“Ansel Adams: A Son’s Perspective”

Yesterday afternoon Mom and I went to the George Eastman House to view the Ansel Adams’ photography exhibition, and to hear his son Michael Adams talk about Ansel Adams and his work. The talk was given at the Dryden Theatre which is located within the Eastman House. Ansel Adams’ photography is beyond words, IMHO. To say breathtaking and awesome doesn’t do them justice. They make me, a normally pretty quiet person (well at a museum exhibition, that is) ohh and ahh out loud.

Taking photographs is allowed in all areas of the George Eastman House with the exception of photographs, so I can’t show you any of what I saw here, for which I am sorry because the photographs are phenomenal to see in person. But I can show you the poster outside the Dryden Theatre where Michael Adams talked:

DSC01491

I can show you my lousy photos taken inside the Dryden Theatre before the presentation:

DSC01493

And of Michael Adams while he was answering questions after his excellent and very interesting presentation:

DSC01497

After the talk we wanted to go to the gift shop, but it was closed. Grrrrrr. Now we have to go back, which doesn’t break my heart, because I want to view the Ansel Adams exhibition once more before it closes.

As we were walking in, I saw some guy doing chalk art on the sidewalk, but I didn’t know who he was doing it of. When we came out, it was evident who he was drawing. I think he did a great job!

DSC01498

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sherry
    Aug 13, 2007 @ 17:45:32

    Very cool!
    I love his work. So inspiring.
    Thank you,
    Sherry

    Reply

  2. mon@rch
    Aug 13, 2007 @ 18:16:54

    Sorry to hear about the gift shop being closed! all reason’s to return! And that is chalk? how awesome!! You and your mother are always doing such fun things together!

    Reply

  3. Cathy
    Aug 13, 2007 @ 20:40:14

    Oh yes! What’s the name of that photo I love? “Moon rise over . . . . ” Arghhh! I can’t remember. I think it’s somewhere in New Mexico.

    That chalk drawing is incredible.

    Reply

  4. mary
    Aug 13, 2007 @ 22:24:35

    OMG! That chalk is awesome.

    You and your Mom are certainly enjoying spare time! Too bad the store was closed. I love his work. He’s an inspiration and so are you, Pam. I need to get my ass in gear and get out there! Laundry can wait.

    Reply

  5. Mary Carlson
    Aug 13, 2007 @ 23:10:03

    Pam – that sounds like fun – I’m so glad you and your mom went. My husband and I have always been huge fans of Ansel Adams. We have a couple of his (coffee table) books, and more recently a framed 24×36″ print of his famous Mt. McKinley Range photo. Ansel Adams has taken so many photos of places where we have visited and the states we have lived in (like CA, NM, and CO). That is a lovely chalk drawing of AA.

    Reply

  6. jayne
    Aug 14, 2007 @ 06:46:11

    That chalk drawing is magnificent! Adam’s work is always so very calming to soak into your spirit. Sounds like you all had a very nice day. :c)

    Reply

  7. Dresden Engle
    Aug 14, 2007 @ 09:30:02

    Hi, Pam.
    Happy to share some Ansel images for your site!
    So pleased you enjoyed the exhibition and the lecture. Thanks for spreading the word and planning to come back to see us …
    Exhibition closes Labor Day, Sept. 3 … only three weeks left.
    My best to you,
    Dresden Engle, Public Relations Manager, George Eastman House

    Reply

  8. erie's argonaut
    Aug 14, 2007 @ 10:45:46

    If the exhibit comes to Erie, Cleveland or Buffalo, I’m sure we’ll go see it. I just saw one of the Antique Roadshow episodes that had one of the first prints of Ansel Adams (it was worth a lot of money.) We also saw some while in Yosemite but I think they were probably prints. Were these his actual photographs or prints?

    Reply

  9. naturegirl
    Aug 14, 2007 @ 17:43:32

    Wow look at that comment from the Public Relations manager!!
    The image of Ansel on sidewalk his likeness for sure!

    Reply

  10. Carolyn Hoffman
    Aug 15, 2007 @ 13:45:36

    OMG! He even looks like his father!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

