Where Does Time Go?

Okay, I want to know, where did this week go? Between work, working out (okay, I only went to the gym once so far, but I have a good reason for that) and being involved in a very good book right now that I can’t put down at night to go to sleep, this week has totally zoomed right by! And I’m sorry I haven’t posted.

I’ve been missing my Dad really bad this week. Why does it come in spurts like this? I don’t know. Maybe because I went to the OHA Museum last Saturday with Sarah (who will be on her way to Manchester, England for a year to get her Masters Degree in History, so I wanted to say goodbye to her) and going to the museum was something my Dad and I did together several times (and remember my Gambrinus Brew Fest post?). And the memories came flooding back. And it was tough. Little does Sarah know, she got me through it, with her quiet strength, just by being herself. She is one awesome friend. And I should probably tell her, you think?

My Dad and I loved this old locomotive bell which was attached to a Niagara Series 6000 locomotive when the trains ran through the middle of downtown Syracuse. We were always too shy about making it ring. But you know what, I made it ring for my Dad, kind of quiet, not as loud as it could get.

2007-08-18 OHA DSC01544 crop

Note to my Flickr friends, even though I took these photos, I’m not making them for friends to enlarge because I’m the OHA webmaster and I did take these photos with the intention of using them on their website. Sorry!

And we always discussed Guntner’s chain, used as a surveying device in the old days when surveying property. You may have seen old deeds that say the north side measures “x number of chains,” well, these are some of those chains.

2007-08-18 OHA DSC01529

And the Erie Canal canalboat:

2007-08-18 OHA DSC01526 crop

And the velocipede and how uncomfortable it must have been to ride on it. Sarah and I investigated it and there was horsehair under the seat. And steel wheels. Ouch for sure!

2007-08-18 OHA DSC01524

These human hair wreaths always intrigued us:

2007-08-18 OHA DSC01506 crop

And as we made our way into the industries of Syracuse, we saw several brands of typewriters since Syracuse was known as the typewriter city, and I just had to take this one because of its’ name! Even though Mon@rch says they spelled Monarch wrong!

2007-08-18 OHA DSC01585 crop

I forgot about the Marsellus Casket exhibition. I had to totally skip by it. Even though there is a cool wood id test, nope, couldn’t look at caskets, had enough of caskets for quite a while. I took many more photos as there are many more interesting things in this museum, but these are a few of the highlights.

Then we went into the Crouse Hospital temporary exhibition, which was fantastic! To see more about this exhibition, please click here where there are a few of the many photos I took at the bottom of the page.

2007-08-18 OHA-Crouse-ent

Sarah and I had some time to wait between the closing of the museum and our time to meet Mike, so we walked the streets of Syracuse. Where I took tons of photos which I’ll save for another post.

The restaurant we went to meet Mike and to eat is one of my all time favorites. I’ve been going to this restaurant since, well, for a long time, first with my Aunt Ruth (the one that passed away 11 years ago this month).  We used to go there every Thursday night when I was young. It is the Plainville Farms Restaurant & Bakery on Route 11 in Cicero.

2007-08-18 DSC01773 crop

The turkeys are raised free range and natural and it is the tenderest, tastiest turkey you could about ever find (at least that’s what I remember). I now go there for all of the fresh veggies – real mashed potatoes, hubbard squash, corn, green and yellow beans, and etc., and cranberry sauce, and salads, and soups and desserts, all on the buffets.

And here’s Tom the Turkey on the back of the horse:

2007-08-18 DSC01774

Who happily greets the many guests that go to this restaurant every day! I started out sad about my Dad, and ended up having a great day with wonderful friends!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mon@rch
    Aug 23, 2007 @ 20:26:33

    times fun when you are having flies! Great post and good to see many of these things and spend some time with friends.

    Reply

  2. mary
    Aug 23, 2007 @ 22:12:59

    It’s 10pm and you have made me hungry! Thanks a lot, Pam! :o)

    You are OK. Enjoying friends and things to do. You do much more than I do… I, too, wonder how the days and weeks fly by.

    Right now you are getting through the first horrible year. Everything reminds you of Dad, of course. It will get easier to enjoy his favorite places because he wants you to keep enjoying! Smile. That’s what he wants.

    Reply

  3. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Aug 24, 2007 @ 01:35:26

    I’m glad you had a fun day with your friends. You deserve it Pam!

    Reply

  4. jayne
    Aug 24, 2007 @ 06:40:13

    Sounds like a very fun day Pam. Being with good friends does help us when we are feeling like we’re missing a part of us. Glad you were able to smile with the memories.

    Reply

  5. Pam
    Aug 24, 2007 @ 19:19:52

    Mon@rch – LOL!!! Thanks!

    Mary – I’m sorry I made you hungry. Some days I sit at work and seriously get to Jonesing for Plainville Restaurant! I sure wish it was close by! Thanks for your kind words – everything right now seems to be such an effort. I literally put off going to Syracuse *all* summer until the last minute because I didn’t want to deal with that part of the memories. But I did and I’m here to talk about it, and you’re right, he always told us to rejoice. It’s just very tough!

    Lynne – Thanks! It was great fun!

    Jayne – Oh, you’re so right. It was very rough going at first, but I made it through!

    Reply

  6. Cathy
    Aug 25, 2007 @ 13:32:06

    Sweetie – I still get blind-sided by grief about my dad. After 16 years. I must admit it’s much rarer.

    Yes, that’s got to be so poignant observing those same objects that the two of you once enjoyed together.

    On the lighter side: That Mon@arch business cracked me up.
    I’ve missed lunch and the thought of juicy tender turkey has me headed for Bob Evans :0)

    (Sure, tell you’re friend how wonderful she is ;0)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

