-09 044

And now I’m making sun tea out of the spearmint and peppermint leaves.

2007-06-09 045

I wish I could share this wonderful sun tea with you when it’s ready, mmmmm, along with some rhubarb dessert that I’m going to go make right now. Mmmmm, I love the weekends! And I love perfect June days!

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jason
    Jun 09, 2007 @ 17:46:52

    The iris photos are beyond fantastic, Pam. Words fail me. To lie in the embrace of such beauty…

    Reply

  2. Ruth
    Jun 09, 2007 @ 18:07:52

    What would eat your echinacea? I have lots of them and they have been virtually pest free. What do you do to the tea after you finish steeping the leaves? Beautiful pictures and a beautiful day!

    Reply

  3. Heather
    Jun 09, 2007 @ 19:50:26

    The iris blooms look like kaleidoscopes!

    The deer eat the buds off my echinacea. (And the buds off my roses — they’re no fools, they avoid the thorns).

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Jun 09, 2007 @ 20:10:54

    Thanks Jason! I love looking inside of flowers and other things, so I decided to start photographing what I see when I look! Iris are gorgeous. I can’t wait to do this to my Mom’s iris.

    Ruth – I have a resident woodchuck who thinks he owns the joint. He needs to move on and I have something to try to make him move on.
    I just strain the leaves off and drink it. I’m drinking it right now, and it is very flavorful to me!
    Thanks! It was a gorgeous day here.

    Heather – They do! I didn’t even think of that and I love kaleidoscopes, too!
    Yeah, I have resident deer, too, so it could be them, but I’m guessing the woodchuck since I see him all of the time. My solution will work to keep deer, rabbits and woodchucks away from my bird and butterfly lovin’ plants.

    Reply

  5. Mary
    Jun 09, 2007 @ 20:45:45

    Pam, I can only dream of having as much to view as you have. I enlarged those iris a few times and I’m trying to decide on what I like the best! Incredible shades of pastel. You do good work!

    I didn’t read your comments yet, but is a bunny the culprit on your enchinacea? Oh, I see you have a woodchuck and deer. Lucky you. Really…

    And, yes, I do love cars that “move”!

    Reply

  6. Laura
    Jun 09, 2007 @ 23:19:18

    Lots of pretty things blooming at your place, huh?

    Reply

  7. Susan Gets Native
    Jun 10, 2007 @ 01:10:05

    Well, you got all up in that iris’ bidness, didn’t you?

    “Fat ass”…you make me laugh.

    Reply

  8. winterwoman
    Jun 10, 2007 @ 06:42:35

    Yeah… if I took my camera with me during weeding, not one weed would get pulled. ha ha!

    Reply

  9. jayne
    Jun 10, 2007 @ 07:48:12

    Those macros are stunning Pam. Just so very beautiful, and the joy that oozes out of your words makes me smile. :c)

    Reply

  10. Pam
    Jun 10, 2007 @ 09:04:16

    Mary – it’s not that I have so much to view here, I just go into the little places looking for things. On my hands and knees weeding in my gardens is the best time to take pics.
    Yeah, if you can find a car that moves but doesn’t suck gas, let me know! I think I found one for when I’m ready, I just need to check to make sure it does *really* move.
    Laura – not really there isn’t because I don’t have the bandwidth to do as much as I would like to here. Oh well!
    Susan – I thought you’d like that “fat ass” bit!
    Winterwoman – it was tough getting the weeding done. I pulled some weeds, took some pics, repeated. So I didn’t get all of my weeding done, but I had fun.
    Jayne – thanks – I’m glad I made you smile. I love perfect June days!

    Reply

  11. mon@rch
    Jun 10, 2007 @ 10:17:53

    Now, I think that is a great way to go weeding! Love all those wonderful photos!

    Reply

  12. lizalee
    Jun 10, 2007 @ 12:56:24

    Wonderful, Pam! Your garden seems like a sanctuary!

    Reply

  13. laurie
    Jun 10, 2007 @ 16:03:20

    Your photos are gorgeous, as always.

    Will you email me some of that tea?

    Hugs,
    Laurie

    Reply

  14. Sherry
    Jun 10, 2007 @ 20:04:15

    I too take the camera out when I weed. Actually very little weeding happens but I do get lots of photos.
    Yours are wonderful.
    Sherry!

    Reply

  15. Pam
    Jun 10, 2007 @ 21:18:09

    Mon@rch – Thanks! Keeps it really fun to weed with the camera!

    Lizalee – Thanks! It is a sanctuary for me and all of the animals, including ones I would like to leave my yard.

    Laurie – Thank you. Consider the tea emailed. I made a fresh batch today, and it’s just as good as yesterday. I wish I could share it with you in person. It’s very soothing. Hugs to you too, Laurie.

    Sherry – That’s great! I’m glad I’m not the only one!

    Reply

  16. Cathy
    Jun 10, 2007 @ 21:37:35

    I love iris and you’ve captured the essence of what I love.

    Reply

  17. Pam
    Jun 10, 2007 @ 22:10:52

    Cathy – I do, too! I took more photos today of other iris that I’ll post later.

    Reply

  18. Sandy
    Jun 11, 2007 @ 17:47:57

    These are great, Pam! You got some wonderful shots. Do some more, please, and let us try to guess what they are.
    How was that tea?

    Reply

  19. Pam
    Jun 11, 2007 @ 21:41:20

    Thank you Sandy! Thank you for the suggestion, I posted one tonight.
    The tea was excellent. I can’t wait until this weekend to make more tea. It’s so smooth with just the right amount of mint.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

