Charles Chips

I forgot to mention, another thing Sarah and I did last Saturday before we went to Plainville Restaurant was to stop at Cracker Barrel to do some window shopping. Part of going into the store there is like going back in time. I was standing in front of the Charles Chips tins and bags of chips and pretzels and cookies when Sarah, who is 29, said “remember when those were delivered to our homes?” I sure do!!

CCtin

This photo was shamelessly, ahem, borrowed from eBay, even though my Mom still has the original tin we used.

My Mom used to buy two bags of potato chips a week since my older brother was a real potato chip connoisseur – and he still is. My Mom said these were the best potato chips around.

Sarah said her Mom had potato chips and pretzels delivered to her home.

How about you, do you remember Charles Chips being delivered at home?

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mary
    Aug 24, 2007 @ 21:04:59

    YES, I DO!!!! Delivered right to your door! I guess my Mom and Dad threw the tins away…

    Best chips on the planet (next to UTZ, maybe). I like Lay’s, too.

    When I saw that can, I melted. Another memory…

    Thanks, dear Pam.

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Aug 25, 2007 @ 06:23:42

    Mary – that’s so cool!! I can’t believe how many things my Mom used to have delivered to our home when I was a kid. Remember the truck? If I remember right it looked like the can! We only had one tin – they would deliver the clear bags – no chips broken – and we used the tin for the opened bag. I remember the inside of the tin was gold.
    Hmmm, I’ve never had UTZ chips!
    I think I was melting away right there in Cracker Barrel and Sarah saved me from melting into the floor!
    You’re welcome, Mary!

    Reply

  3. jayne
    Aug 25, 2007 @ 08:19:51

    Oh, heck yeah! They were delivered to our house weekly too! Yes, the truck looked just like the can! Oh, they were so crisp and well… a bit greasy… but wonderful in 1967!!

    Reply

  4. Barbara
    Aug 25, 2007 @ 08:24:15

    I do remember this! They were so good. It is nostalgic.

    Reply

  5. Pam
    Aug 25, 2007 @ 08:31:32

    Jayne – That’s so cool! I don’t remember whether they were greasy or not since I wasn’t a big potato chip eater – just a few with my lunchtime sandwich. I still am not, either. My older brother and Dad loved them though (especially my older brother, I think he lived on them), that’s why Mom bought two bags a week.

    Hi Barbara – welcome to my blog! That’s cool you remember them, too! It is nostalgic, for sure.

    Reply

  6. wren
    Aug 25, 2007 @ 11:40:35

    Oh, yes – I remember Charles’ Chips at the door – Mom always had a can of them in the cupboard. I also remember milk deliveries, the Jewel Tea man, and cleaners that picked up and delivered your laundry.

    Reply

  7. therealpotato
    Aug 25, 2007 @ 11:54:05

    Wow. I never had them delivered, but my friend/mentor used to be married to the owner of that company, back in the sixties. She always refers to her ex as “the potato chip heir”. Small world!

    Reply

    • Susie
      Feb 03, 2010 @ 00:12:18

      I was looking for a friend of mine, Debbie Smith, (maiden name). She used to be, and maybe still is married to a guy who was the son of the owner of Charles Chips. Now, I can tell you that she went to Robert E. Lee High in Houston, Texas around 1968 and lived in the “Valley Forge”
      apartment complex around Bellaire and Hillcroft. I was a friend of hers. We went our separate ways after she married but I would love to talk to her again if you know anything. She also did a couple of commercials, Gordon’s Jewelry and Foley’s department store. She was a model for the Ben Shaw agency. Please e-mail me if you know of her.

      Sincerely,

      Susie Svahn (Taylor)

      Reply

  8. Pam
    Aug 26, 2007 @ 09:04:39

    Wren – Thanks for commenting! My Mom says we used to get milk from Byrne Dairy in brown bottles, but I don’t remember that. I never knew about the Jewel Tea man! Mom used to have a baby diaper service for my younger brother. And she used to have the table linens cleaned through a service.

    Therealpotato – Thank you, also, for commenting! Wow, that’s cool about your friend being married to the owner! Now I’m curious about the history of the company. Because one of my Flickr friends said her Grandmother used to have them delivered when her Mom was young so that would have been in the 40’s and/or 50’s, I’m guessing.

    Reply

  9. Todd
    Sep 15, 2007 @ 11:14:00

    I used to work for ‘the Charles Chips man’ when I was 11-13 in central new jersey as an afternoon job. We rode around delivering chips and he smoked alot of Salems. I was looking for a picture of his old truck. he dated my mother.

    todd.

    Reply

  10. Anonymous
    Jan 15, 2009 @ 15:59:51

    Kosher Dill was the best flavor.

    Reply

  11. Larry
    May 20, 2009 @ 10:48:47

    Being a “Charlie Chips” delivery driver was one of my best summer jobs when I was in high school!
    Back in the mid 60’s I lived in North Boston, NY which is about 25 miles or so south of Buffalo. The guy who had the local territory ran the business out of his house using the garage as his “warehouse”. He had three or four trucks…the really cool, boxy type panel vans with big sliding doors that you could drive with ’em both wide open! Fun at the time but not too safe…but hey…it was the 60’s!!! Twice a week a big semi trailer would arrive from Pennsylvania LOADED with chips, cookies, and pretzels…still HOT! Talk about fresh, they literaly must have come right off the packing line, into the truck, and onto the road. They used to stay warm for days in his garage, from delivery to delivery. I had a different route to run every day in a two week cycle. Man…I loved getting up early, getting to the “warehouse” around 7:00 in the morning and loading up the truck. Then it was time to hit the road. It was so great driving along early in the morning with both doors wide open 😉 and the AM radio on WKBW when all the great music like the Rascals “Groovin” was out. All my routes in that area were very rural, and the terrain is very hilly and pretty. I can still remember it like it was yesterday. Oh, and the customers, they were something else! If you missed someone on a run either because of them not being home or whatever…you got an earfull about it the next time around! They were ADDICTED! As I recall many of them would buy upwards of $25 or so of product every other week. My commission was 20%…and all I could eat!

    Reply

  12. Susan
    Oct 15, 2009 @ 18:21:00

    I used to get Charles Chips holiday cookies and chips delivered to my home in 1986 – 87. I have yet to find them now. I’ve been looking all over the web for my christmas cookies. Does anyone know where I can find them?

    Reply

  13. barbara sanchez
    Apr 06, 2011 @ 19:02:44

    I rememberr gettng them deliverd at my home. Those were the good old days also the milkman remember them?

    Reply

  14. Dennard
    Dec 28, 2011 @ 19:20:29

    I remember as a little boy my dad work for the sanatation dep and he whould get a tin can of cookies or chips i was about 8 yrs old back in the 70’s he whould get a can every christmas and boy was they good miss those cookies was the best choc,chip cookie you have ever tasted .i have been trying to find them but with no luck untill now and i am 46 now thanks charles chips keep us proud.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

