Niagara Falls State Park, Whirlpool State Park

My younger brother, my niece (her first visit to the falls), my Mom and I went to Niagara Falls yesterday. It was in the 70’s here which was perfect for going to the falls. We drove over to Goat Island and first saw the Horseshoe Falls on the Canadian side:

2007-06-30 DSC00903

2007-06-30 DSC00901

Video Note: The water and the wind were very loud, so please be careful if you play the videos!

[blip.tv ?posts_id=291289&dest=9641]

Here’s a Maid of the Mist headed for the falls. We’ve done this boat ride during a previous visit:

2007-06-30 DSC00895

I used to love hearing my Dad tell me about the the old power plants and the huge turbines. His father used to work at Niagara Mohawk, so we always heard interesting stories.

2007-06-30 DSC00912

We then walked over to see the American Falls from Goat Island:

2007-06-30 DSC00919

[blip.tv ?posts_id=291290&dest=9641]

And from Luna Island. It’s cool how those logs stay on the very edge:

2007-06-30 DSC00927

Looking down at the bottom of the American Falls was a complete rainbow, but I couldn’t capture it all!

2007-06-30 DSC00932

Here’s the top of Bridal Veil falls from Luna Island:

2007-06-30 DSC00935

[blip.tv ?posts_id=291291&dest=9641]

My niece wanted to go down to the Cave of the Winds:

2007-06-30 DSC00940

She and my brother had to wear special sandals and plastic rainbags:

2007-06-30 DSC00944

While they were doing this, Mom and I walked over the bridges that cross over the Niagara River:

2007-06-30 DSC00957

[blip.tv ?posts_id=291292&dest=9641]

After we met up again, we shopped, then left. I couldn’t get a photo of the Tesla statue or the arch entranceway (soooo many people crawling all over Tesla – poor guy). But here’s a sign on the wall of the arch entranceway:

2007-06-30 DSC00972

Next we headed to the Whirlpool State Park, down the Niagara River from the falls. They need to cut down some trees so we can get a better view of the whirlpool!

2007-06-30 DSC00984

People can hike on the Canadian side along the whirlpool. Okey dokey – not me!! And here’s another thing you wouldn’t catch me doing! Riding a cable car over the whirlpool. Turns out my younger brother thinks the same way I do about how things can break and why *not* to do something like this!

2007-06-30 DSC00988

I want to go back to Whirlpool State Park because they have a Niagara Gorge National History room that I would like to go through. I also would like to go to the Niagara Gorge Discovery Center.

I didn’t get to spend time looking at the plants on Goat Island like I wanted to, but I did spy this big ginkgo tree:

2007-06-30 DSC00967

I never get tired of visiting Niagara Falls State Park. It’s amazing the attitude I received from people when I said what I was going to do yesterday! “Why would you want to do that?” is one response I got. My answer is “Why wouldn’t I want to do that?” And I want to do it again, too!

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lizalee
    Jul 01, 2007 @ 11:49:45

    Wonderful shots and what a great day! Brought back memories of my own trip to Niagra Falls when I was about 11 or so, I’m guessing. Very, very cool. Thank you!

    Reply

  2. laurie
    Jul 01, 2007 @ 14:12:58

    Fantastic photos, Pam. I almost feel as if I was with you on your trip. Thank you so much.

    Hugs,
    Laurie

    Reply

  3. Ruth
    Jul 01, 2007 @ 16:11:12

    Great pictures! You have captured the blue-green of the river well. I have never seen the falls from the American side. After my last trip to Niagara Falls NY last May, I will likely never try! (90 minutes on the bridge waiting for immigration clearance!)
    I have been on the cable car over the whirlpool a couple of times with my children and we all survived šŸ™‚

    Reply

  4. jason
    Jul 01, 2007 @ 17:19:01

    Marvelous photos and videos, Pam. Like you, I never tire of Niagara Falls or the surrounding areas. No matter how often I go, I find myself entranced. You’ve captured that beautifully for someone who hasn’t visited the region for a few years. Thank you!

    Reply

  5. mon@rch
    Jul 01, 2007 @ 21:15:16

    O my goodness, video crazy and photo crazy this weekend! Never been to the falls during the summer time! I always am their during the off season! Such a cool place and glad you were able to make it their!

    Reply

  6. mary
    Jul 01, 2007 @ 21:39:59

    Pam,

    I would do it again. Go back there, Pam. I would NOT ride the car or take a hike around the whirlpool, but I would love the falls. I am afraid of heights and dangerous water but I’d be thrilled to see it.

    I’m so glad you enjoyed your visit to Niagra…remembering your Dad along with your niece and Mom. I like those sandals!

    It’s a shame I lived in the region and never visited Niagra Falls. As much as I love water, my little waterfall in the yard pales in comparison to what you saw this weekend.

    Loved those videos!

    Reply

  7. Susan Gets Native
    Jul 02, 2007 @ 01:10:47

    Hey, Liza! I was there when I was 11, also! Maybe we saw each other!
    šŸ™‚
    I smile when you mention something you learned from your Dad. I think your Dad and my Dad would have so much to talk about.
    Think they are up there somewhere, discussing the merits of hydroelectric power?

    Reply

  8. jayne
    Jul 02, 2007 @ 06:35:16

    Oh wow! I feel like I’ve now been there! Thanks so much for the tour Pam and the beautiful views!

    Reply

  9. Sandy
    Jul 02, 2007 @ 07:04:14

    Looks so cool there, was it? I didn’t know about Whirlpool Falls. I wouldn’t ride that cable car for a million dollars. Pam, you do such great travel tours, you probably send lots of people off to the parks.

    Reply

  10. Erie's Argonaut
    Jul 02, 2007 @ 10:04:38

    Great photos and video! I haven’t been there for quite some time even though we don’t live all that far from there. Your photos make me want to head back there.

    Reply

  11. Cathy
    Jul 02, 2007 @ 19:50:13

    Good for you, darling! One of my great regrets is that I didn’t have the courage to do the “Maid of The Mist”. These pictures are stunning.

    Reply

  12. Sherry
    Jul 02, 2007 @ 23:20:04

    Thank you for reminding me of the time my husband and I visited the Niagara Falls, Canada. We walked and talked and watched the Falls well into the night. Had dinner by the falls and did a wee bit of shopping. We stayed in a high rise hotel and I watched for hours out of the window, long after my husband had fallen asleep. I was and am “in love” with Niagra Falls!
    Wonderful photos. I too would go back again and again!
    Sherry

    Reply

  13. Pam
    Jul 04, 2007 @ 10:07:08

    Lizalee – Thank you – I’m glad I brought back your memories for you!

    Laurie – Thank you! And you’re welcome!

    Ruth – Thank you – I think the Canandian view is much better, but like you said, it’s a pain in the butt to get *back* into NYS! Wow, was the cable car ride scary?

    Jason – Thank you, I never tire of the area, too, well, I tire of the run-down American side, but I try to ignore it.

    Mon@rch – Sorry Tom, I know, too much for dialup! Oh, if you get a chance visiting the falls in the summer is much different than the winter (I’ve done both)!

    Mary – I will go back there, for sure! Ohhh, dangerous water scares me because I *know* how powerful it is. We’re all having a hard time without Dad, it’s *not* getting easier for sure. This was one of his favorite places to visit. I like the sandals, too! I’m going down to the cave next time! Any waterfalls is wonderful in my book!

    Susan – Oh yeah, I *know* your Dad and my Dad would have lots to talk about. My Dad loved to talk to and listen to people! Yup, if there’s talking to be done in the beyond, they’re doing it!

    Jayne – You’re welcome!

    Sandy – Yes, it was cool, the wind constantly blows and the mist felt so good because we’re rain deprived. I hope I send lots of people to visiting these places. I have bookmarks in books here of places I want to visit this summer. It seems to help my sadness to keep really busy doing things like this.

    Erie’s – Thank you! I hope you head back there soon!

    Cathy – Thank you! Oh, I don’t think I would do Maid of the Mist again after reading what I read about the horseshoe falls, which I’ll post about later!

    Sherry – Ohhh, your trip must have been wonderful! I would love to stay in a room on the Canadian side with a view of the falls. I don’t know if I could sleep!!

    Reply

  14. Mama Bear
    Jul 08, 2007 @ 18:16:34

    No way would I do either of those things, either. I didn’t even like looking at the tram over the whirlpool.
    The day we went to Niagra(the Canadian side)it poured rain, we were soaked, checked into a nearby hotel and I thought I’d never get warm.
    I love the color the Gingko tree turns in the autumn. I’ve never seen one that big as they aren’t native here.
    Mama Bear

    Reply

Leave a Reply

