Happy Father’s Day!

Happy Father’s Day to all of the Dads in the world. My Dad, Mom and I had planned to go back to Tinker Falls this year on Father’s Day, harumph. This is really hard.

This is one of the photos I took of my parents on Mother’s Day 2006 wherein I had climbed to the place where we used to walk behind the falls:

MD06 024

I truly hope everyone that is a father enjoys the day. And if you have a father, enjoy everyone moment you have with him, because life is too freakin’ short on this earth for all of us.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Jun 17, 2007 @ 18:22:14

    I thought of you thins morning, knowing it would be a tough day for you. I had my aching moment yesterday when I took the kids to pick out cards for Art. I miss my Dad too.

    Reply

  2. Mary
    Jun 17, 2007 @ 18:33:42

    You’re doing Ok, Pam. It’s a hard day. I miss my Dad, too, even though he’s still alive.

    Reply

  3. Pam
    Jun 17, 2007 @ 19:47:48

    Lynne – I had a really tough time last night bawling my eyes out, and as I was doing it I received an email from a friend showing me something really cool, so it helped me get over it. Today was tough for all of us (Mom and brothers and me), but it’s almost over with.

    Mary – Thanks, I’m trying really hard to be okay. I can imagine you miss your Dad quite a lot.

    Reply

  4. Susan Gets Native
    Jun 17, 2007 @ 23:56:15

    I thought of you today, knowing that this is one of many “firsts” for you.

    Hugs!

    Reply

  5. jayne
    Jun 18, 2007 @ 15:40:01

    I know your dad was smiling down upon you Pam. Love and hugs to you.

    Reply

  6. Pam
    Jun 18, 2007 @ 19:51:28

    Susan – thanks, and I thought of you, too! Not an easy day for anyone without a Dad. It’s a “so in your face” day it isn’t funny. Hugs to you, too!

    Jayne – thanks – I know he was as my Mom and I were walking through Watkins Glen. Love and hugs to you, too.

    Reply

  7. winterwoman
    Jun 19, 2007 @ 05:32:58

    I’ve never been to Watkins Glen. Your photos make me want to go.

    On Saturday, my friend and I floated candles on the lake in memory and in honor of our dads. My friends candle continued to float for quite some time. My candle was immediately attacked by a school of fish, capsized and sank. It made me giggle. My dad was a fisherman. I think the fish were trying to get even. I miss him.

    Reply

  8. Pam
    Jun 19, 2007 @ 16:20:16

    Jen – Watkins Glen is a really fun place to go with kids, too. There were several groups there on Sunday.
    Sounds like the fish were getting even! That’s a cool idea to float a candle for your respective Dads.

    Reply

  9. Cathy
    Jul 02, 2007 @ 20:11:25

    Awwww. I missed this post. Just today, my hubby and I were talking about my dad and how much we miss him. Yes, Pam -the death of a parent reveals as nothing else – the brevity of life. You’re right cherish each moment with those you love.

    Reply

  10. Pam
    Jul 04, 2007 @ 10:17:53

    Cathy – my Dad is sorely missed by all of us, it’s not easy, this whole life-death thing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

