Buying Local

So, the big move I see all over the place is to buy local. Which to me is no big deal because I’ve been buying local ever since I moved out on my own. Farmers’ Markets are some of my favorite places to hang out and to buy what local people are growing and making, etc. But there’s a couple of local items that I just found recently that I *have* to rave about.

1.  Mountain Rise Granola Chunky Cocoa made by Mountain Rise Organics, Inc. Do I have your attention with the cocoa part there? This is the most yummiest granola I’ve ever eaten. And it’s organic and vegan for those that care, and just plain yummy for those that don’t care. I have a few chunks every day – for me it’s very filling. I know it’s expensive, but it is soooo good.

2.  17th Century Suds shampoo from 17th Century Suds. Mom and I saw this at the GreenStar Coop in Ithaca last Saturday (it’s always fun to look around and see what’s new and what’s local). This shampoo smells so good (to me) and I can say this is the only shampoo I’ve ever used five days straight ever, and I’m sure I’ll continue to use it. It doesn’t leave that icky residue that other shampoos leave, it doesn’t leave my hair flat, or too puffy, it’s just right. So I’ll keep using it!

Oh, and while thinking of the local farmers’ market, there is a local chef that makes hot cookies and brings them to Saturday’s market! Hot as in cayenne pepper hot! Oh Jim, yoo hoo, I could use some more of those cookies! I know, I know, I can go myself!

I also love the marvelous whoopie pies that the local Amish ladies bring to the market. My favorite are chocolate with white frosting. I haven’t had the cookies or whoopie pies in a couple of years, but they sure are good!

Because I’m not in the mood to set up photos of the first two products, and because I don’t like to make a photoless blog post, here’s another photo from Cornell Plantations. And I’m not in the mood to figure out what this flower is. I have two big, juicy books waiting for me that I just picked up from the library!

2007-08-11 DSC01383

What are some of your favorite local products?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mon@rch
    Aug 16, 2007 @ 19:23:22

    I went to my parents house for dinner this evening (couldn’t head over last weekend because of the satellite) and they made spaghetti. Our salad was completely made from the garden out behind my parents house! Can’t get any more local than that!

    Reply

  2. Cathy
    Aug 16, 2007 @ 20:41:07

    It’s a great time of year for our palettes. But! Cayenne in cookies!? Are they good? Honest? Cool. I mean ‘Hot’ ;0)

    I think the flower is Lantana and it’s gorgeous.

    Reply

  3. Ruth
    Aug 16, 2007 @ 22:46:20

    I try to keep away from the Mennonite baking at the market, but the hot apple fritters are difficult to resist. And buying a dozen much cheaper per unit than buying one.
    I have some chocolate cayenne ice cream last year. It was superb! I have never seen it around here since then, but the flavour combination is in the movie Chocolat.

    Reply

  4. laurie
    Aug 17, 2007 @ 11:02:28

    I buy whatever I can from local farmers and try to spend as much money locally as I can, though everything usually costs more it feels good to do it.

    Reply

  5. Mary
    Aug 17, 2007 @ 11:57:23

    Lantana is a butterfly magnet. I just bought a basket of them and I’m amazed!

    It surprises me that our local food stores display “Buy Local” vegetables,i.e. sweet corn, real home grown tomatoes and the rest summer pleasures. We buy local first. There isn’t much to choose from in winter but spring-summer-fall is a real treat.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

