A Cool Bug

I was out with my camera last night just before dark, and came across this really cool bug with super long legs and pretty wings on my peony:

2007-06-13 033_crop

If you know what it is, please let me know! I haven’t had a chance to look it up yet!

Remember the very light violet iris bud I showed you the other day? Now it’s a big beautiful flower! This is a side view:

2007-06-13 008

This morning on the way to work I saw a fox crossing the road, and when it got to the other side, it turned and looked back at me. Ohhhh, where was my camera? Sitting at home, of course. I’ll be bringing it to work tomorrow, because there’s some new wildflowers I want to capture!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandy
    Jun 14, 2007 @ 17:58:26

    I don’t know, but sure is pretty. It will be interesting to see if anyone else knows what it is.

    Isn’t that just the way? If you don’t have your camera you can count on seeing a parade of wildlife.

    Reply

  2. Ruth
    Jun 14, 2007 @ 18:55:52

    That bug is a pretty as a piece of gold jewellery. With the pink of the peony, it makes a gorgeous picture!

    Reply

  3. Mary
    Jun 14, 2007 @ 21:01:33

    Pam – Lovely bug :o) Really! And it’s a great photo, too!

    How in the world did you leave your camera at home???? Actually, I did that same thing twice – forgot the camera once, and forgot to put the battery in the camera once. The latter was worse. Uughh.

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Jun 14, 2007 @ 21:50:13

    Sandy – that’s for sure. The other day I saw a geese family. The goslings were so cute and everyone was just standing there waiting for me to take a photo – with no camera in my vehicle.

    Ruth – that’s a great description of this bug!

    Mary – thank you! The camera: either bring it with me into work in my already loaded backpack, leave it in my hot truck (nope) or leave it at home. So it ends up staying at home for the most part while I’m working. Last week my camera case fell out of my backpack onto the parking lot at work as I was going to my truck because my backpack unzipped due to too much stuff in it, and I thought I was going to croak on the spot. I’ve *never* dropped any camera of mine.

    Reply

  5. laurie
    Jun 14, 2007 @ 23:46:01

    I have no idea what kind of bug that is, but I agree, it’s very cool.

    Reply

  6. Susan Gets Native
    Jun 15, 2007 @ 01:17:49

    I think that’s a crane fly.
    Great photo!

    Reply

  7. jayne
    Jun 15, 2007 @ 06:44:43

    Couldn’t you just slip into the center of that iris? Just beyond pretty Pam!

    Reply

  8. Pam
    Jun 15, 2007 @ 18:55:51

    Laurie – Thanks!

    Susan – Thanks! You *are* so smart!

    Jayne – Thanks Jayne! Yes, I could slip into the center of the iris. It drew me in the moment I saw it.

    Reply

  9. jason
    Jun 15, 2007 @ 19:33:57

    It’s definitely a crane fly, Pam, although I’m not sure of the species given only the one shot. And what a fantastic photo it is! How stunning.

    Reply

  10. lizalee
    Jun 16, 2007 @ 00:26:54

    Yup. It’s a crane fly. They are fascinating bugs. We grow them really big here. We call them Pteradactyls when we get a huge one in the house. 🙂

    Reply

  11. mon@rch
    Jun 17, 2007 @ 08:11:31

    Very cool for sure! 🙂

    Reply

  12. Pam
    Jun 17, 2007 @ 19:49:19

    Jason – thanks!

    Lizalee – LOL! Pteradactyls! Thanks for the laugh.

    Mon@rch – Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

