Bridge, Mystery Photo

So on my way home yesterday I saw a sign saying the right lane of the Irondequoit Bay Bridge was closed. When I got to the bridge there were two news station vans with their cameras way up in the air parked before the bridge. I’m thinking, wtf, you know what I mean? I found out later the federal government ordered an inspection of this bridge. Yay! I guess, I mean I hope it passed with flying colors! I’ll have to find out on the web or somewhere since I don’t watch the news. Here’s a photo of part of the bridge that I showed you last winter:

2007-01-11 007

And because I’m now cutting into my reading time after having gotten home late, I’ll leave you with this photo.

AZ-2007-03-20thru29 158

Can you guess exactly where it is taken?  And if you know where it was taken, do you know where the idea for this symbol came from?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mary
    Aug 08, 2007 @ 21:46:48

    Pam,

    Sorry, I don’t have a clue. Good that bridge is being inspected. Ours are being inspected, too. I learned that a bridge 30 miles south of me is in danger of collapsing – luckily I rarely travel south to SC. There’s an awakening going on… That’s good.

    Reply

  2. mon@rch
    Aug 09, 2007 @ 10:22:27

    Cool photo and much of extra do you need to drive because the bridge is closed?? They are doing many inspections around here also! it is good but where is this money going to come from?? Hmm

    Reply

  3. laurie
    Aug 09, 2007 @ 15:03:25

    I’m glad your bridge passed muster. Your photos are, as always, lovely.

    Hugs,
    Laurie

    Reply

  4. Sandy
    Aug 09, 2007 @ 17:12:45

    Our bridges are being checked, too. Atleast the ones like the one that collapsed last week.
    So what is the second shot? Was it taken in Arizona?
    What are you reading?

    Reply

  5. naturegirl
    Aug 09, 2007 @ 18:14:42

    I tend to be a bit nervous crossing bridges since that latest tragedy on news..YIKES this one would really make me nervous..
    no I give up on your quiz. puzzled NG

    Reply

  6. Susan Gets Native
    Aug 10, 2007 @ 01:02:45

    Going over bridges has taken on a whole new meaning for me.
    I’m going to take a stab at the symbol thing…I know that the Hopi had a maze symbol that meant both mother and child, and in a broader sense, Mother Earth and her Children.

    Reply

  7. Lynne at Hasty Brook.
    Aug 10, 2007 @ 10:13:56

    I’m guessing Arizona but I don’t have a clue on the symbol.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

