In Bloom This Week, in part

So I was trying to use up my camera battery so I can recharge it in time for another couple of trips, and I got overly anxious with it and used it all up before I was done with it! So here’s a partial look at what’s in bloom this week.

Gazania – I love the colors in this and I think it is so cool:

2007-06-24 DSC00789

It’s so cool in fact, that it has not only rusty orange blossoms, but yellow blossoms on the same plant, hmmmm:

2007-06-24 DSC00788

Okay, now Mom puts her amaryllis out in the garden so the leaves can grow and feed the bulb, it isn’t *supposed* to blossom this time of year, but here is one of them, in it’s full bloom:

2007-06-24 DSC00790

It will be interesting to see what happens to this bulb in the winter.

Well, this next thing isn’t in bloom, but I love the colors of coleus:

2007-06-24 DSC00768

And this delphinium is the prettiest shade of light purple:

2007-06-24 DSC00761

I’m trying to get braver with insects, even the stinging ones (I won’t mention the squeal I let out when a hornet landed on my chest – ahem, you know where – my Mom LOL and asked me if I was trying out for the opera).

2007-06-24 DSC00760

I love these yellow lilies:

2007-06-24 DSC00756

And here’s another clematis vine in blossom:

2007-06-24 DSC00748

So Mom asked me to get some stones for her to put on the wire mesh columns she’s started to put around her baby plants because the deer are eating everything this year (it seems that way) the freakin’ piggies. And I spied the pile of stones my Dad and I piled up last year in anticipation of continuing a stone path this year, and I broke down. What the heck, over a pile of rock. Everyone has told me it is those things you so don’t expect that get right to you.

Okay, back to happy stuff – here’s little Miss Kitty who was being her cute little self again yesterday, but I’m still not able to get close photos because she’s still waaaay too nosey!

2007-06-24 DSC00793

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandy
    Jun 25, 2007 @ 18:22:55

    You have lots of color coming in now. My mom leaves her amaryllis in the ground all the time, and lots of my neighbors here plant their Easter Lilies in the ground.
    Do you have trouble getting a good shot of delphinium? I do, it never looks as good in a photo as in real life. Maybe because mine is out in the open. Is yours in a protected place?

    Reply

  2. Susan Gets Native
    Jun 25, 2007 @ 23:58:49

    Pam practices for her aria, “Buzzed by a Bee”….
    Crying over a pile of rocks….I know how it is.
    I get misty-eyed when I smell cut grass, or Aqua Velva, or see a bright red Dodge Ram pickup…
    Hugs!

    Reply

  3. jayne
    Jun 26, 2007 @ 06:56:15

    What beautiful flowers! I can also so understand crying over a pile of rocks. Hugs to you Pam.

    Reply

  4. mon@rch
    Jun 26, 2007 @ 08:32:08

    So many colors for sure~! WOW!! Just keep those wonderful macro shots coming!

    Reply

  5. Pam
    Jun 26, 2007 @ 20:51:16

    Sandy – the delphinium is in a protected place, but it’s definitely more beautiful in person.
    Susan – LOL! “Buzzed by a Bee on the B. . .” I hate that misty-eyed thing. It’s still so unbelievable to me. Hugs to you, too!
    Jayne – thank you.
    Mon@rch – I’ll keep working on the macros!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

