Cats! and etc.

Dogs Have Masters. Cats Have Staff.
Quoted by Rush Limbaugh
on the Rush Limbaugh Show

My Mom read this to me over the phone out of the blue and I burst out laughing!! And now my role with respect to “The Cat” has been defined. I used to be the substitute part time staff when my Dad was alive. Now I’m the secondary part time staff, and substitute primary part time staff when my Mom is out of town.

My job is to massage and comb her when I visit my Mom:
DSC01925

Have you ever tried to photograph and comb a wiggly cat all at the same time? It’s NOT easy!

While I’m massaging and combing her, she has to have a bite to eat in the middle of it all:

DSC01930

I figured this was a good time to try to capture a close-up of her sweet, little face.

My job, however, does not include removing the little presents she leaves for her primary part time staff member!

DSC01921

By the way, this mouse ended up being flung outside for the red tailed hawk that has been hanging around my Mom’s home!

2007-08-19 DSC01883 crop

Even though I’m just the secondary part time staff, I still love this little kitty, even with her typical cattitude!

Here’s another cool wasp or hornet that I saw on a hosta:

DSC01944 crop

Here it is going into the hosta:

DSC01945 crop

It’s kind of making my skin crawl to think I’ve been getting close to these guys to capture these photos.

This following guy is in one of my Mom’s porch windows:

DSC01972 crop

I planted this cool blue-purple flower from seed in the spring, but I don’t remember the name of it.

DSC01953

Any ids for the insects or flower will be greatly appreciated!!

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mon@rch
    Aug 27, 2007 @ 19:07:53

    Love your close up shot of your mom kitten and that is great you shared the mouse with the hawk! Did it take it?

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Aug 27, 2007 @ 19:21:46

    Mon@rch – Thanks! Yup! The hawk has been taking all of the mice that she’s been catching and Mom’s been flinging outside for it! Now, if the hawk would just get rid of the fatties (woodchucks)!

    Reply

  3. Cathy
    Aug 27, 2007 @ 20:21:54

    Pam – You’re a stitch. What a great post. That mouse! That hawk on the chimney! And what a cute (am I allowed to say ‘spoiled’?) kitty.

    You’re pretty brave getting up close and personal with that UFO. Nice photos.

    Reply

  4. Barbara
    Aug 27, 2007 @ 21:19:20

    That cat sure does have the good life.

    How cool to have a hawk hanging around, unless of course the prey is one of your pets!

    Nice pictures of the wasps.

    Reply

  5. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Aug 27, 2007 @ 21:36:29

    Cool to have a red-tailed hawk hanging around! It looks like a sculpture at first glance! Your Mom’skitty has the prettiest eyes. I can’t get my hands on my insect guide so I’m no help there. It sounds like you’re a good cat staff person! LOL!

    Reply

  6. Laura
    Aug 27, 2007 @ 22:36:54

    Don’t have a clue, but the quote is great and so true!

    Your pic last night made me think of a cicada-killer wasp, but I don’t think it’s long enough.

    Reply

  7. naturegirl
    Aug 27, 2007 @ 22:43:03

    Oh yes cats certainly do have ~cattitude!~ That’s why we LoVe them!
    I have two and they both look like your moms!! One of mine also has to eat a bit while I brush all the while she is meowing some tune!

    Reply

  8. Susan Gets Native
    Aug 27, 2007 @ 23:21:17

    Bow to the power of The Cat.
    Good for you, tossing the mouse to the animal who SHOULD be killing it! This RAPTOR-ite is proud of you.
    My bug books are in my car. I will look up the buggies.

    Reply

  9. laurie
    Aug 27, 2007 @ 23:44:26

    As staff to six cats, I can so appreciate todays post.

    Reply

  10. toni
    Aug 28, 2007 @ 00:23:54

    I love cats and my Lily sure takes over my house.
    Interesting that the Hawk waits for the mouse to be thrown out.
    Not sure what the flower or insects are.

    Reply

  11. Trixie
    Aug 28, 2007 @ 13:24:51

    What a hoot! That cat face says it all. And the blue of that flower is amazing…it seems to run to purple on the edges. Very lovely.

    Reply

  12. Pam
    Aug 28, 2007 @ 18:56:41

    Cathy – Thanks! Yes, the cat is spoiled, but not so much as she was when my Dad was alive. Talk about spoiled!!!

    Barbara – Thanks! The cat does have a good life, for a cat! The cat is in the barn, so she’s safe from the hawk!

    Lynne – The hawk does look like a sculpture! Aw, she does have pretty eyes, she’s a little cutie! Yup, I love kitties, so I’m a good cat staff person, for sure!

    Laure – I love that quote – it still makes me laugh. I have one insect ID book here and I’m not good enough with these wasps/hornets to narrow them down. Cicada-killer wasp – I’ll have to check that out.

    Naturegirl – Oh, for sure, that’s why we love them! What your kitty does is so cute! Mom’s purrs and takes nibbles and wiggles and rolls all around.

    Susan – LOL!!! I think the mice are coming inside early to get away from the hawk, and they don’t realize there’s a killer cat inside! Thanks for any help you can give on the bugaboos!

    Laurie – LOL!!! Six cats, oh, you are soooo in demand I don’t know how you have time to do anything else but meet their every little need!

    Toni – I love cats, too, but I don’t have them anymore. That’s why I love helping out with my Mom’s cat.

    Trixie – Thank you! I would love to know what cats are thinking!

    Reply

  13. mary
    Aug 28, 2007 @ 22:19:46

    Pam, I’m so sorry I’m late… I can’t sit for long lately because my tail bone is killing me.

    I knew Susan would adore you for feeding the hawk.

    Cats do rule…I’ve had many cats but DH is allergic and my BTs wouldn’t like it much if I rescued one.

    Those cat eyes are intelligent, to say the least. Enjoy! Maybe get a cat of our own? Or, how about a lively BT? LOL!

    Your photos are brave and great.

    Reply

  14. Nina
    Aug 29, 2007 @ 08:45:03

    Yes, you are brave. Sometimes, after getting real close to an unidentified insect outside, I come inside, look it up, and decide to give it more space, next time!

    Reply

  15. Indunil
    Aug 30, 2007 @ 05:31:36

    I love this quote, and isn’t is so true? As a cat lover and someone who has raised so many cats over teh years, I know just what it means to serve a cat. I mean, I have practically waited hand and foot for these cats. But, isn’t that why we love them to bits? It definitely has something to do with their cattitude.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

