George Eastman House Garden

Last evening I went to the George Eastman House for a lecture given by Willie Osterman who is a Professor at RIT in the Fine Arts Department on the Zone System of Photography. This is a method developed by Ansel Adams and Fred Archer in 1941.

2007-06-14 002

Before the lecture I took a real quick tour of the garden, and here’s what I saw.

2007-06-14 017

Huge poppy flowers:

2007-06-14 005

And what’s left after the petals start falling off:

2007-06-14 006

A cool twisted vine:

2007-06-14 007

which was on this:

2007-06-14 018

Blue and Pink Hydrangeas:

2007-06-14 008

2007-06-14 009

I love the symmetry in this photo:

2007-06-14 010

These roses smelled wonderful:

2007-06-14 013

The flowers on this honeysuckle vine smelled sooo good:

2007-06-14 016

And the zone photography system is really cool! If you ever get a chance to learn about it, go for it! It’s one of those things now that I’ve learned something new I realize how very little I know about photography, le sigh. To read about the zone system, or about basic photography, Willie recommended the book “The Ansel Adams Guide: Basic Techniques of Photography – Book 1 by John Schaefer.  There’s also info about it on the web (so I don’t have to figure out how to describe it now)!  Here’s one site, and there’s others.

8 thoughts on “George Eastman House Garden

  1. Lynne – you’re so kind! I need to study it and figure out how to apply it! The roses smell really good, too!

    Sandy – Thank you. I’m really happy they do, too Sandy. This is actually the first time I’ve been in the garden. I know the head gardener there and she said she is restricted to using the plants that George Eastman had planted in his day in the gardens.

  2. Pam, you have come back to blogging in superb style! You have an eye for capturing the perfect scene and close-up. It’s a fantastic garden and I could imagine the fragrance. I feel you are headed to the next level, Dear.

  3. What a very beautiful place and even more beautiful photos Pam. There is soooo much I’ve yet to learn too. Thanks for the site tips.

  4. What great photos and such a wonderful place. I agree with you on the symetry of the that photo, it’s quite amazing.

    I saw poppies on my walk last night, so beautiful.

  5. Mary – you’re so kind, thank you. I’ll keep trying to head for some level, whatever it may be!

    Jayne – Thank you, I love going there, and I’ll be going there more in the future. And you’re welcome for the link.

    Laurie – thank you! These poppies were *huge*!

    Mon@rch – Thank you!

Leave a comment