Goldfinches are Eating my Seeds

I’ve started seeing the goldfinches eating my flowers’ seeds, which makes me really happy! That’s what they’re there for, not only for my enjoyment, but for the birdies! I was on my way out when I spied this goldfinch through the garage window. So I grabbed the camera and took the photo through my truck window and through the garage window and so the photo is really bad, but you get the picture! This is why I let the thistle and other plants grow among my echinacea and hyssop and etc. When I came home the other day I also saw a goldfinch eating in my front garden. Yay! Feed on, birdies!

DSC01489_crop

This captured my attention as we were walking into the George Eastman House the other day:

DSC01490

I love designs like this. It makes me want to interpret it into needlework.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cathy
    Aug 15, 2007 @ 20:49:40

    So much visual reward for a little bit of seed :0)

    Yes! That wrought iron design is lovely. When you’ve interpreted it in needlework – let us enjoy it again!

    Reply

  2. laurie
    Aug 16, 2007 @ 00:01:29

    I love that bottom photo. It’s really beautiful.

    Reply

  3. jayne
    Aug 16, 2007 @ 06:43:46

    How great that they’ve found the feast you planted for their enjoyment! That design *is* just lovely. Hugs!

    Reply

  4. mon@rch
    Aug 16, 2007 @ 11:10:33

    Goldfinch are always welcomed at my home!

    Reply

  5. Mary
    Aug 16, 2007 @ 12:36:11

    I feel the same, Pam. When I see hummers on the zinnias or butterflies on the salvia, I’m happy. I see that little bright goldfinch – yes, I get the picture!

    Reply

  6. Sandy
    Aug 16, 2007 @ 17:34:06

    Pam, the other day I looked out the window and saw what I thought was a big yellow butterfly on a liatris stock. I ran out with my camera, and my “butterfly” was a goldfinch! Since then, I see them out there all the time, cleaning up for me.

    I love that window, too. Must be an old building, you don’t see anything like that on newer ones.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

