Company Picnic

So yesterday we had our company picnic. Yuck, right? Well, it was actually nice. The food was from Lorraine’s Lunch Basket, one of my favorite places to eat. The CEO gave out cash prizes, that was cool. And he also gave us shirts. When they came around a couple of weeks ago and asked for my size, I asked if they were ordering men’s shirts for the women, because that would make a difference in what I order. Now, at that other big corporation I worked at in my past, I rec’d about 50 shirts over the course of my career there, and they were ALL mens shirts. Nobody ever cared about the women swimming in the men’s shirts with the tails hanging down to our knees. I gave them all away because they all were all huge.

But. This. Time. They. Had. Ladies’. Shirts. How awesome is that? Not only this, they’re pima cotton. I’ll be wearing this shirt to work. Sorry it’s wrinkled, I had already thrown it in the laundry basket when I decided to share it with you.

DSC01313

And one of the VP-GM’s I talked to last week said I could work from home. . . I need to talk to my manager about that, at least maybe working from home a few days a week. . . hmm. That doesn’t mean more blogging time, however! Just saving money on gas, for sure!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Aug 04, 2007 @ 17:38:40

    It sounds like things are smoothing out with the new job! I’m glad for you Pam. Working from home sounds ideal.

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Aug 04, 2007 @ 17:58:39

    Lynne – I’m working on it! I would like working from home but not every day. I don’t want to be “out of sight, out of mind!” And I don’t know if my manager will go for it. But we’re running out of room we’re growing so fast, so may be she’ll go for it.

    Reply

  3. laurie
    Aug 04, 2007 @ 20:01:59

    It sounds wonderful, Pam! Working from home is so nice, you will love it even if it is just a few days a week. Maybe you can blog on your lunch hour?

    Love the shirt, by the way. Very classy.

    Hugs,
    Laurie

    Reply

  4. mon@rch
    Aug 04, 2007 @ 22:38:02

    Wow, picnic sounds like you had a blast and glad things are going so well with work! You so deserve it!! Would love to see more post for sure!

    Reply

  5. Pam
    Aug 05, 2007 @ 07:38:49

    Laurie – I’ve worked from home before and get soooo much more work done without all of the noise and interruptions. I know I would love it again! I love the shirt, too! Hugs to you Laurie!

    Mon@rch – well, not a blast like I like to have a blast, but it was nice! There’s no place but up in this company because it is growing so fast and it is now international – way cool, huh!!! I’ll tell you more about it later! Just think – way cool VERY old books being digitized!!!!

    Reply

  6. Mary
    Aug 06, 2007 @ 10:12:22

    COOL BEANS! The shirt AND working from home. I don’t know if I would be able to get work done if I worked at home. But, heck, what am I doing at the office now????? LOL!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

