Peregrine Falcon

I just read an article on Peregrine Falcons and their fluffy babies in the Adirondacks, along with keeping my eye on the Peregrine Falcons in Rochester, and remembered I have some photos of one up close taken at Boyce Thompson Arboretum in Arizona. This bird is being taken care of by the wonderful people at The Wildlife Center at Adobe Mountain. I don’t know the name or the history of this beauty because people were in my way of the informational sign, but I was in awe to be so close to this powerfully beautiful bird:

AZ-2007-03-20thru29 299

It would look left, then right, then left, etc. and when it would look at me I didn’t have the camera ready to take its photo. But I like its profile view anyway.

P.S. Sorry I’m not posting regular lately, I’ve got a lot going on this summer!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mon@rch
    Jul 17, 2007 @ 22:09:38

    They are such a stunning bird! No Worries Pam, we all get busy from time to time!

    Reply

  2. mary
    Jul 17, 2007 @ 22:13:31

    Pam, he is beautiful! Your photo makes me want to visit the Raptor Center again. BUT – JUST LIKE YOU – my summer evenings are clogged with stuff to do. Don’t apologize for not blogging much. I’m not blogging much, either. Post without obligation. I would have posted tonight but we had T-storms. I don’t care. I’ll get to another post when I can. Right now, I’m catching up on comments before an early bedtime. Which, by the way, will be very soon!

    Hugs to you,
    Mary

    Reply

  3. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Jul 17, 2007 @ 22:26:20

    Don’t worry Pam, we all understand how busy the summer is. Thinkng of you-
    Lynne

    Reply

  4. Susan Gets Native
    Jul 17, 2007 @ 23:40:16

    Peregrines…possibly my favorite raptor.
    (that’s why I use Lucy whenever I can)
    They are so fantastic and beautiful and proud. Thank goodness a lot of people brought them back from the brink.

    Reply

  5. jayne
    Jul 18, 2007 @ 07:49:47

    Oh. My. What a glorious photo Pam!! I like Mary’s credo… “Post without obligation!” Can I hear an AMEN! Love you!

    Reply

  6. Cathy
    Jul 18, 2007 @ 14:52:15

    Breathtaking – just breathtaking. And – we all get a pass for blogging lapses. It’s summertime. We’ll have all winter to make up for our tardiness :0)

    Reply

  7. Sandy
    Jul 18, 2007 @ 17:01:19

    You got a great shot, Pam! Hope you are enjoying your summer, and your garden.

    Reply

  8. Sherry
    Jul 18, 2007 @ 23:25:25

    Wow! wow! wow!
    Fantastic photo, fantastic bird.
    One of my favorites too.
    Sherry

    Reply

  9. laurie
    Jul 19, 2007 @ 10:17:57

    Wow, that’s an incredible photo! Thanks for sharing it.

    Hugs,
    Laurie

    Reply

  10. obi4240
    Jul 19, 2007 @ 11:18:17

    What glorious plumage on that bird. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  11. Lavinia Ladyslipper
    Jul 23, 2007 @ 12:52:59

    Amazing clarity in the photos on your blog. You have a real eye for an interesting photo angle and composition. I like your blog and have enjoyed perusing it. You may perhaps want to take a look at mine. It’s fairly new. A humble addition to the cyber bird universe…

    http://www.birdbathchronicles.blogspot.com

    Thank you~!

    I’ve added you to my list of favourite websites and look forward to checking your blog again in future.

    Regards,
    L.L.

    Reply

  12. jayne
    Jul 25, 2007 @ 15:07:12

    Oh Paaa-ammmm? Can you come out and play? We miss you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

