Sweet Pea Vines, Victoria Magazine

Every night that I’m home and after all of my nightly things are done, I bring a book or magazine out on my deck with the intent of reading, but I’m always so distracted by everything going on outside. Tonight it’s finally cooler and I actually started getting cold outside! My sweet pea vines are starting to blossom. I love the flower, both for its beautiful self, but for its smell. I wish I could send the smell to you.

2007-06-28 DSC00874

It also smells and feels like rain. We need the rain so bad here! The birdies empty out my bird baths every day – I would love to see the action that goes on when I’m not looking.

My Mom told me tonight that Victoria magazine is going to be published again this fall. Woo Hoo! And if you’re turned off by the name and the thought of Victorian things – don’t be! When this magazine was in publication before, they had a yearly author in residence, and this is how I learned about Diane Ackerman. And from Diane Ackerman I learned all about bats – among many other things – and how wonderful they are. Victoria also had gardening advice and each issue highlighted an entrepreneur, among many other things. And even though I’m not a girlie girl, I do love the Victorian type items my Mom and I have that my great grandmother handmade such as lace and doilies, etc. Anyway, I’m really looking forward to seeing what interesting things Victoria magazine will start bringing to us again this fall.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lizalee
    Jun 28, 2007 @ 21:17:35

    My mother loves that magazine. I’m glad to hear it will be published again in the fall. Good news!

    Sweetpeas are wonderful. My sister-in-law utterly adores them so they always make me think of her.

    Reply

  2. Cathy
    Jun 28, 2007 @ 22:39:06

    You *did* bring me the scent of sweet peas – thank you. I love these flowers. My grandfather grew them and they are part of my childhood’s sweet memories.

    I’d not heard of Victoria. I’ll look forward to enjoying it.

    Reply

  3. jayne
    Jun 29, 2007 @ 06:27:01

    Mmmmm… smelling that sweet pea from here. Beautiful flower!

    Reply

  4. Mary
    Jun 29, 2007 @ 13:05:00

    You need to learn how to send a scent. It’s a beauty, Pam.

    The Victoria magazine looks like something I’d like to see.

    Reply

  5. Sandy
    Jun 29, 2007 @ 17:56:40

    I will have to check out the magazine. Are the sweet peas close to the porch? My daughter grew them here one year, in the big garden. Do you think they draw butterflies and hummers?

    Reply

  6. laurie
    Jun 30, 2007 @ 20:46:01

    I very nearly could smell your flower, Pam. Beautiful photo!

    Reply

  7. Susan Gets Native
    Jul 01, 2007 @ 00:08:27

    *Pressing my nose up against my monitor…SMELL-O-VISION*

    Reply

  8. Pam
    Jul 01, 2007 @ 12:01:43

    Lizalee – I look forward to my Mom getting the subscription, because she hands her magazines to me when she’s done reading them.
    I love sweetpeas, too! They’re so hardy here.

    Cathy – I’m glad you could *smell* the sweet peas! I think you’ll enjoy Victoria.

    Jayne – glad you could smell it! Thank you!

    Mary – I know! If I could I would be rich – LOL! I think you’d like the Victoria magazine, too.

    Sandy – My sweet peas grow on a trellis attached to my deck. I’m not sure if they attract the butterflies and hummers as I don’t think I’ve ever seen either on a flower. They’re usually busy on my other flowers.

    Laurie – thank you! Glad you could *almost* smell the flower!

    Susan – Smell-0-Vision is so needed, isn’t it!! Well, as long as the smells are nice!

    Reply

  9. Suzanne
    Oct 04, 2007 @ 04:36:02

    Your pictures are gorgeous, like Victoria magazine. I saved every issue. I was so happy to hear it is back.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

