In Bloom and Other Things

There’s lots of pretty things in bloom this week.  Buddleia which really attracts the butterflies and hummingbird moths even though I didn’t see them on here while I was taking photos of it:

DSC01347

Hostas have the coolest buds and blossoms:

DSC01340

Phlox with a hummingbird moth, which was very hard to capture because it was moving so fast:

DSC01335_crop

Here’s a closer blurry photo of it:

DSC01334_crop

I was walking through the grass with a full watering can and this guy jumped out in front of me. I tried to grab a photo of his whole body, but he kept jumping away and finally he got cornered so I could capture a little bit of his cool juicy self. I tried to get closer yet and he hopped underneath the pile of rocks.

DSC01330_crop

This caterpillar was booking across the driveway at a high rate of speed, breaking the speed limits for sure. How am I supposed to catch good photos of these guys!

DSC01327_crop

Here’s a shiny green insect that was moving fast on the Cornus alba:

DSC01323_crop

I love the red berries of the Cotoneaster:

DSC01319

This is a really tough summer for all of the plants here with little to no rain in our area all summer.

Here’s the underbelly of a cool insect on the sliding glass door:

DSC01316

And the cat is still making it hard for me to get a really good photo of her she’s so wiggly when I’m around. She says “Pet me, massage me, make me write bad checks. . . ” I had *just* combed a whole other cat’s worth of fur out of her and she’s still messy with loose fur!

DSC01351_crop

She’s such a little sweetie anyway!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. harmonia
    Aug 06, 2007 @ 22:06:22

    Beautiful, amazing, awesome, cute, breath-taking! YAY! Great pics!

    Reply

  2. mon@rch
    Aug 06, 2007 @ 22:28:05

    This is wonderful ! WOW

    Reply

  3. Laura
    Aug 06, 2007 @ 22:29:27

    I love how that frog pic leaves you guessing!

    Reply

  4. Susan Gets Native
    Aug 06, 2007 @ 23:43:49

    Jeez, Pam. It’s like Wild Kingdom over there at your place!
    Is that a leopard frog?
    A green bee?
    An alien visitor on your door?
    Are you watching Miss Kitty while your Mom is off hiking the world? I love that neon green gleam in her eye. (The cat’s, not your Mom’s)

    Reply

  5. Mary
    Aug 07, 2007 @ 09:22:16

    You and your camera have a great relationship, lady! Wow. I know your weather has been dry but your plants look a lot more healthier than mine!

    What’s with the hummingbird moth? I’ve never seen one!

    Pretty kitty LOL!

    Reply

  6. erie's argonaut
    Aug 07, 2007 @ 09:30:14

    Your flowers look really healthy and pretty! Most of mine have done their thing and are looking a bit off. My sunflowers are coming on, though. You sound like me. You must carry your camera with you. Since getting my camera I’m surprised how much I never noticed before. Now I always scan the area for something interesting to take a picture of. And, being able to blow the picture up lets us see how beautiful even a little green bee is. It opens up a whole new world.

    Reply

  7. erie's argonaut
    Aug 07, 2007 @ 09:32:49

    Oh, I forgot to mention, your cat sounds very lovable. I struggle with the hair on my three cats. I wish they would let me vacuum them. Tried it, absolutely didn’t work out and had they been able to get out of the house, they would have run away from home.

    Reply

  8. laurie
    Aug 07, 2007 @ 10:00:50

    What a wonderful kitty you have. You can really see that she’s a sweetheart. Don’t you just love your furkid?

    Your photos are wonderful. It really does look like wild kingdom at your house. How lucky you are. It’s so dry here the only things that are thriving are the grasshoppers and flies.

    Hugs,
    Laurie

    Reply

  9. Lynne at Hasty Brook.
    Aug 07, 2007 @ 11:23:44

    Pam, your flower pictures are just the best! My garden is all ready past prime. Love the frog photo- I cam almost feel his cool, damp skin!

    Reply

  10. Cathy
    Aug 07, 2007 @ 21:35:45

    Well I guess these pictures are wonderful! I’ve got to read your commentors above to see if anyone has tried to ID that awesome frog and incredible window bug.

    And kitty’s face! Are we a little ornery? What a sweetie.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

