My Schedule, More Clues on the Mystery Photo, What I’m Reading

So, they’ve started in on asking me to work OT again on the weekends. You don’t want to know what I think about that, so my compromise is to work an hour extra every WORK day (note the difference between WORKday and WEEKEND). And since I am NOT giving up going to the gym again (I just started that up again on a regular basis) it really compresses my free time into about three hours every night, into which I squeeze in talking to my Mom, eating dinner, doing dishes, doing a load of laundry, cleaning, etc. (so I can have said weekend free) and blogging and reading. So you know my blogging time and responding to blogs time is once again being cut short every night (because if I don’t read something every day I get really bitchy, there I said it). So this is my long winded way of apologizing for not blogging everyday and not commenting on everyone’s blog every day. I like the paychecks resulting from the OT, and not everyone is asked to work OT. Hmmm, it’s a privilege to give up my free time to work OT? Alrighty then. Enough about that.

On to the mystery photo. Sandy and Lynne guessed the photo was taken in Arizona and they’re correct! Here’s some huge clues, it was taken in Scottsdale, Arizona at a famous architect’s winter home / school. Now you’ll get it for sure! And Susan, the symbol is from the Native Americans! You’re all so good at this!

Here’s the Native American petroglyph where the symbol came from:

AZ-2007-03-20thru29 189

Sandy asked what I’m reading right now. What am I not reading right now! I have several books going, but my main one right now is: “Mistress of the Art of Death” by Ariana Franklin. The title sounds really macabre. When I picked it up from the library I thought to myself, “Did I really order that?” But a ‘mistress of the art of death’ in the 12th century is just another name for a Medical Examiner in our time period. The book is a bit troubling (for me that is, but I’m one that finds the TV show CSI troubling, even though I do like Crossing Jordan, go figure), but it’s still good. It was recommended by one of my favorite authors, Diana Gabaldon, on her website here. I also have on order from the library upon her recommendation the book “Nefertiti” by Michelle Moran. I love my library and interlibrary loans – yay!!!

And speaking of books and authors, I have an exciting guest blogger coming soon! I’ll give more details next week. I hope you enjoy your weekend! You know, that period of time when one is supposed to relax and NOT work.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mon@rch
    Aug 11, 2007 @ 08:25:29

    Ugg, I know how you feel about loosing your weekends! At least they asked you this time instead of assuming you knew! How long is this one going to last?

    Reply

  2. lizalee
    Aug 11, 2007 @ 10:54:15

    Well, now I know that it was taken at Taliesin West — home of Frank Lloyd Wright. Sometimes the hours I spent helping my husband study for architecture exams really pay off! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Lynne at Hasty Brook.
    Aug 11, 2007 @ 11:52:53

    Liza beat me!
    Can’t wait to learn your guest blogger!!

    ENJOY YOUR WEEKEND!!

    Reply

  4. jayne
    Aug 11, 2007 @ 16:10:24

    I know what you mean Pam. I was on call last weekend and had to go in Sat AND Sun and this weekend, we had four patients who were higher maintenance and our tech was on call so I went in this morning for four hours as well. The money is nice, but…. I’d much rather have the time to veg on the weekend. Hmmm… guest blogger…. mysterious! Have a good REST of the weekend!

    Reply

  5. Pam
    Aug 11, 2007 @ 21:46:16

    Mon@rch – My weekends are MINE to do with what I want, right? That’s the way I view it anyways! This one will probably last until I stop working in this department!

    Lizalee – Yay, you’re right, and when I get time I’ll add my other Taliesen West photos to my blog!

    Lynne – I figured you would get this! I’m enjoying my weekend to the max so far! Hope you are, too!

    Jayne – Argh, I’m sorry you had to work last weekend and this weekend. Veg time is definitely necessary. I don’t know why employers don’t get that concept! If I don’t have time off every weekend, I’m cranky the whole next week!

    Reply

  6. Sandy
    Aug 12, 2007 @ 08:05:41

    Pam, my husband has several books going all the time. I try to have a fiction (mostly mysteries) one going, and usually something else, right now, Finding Water, by Julia Cameron.
    But always, something! Our library is closed for a month for repairs, so will probably have to visit Borders soon.

    Sorry to hear that you are stuck at the office. David (husband) works late at night so he is free on weekends.

    Reply

  7. Pam
    Aug 12, 2007 @ 11:46:53

    Sandy, Mysteries are definitely my thing, along with some nature book. I’ll have to look for ‘Finding Water.’
    Oh, how can you stand having your library closed in the summer? I would have to get my book fix somewhere for sure.
    I think it stinks that we have to work late at all. It’s tiring either way. Having two whole days off is totally necessary, though.

    Reply

  8. mary
    Aug 12, 2007 @ 13:55:37

    Hi Pam,

    I know what you mean about the OT. I had an event on Saturday. I’m running around like a freaking idiot taking care of the house, the birds, the pond. And it’s 100 degrees. I WISH I COULD READ!

    Can’t wait to hear about the mystery blogger!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

