Looking Out the Window Early This Morning. . .

I saw two fawns in my neighbor’s yard. I continued getting ready for work, and eventually they made it over to my yard, along with their mother. I didn’t want to scare them away by opening the sliding glass door, so this is a really lousy photo taken through the door:

DSC00746_crop

It turned out as I opened the door, and the garage door, and unlocked my truck, and drove out, they weren’t bothered at all.  If I had more time, I could have taken a better photo!  As it was, I arrived at work just in the nick of time!

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandy
    Jun 22, 2007 @ 17:58:23

    That was worth being late. Does she have twins every year? And, just how close to the woods are you?

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Jun 22, 2007 @ 18:12:25

    Sandy – fortunately I wasn’t late – we have a stupid thumbprint reader as our timeclock and I *make* sure I’m never late. They have two new sets of twins every year, but I’ve only ever seen this one with one set. The woods is about 50 yards in back of my house.

    Reply

  3. laurie
    Jun 22, 2007 @ 22:03:17

    They are beautiful! Thank you for sharing.

    Reply

  4. Mary
    Jun 22, 2007 @ 22:05:44

    It’s not lousy at all. They’re beautiful!

    Reply

  5. Ruth
    Jun 22, 2007 @ 22:14:11

    What a great way to start the day! They are so graceful.

    Reply

  6. lizalee
    Jun 23, 2007 @ 00:36:24

    No, no, Pam! It’s not a awful picture . . . it’s artistic! You did it ON PURPOSE!!

    Seriously, how adorable. Little twinlets!

    Reply

  7. winterwoman
    Jun 23, 2007 @ 06:28:39

    Haha! I know about arriving at work in the nick of time because of a nature moment. Lucky for me I work at a Nature Center, so everyone is very understanding.

    Reply

  8. jayne
    Jun 23, 2007 @ 08:02:48

    Awwwww…. too sweet for words Pam!

    Reply

  9. John
    Jun 23, 2007 @ 15:09:36

    I guess that the deer are getting used to being around people. I have noticed that in my area too. The deer in Rock Creek Park barely move if they see someone coming.

    Reply

  10. mon@rch
    Jun 23, 2007 @ 23:50:21

    How wonderful you saw these! Awww

    Reply

  11. Susan Gets Native
    Jun 23, 2007 @ 23:51:05

    Twins for deer are the norm…double the cuteness!
    Worth being late for.

    Reply

  12. Pam
    Jun 24, 2007 @ 08:50:44

    Laurie – You’re welcome!

    Mary – aw, thanks, you’re so kind!

    Ruth – it was – I love starting the day with nature! The little ones were bouncing all over the place – like they’re happy to be alive!

    Lizalee – there you go – artistic! I’ll have to remember that!

    Winterwoman – LOL! Yeah, working at a Nature Center would help people to understand! I’m sure my boss would understand since I’m early every day.

    Jayne – they are!

    John – I think so. My Mom finds them in her perennial garden grazing early in the morning as she’s backing out her car to go to work.

    Mon@rch – it was!

    Susan – double the cuteness for sure!

    Reply

  13. LostRoses
    Jun 25, 2007 @ 00:24:54

    Sometimes you have to be late to work! We do have to stop and smell the flowers, or in this case, photograph deer. Hmm, a thumbprint reader timeclock? Do you work for the government? LOL

    Reply

  14. Pam
    Jun 25, 2007 @ 03:25:59

    LostRoses – I got to work just in time! As far as the fingerprint reader – I feel like I work for the gov’t, but I don’t. At least it doesn’t scan my eyeballs like some do.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

