Tomatoes

My work friend Kitty gave me these six beautiful tomatoes from her garden!

DSC01885

So I was thinking this morning what I was going to make with them, and boing! The answers came into my brain! Salsa (garlicky, not peppery):

DSC01886

Hmmm, I made it a little runny (I like it chunkier) but hey, I haven’t made it in a year! It is still good!

And a huge bowl of Tabouleh!

DSC01919

Hmmm, this looks a little runny, but I followed the recipe to the letter!

And here they are together for my small supper since I wasn’t that hungry (it’s too hot to be hungry):

DSC01920

Believe it or not, I only ate half of everything here, because, let me tell you, Tabouleh and Salsa flavors do not mix well in my mouth. Lesson learned for next time! Salsa for lunch, Tabouleh with dinner!  I calmed my mouth down by having a frozen mango bar.

As a side note, when I was out picking my spearmint for the Tabouleh, it was kind of scary because there were all sorts of flying pollinators all over the mints in my mint garden. I finally found some stalks that weren’t occupied. Out of the corner of my eye I spied some bluish-black airplane wings on an interesting pollinator. Of course I went out without my camera, so I went to get it and then had to wait for it to come back out towards the front of the patch so I could capture it:

DSC01911_crop

What is with that large butt? I’m too lazy to look it up right now.

Anyway, back to tomatoes. What do you make out of your fresh tomatoes?

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ruth
    Aug 25, 2007 @ 20:53:46

    Hmmm…wonder what happened to the tabouleh? I just made another batch tonight with quinoa. I have never added the optional chickpeas. Hope it is tasty on its own.

    Reply

  2. mon@rch
    Aug 25, 2007 @ 21:18:44

    O my goodness! That looks SOOOOOOOOO good! Hmm, now I have to head over to my fridge!

    Reply

  3. mary
    Aug 25, 2007 @ 21:20:23

    Other than chopping them for salads, I love tomato sandwiches. Toasted bread, lots of sliced tomatoes, Hellmann’s mayonnaise, and black pepper. Sometimes I’ll cut them into small chunks and marinade them in red wine vinegar, a little olive oil, fresh garlic, and parsley. My parents used to eat them like apples.

    Your dishes look yummy. I laughed out loud about your frozen mango bar!

    No clue on the bee with the large butt.

    Reply

  4. Barbara
    Aug 25, 2007 @ 23:11:12

    I only make salads.

    Reply

  5. jayne
    Aug 26, 2007 @ 07:38:44

    Those dishes look yummy Pam. I’m not a huge ‘mater fan, but my parents always have home grown ones in their little garden patch. My MIL (in the deep South) used to always have sliced tomatoes and a dish of mayo on the supper table. My BIL would slather his slices with the mayo… not so appealing to me.

    Reply

  6. toni
    Aug 26, 2007 @ 07:55:18

    Everything looks so delicious. I love salsa but have never tried Tabbouleh. We like to make a white pizza topped with fresh tomatoes in a stone backing dish. The other day we had tomatoes and cucumbers with a vinegar and oil dressing.

    Reply

  7. Pam
    Aug 26, 2007 @ 09:01:01

    Ruth – maybe I didn’t de-seed the tomatoes enough. I’m thinking I need to add some more onion to it, but I’m going to taste it today to see how the flavors are now. It was very tasty with the spearmint!

    Mon@rch – Thanks! So what did you find in your fridge that was good?

    Mary – I *love* tomato sandwiches with mayonnaise! And marinated, too. Mmmm. I got out one of my insect books and narrowed it down to hornet. I just don’t which kind. I hate id books sometimes.

    Barbara – I love tomatoes in salads, too. I have a couple left waiting for my green salads this week.

    Jayne – My Dad was a big one for slathering mayonnaise on everything, so that’s something he would do to tomatoes, too. I never got the appeal either – unless it’s in a sandwich.

    Toni – Thank you! This was my first attempt at Tabbouleh. Mmmm, your pizza sounds delicious! As does tomatoes and cucumbers in the dressing.

    Reply

  8. Linda
    Aug 26, 2007 @ 10:22:05

    Wow, does that ever look good. I love eating slices of tomatoes with lots of salt. BLTs are my favorites, too, with big, wide slices of tomatoes.

    I wouldn’t want to be stung by that beauty. It’s amazing how many bees I have around my sage plants but I haven’t been stung in years. I used to avoid planting flowers that would draw bees but now I like watching them going from flower to flower especially the bumble bees.

    I’ve never heard of Tabouleh before. I just looked it up. Sounds good.

    Reply

  9. Susan Gets Native
    Aug 26, 2007 @ 22:26:25

    Salsa I like, tabouleh has never crossed these lips.

    I know exactly what that bug is:
    It is a rare, endangered Black-Winged Striped Biggus Gluteus Maximus. Endangered because the large back-side, though necessary at some point in evolution, has become a hindrance to the poor insect, getting stuck in flowers and such.
    : )

    Reply

  10. winterwoman
    Aug 27, 2007 @ 05:33:14

    I don’t know the bug, but love Susan’s name for it!

    Re: Tomatoes: it’s hard to make them into anything. As soon as I slice them, I want to eat them. But here’s one favorite:

    Spread a pita or flat bread on the top with pesto.
    Put fresh tomato slices on top (I slice them pretty thin.)
    Sprinkle with Asiago cheese.
    Pop under the broiler just till the cheese starts to brown.

    You’re done! Easy and delicious!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

