Corbett’s Glen Nature Park

Today I stopped on my way home from work at Corbett’s Glen Nature Park even though it was about 100 degrees out, with 99.99% humidity, okay, I exaggerate, 99.98%, and a high ozone warning. Ah, what’s a little heat, humidity and ozone anyways.

2007-06-26 DSC00801

I had to walk through this railroad tunnel, which for some reason didn’t thrill me (it’s the engineer in me, I always think about how things can break).

2007-06-26 DSC00796

Here’s the first falls which is about a six foot drop (ohhh, I know, whoop-te-do, but hey, it’s close by)!

2007-06-26 DSC00799

As I was walking through the tall weeds to the next falls, I saw this, one of Susan’s favorite plants, the milkweed:

2007-06-26 DSC00809

Oh my, now that I’m looking at this photo, I didn’t realize how *cool* milkweed flowers are before!!

And on a milkweed leaf was a bug carrying a dead bug:

2007-06-26 DSC00810

Now I have to admit, that is cool, too!

This is what the path looked like, for the most part. Believe me, I was checking every weed looking for poison ivy:

2007-06-26 DSC00815

I finally arrived at the second falls, which is a four foot drop:

2007-06-26 DSC00819

As I was walking in to the park, I saw some kids come out in swimsuits. What a great idea, to go wading here! Ah, nice and cool!

Here’s a damselfly I saw here. It’s not exactly a macro shot (it wouldn’t let me get close) but I love the shadow it cast.

2007-06-26 DSC00825_crop

Here’s the last waterfalls, called Postcard Falls, with a drop of about six feet:

2007-06-26 DSC00845

Once I was done photographing the water and falls, I was able to go on the normal trail:

2007-06-26 DSC00853

Oh! I saw a Baltimore Oriel fly away from me – too quick for me to grab a photo, but enough for me to see its orange self.

Here’s another view of the first falls again, and the railroad tunnel on my way out.

2007-06-26 DSC00859

There were birdies above the piping in the tunnel. I heard them making lots of racket as I was walking through.

Here’s the creek on the other side of the tunnel. I *love* the ripples in the water.

2007-06-26 DSC00872

All in all, not a bad place to visit after work! I’ll be going back! And you haven’t heard the end of this place yet. There’s some history to it, too, that I’ll share another time!

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Jun 26, 2007 @ 20:00:38

    Oooh, that water looks lovely especially in that heat! You sure do find the prettiest spots to visit and share with us.

    Reply

  2. Mary
    Jun 26, 2007 @ 21:11:41

    Pam! You are awesome! 100 degrees and still catching wonderful views! The waterfalls are beautiful but that damsel photo really caught my attention. On Flickr, it will be a favorate. You really get around and now I know I need to get out of my YARD!

    Reply

  3. laurie
    Jun 27, 2007 @ 00:13:37

    Wonderful photos and a great story. Thank you so much for sharing it with us.

    Hugs,
    Laurie

    Reply

  4. LostRoses
    Jun 27, 2007 @ 00:34:19

    Wow, you got some awesome photos, especially the damselfly. And I have to agree I never noticed how cool milkweed is before. You did good!

    Reply

  5. Mary Carlson
    Jun 27, 2007 @ 01:56:10

    The pix of all the falls seemed so cool and refreshing. And I loved that photo of the milkweed — so pretty I wish I had some growing in my yard. Those “bug” pix are great, too. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  6. jayne
    Jun 27, 2007 @ 07:52:43

    You brave girl you! First you brave the heat/humidity, and then the chance of poison ivy, but what beautiful rewards you reaped in the wonderful cool water photos!

    Reply

  7. Sandy
    Jun 27, 2007 @ 17:33:47

    Pam, you would never know it was hot and humid by looking at those photos. In fact, they looked quite refreshing!

    Reply

  8. mon@rch
    Jun 27, 2007 @ 20:56:48

    Never knew of this park! Ugg, it has been soo hot recently! Love your milkweed and bug eatting bug shot! Your Ebony Jewelwing is a great damselfly!

    Reply

  9. Cathy
    Jun 27, 2007 @ 22:07:52

    Lovely,lovely photos! I’m really struck by the dragonfly and his shadow. I’ve seen many interesting dragonfly pixes, but that shadow is just so cool. Good job.

    Reply

  10. Nina
    Jun 27, 2007 @ 22:16:42

    Isn’t it amazing what you can see when you have the close-up pictures! I wish more people who pull milkweeds as “weeds” could get this view–they’re magnificent.
    My milkweed are almost past–thankfully my pictures help remember them.

    Reply

  11. Susan Gets Native
    Jun 27, 2007 @ 23:59:40

    I don’t know where to begin!
    Love the shadow of the damselfly…long and lean.
    I want to walk in that water.
    Maybe the birds nesting under the bridge were swallows? They like to hang out near the water, for the bugs.
    Love the live bug/dead bug. See what you miss if you aren’t paying attention?
    I love taking walks with you. You find stuff that’s important.

    Reply

  12. Erie's Argonaut
    Jun 28, 2007 @ 17:41:52

    You made me laugh with your “whoop-te-do” comment. I rafted over a 3 ft. falls on the Youghiogheny River in Ohiopyle, PA during the very lowest water of the year in mid summer. I screamed like I was going to die and thought I was until I landed without even a bounce. It was embarrassing. So small falls matter, too, can cause excitement for some, ha. Love the damsel fly shot.

    Reply

  13. Pam
    Jul 04, 2007 @ 10:15:42

    Lynne – Thanks! I’ve got more places up my sleeves to visit!

    Mary – Thanks! Fortunately there are some wonderful books done by Rich & Sue Freeman who have scouted out all of the wonderful places in Central & Western NY, so I’m just following their books and discovery so many new to me places!

    Laurie – Thank you! And you’re welcome! {{{Hugs}}}

    LostRoses – Thank you! Now I’m looking at all flowers closer!

    Mary C – Thank you! And you’re welcome!

    Jayne – oh yeah, I was shaking I was scared to be in there not knowing what to expect and no travel guide! But now I’d do it again with more confidence!

    Sandy – that’s why I went there, it is down in a valley and looks cool, but outside of there it was almost boiling!

    Mon@rch – Thank you! And thanks for the name of the damelsfly!!

    Cathy – Thank you! I didn’t realize I was doing the shadow until I downloaded the photo!

    Nina – I know – I wish people wouldn’t touch milkweed at all. Just let it grow as another beautiful plant!

    Susan – Thanks! Ohhh, I want to walk in that water, too! And I think I will next time! Yeah, the birds were probably swallows – it was hard to see in the bridge!

    Erie’s – LOL! Oh, I would have been scared going over a three foot waterfall, too! I love any waterfall, big or small!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

