Why I Can’t Stand Slackers

My younger brother calls me at least once a week since my Dad passed on, and per usual, we tell stories to one another about everything, but especially about my Dad – things one or the other of us didn’t know, or just funny things we both know about but we tell them to get each other laughing.

There is one of many stories I didn’t know about and has been on my mind quite a bit lately as I observe certain behaviors among my fellow, um, workers (I really want to call some of them slackers). To give you some background, my Dad was born and grew up during the depression & WWII, and he knew what it was like to wear shoes until there was nothing left of them, and how to work and be appreciative for little money, among many other things. Here’s a page out of my Dad’s ledger he kept when he was 12 years old, during WWII.  I’m not sure what he was doing at this age for someone in Feb. – maybe shoveling snow.  I know he said he used to mow grass when he was young.

Dads_Ledger_3_1944

So the story is, my Dad, my Mom and my younger brother were in the car somewhere, when a street guy came up to my Dad’s side of the car and asked him for some money. Across the street was a McDonald’s with a help wanted sign in their window. My Dad said to the guy, “if you need money, the McDonald’s over there is hiring.”

How awesome is this?

Both of my parents were/are very hardworking people, and they instilled that within us, oh, I could tell you some stories – and as a result of this training, slackers really frost my hiney. Along with people who hang out at traffic signals with large signs in their hands expecting me to hand over my hard-earned money. That is not to say that I don’t do things for needy people, like knitting hats and gloves and scarves, because I don’t like the thought of anyone being cold, and etc.

But now I know what to say to anyone who asks me for a hand-out – “go get a job at McDonald’s.”

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Aug 29, 2007 @ 20:26:09

    Your Dad was an amazing young man, a real citizen at age twelve. Buying war stamps and tithing a tenth of his wages show the man he would become. His work ethic, love of country and church are to be admired. You learned from a good man Pam.

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Aug 29, 2007 @ 20:30:01

    Lynne – Oh, you’re sharp! I was wondering if anyone would read and notice his tithing and war stamp buying out of his small income. And thanks for your kind words, they brought tears to my eyes, because he was a good man, and good men with his character, abilities, etc. are VERY hard to find.

    Reply

  3. mary
    Aug 29, 2007 @ 20:44:05

    And you are right on, Pam! I work with a pile of slackers – my parents taught me good work ethics and I still have them 52 years later. They were both “The Great Depression” children.

    Your Dad was very clever with his quip! A good, good man!

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Aug 29, 2007 @ 21:29:09

    Mary – There’s something about being raised during the depression (only my Dad was), but my Mom’s Dad died when she was young so her family had a struggle to make ends meet during WWII and beyond.
    My Dad was a good man, and he didn’t put up with anyone’s crap. And. . . why should any of us!

    Reply

  5. Susan Gets Native
    Aug 29, 2007 @ 23:20:20

    So who was he buying PERFUME for? His mom, maybe? And for a whole 30 cents! And he bought a piece of candy for a penny. Oh, Man.
    I love that ledger. That’s why they are called “The Greatest Generation”.
    Your Dad rocked.

    Reply

  6. mon@rch
    Aug 30, 2007 @ 08:57:12

    Your dad rocked for sure and what perfect timing with the help wanted sign being right their!

    Reply

  7. Linda
    Aug 30, 2007 @ 15:12:38

    My parents were from that era, too. They believed in working for things.

    Kids (there are exceptions) don’t know the meaning of working for things now days. Everything is given to them. They expect handouts from the time they are very young. Did you notice your father paid for his own haircuts? What 12 year old today would do that?

    Reply

  8. Sandy
    Aug 30, 2007 @ 17:13:53

    This is amazing. Twelve? My parents grew up then too, and lived a careful life. Sad, to say, most younger people don’t feel that way now.

    Reply

  9. Pam
    Aug 30, 2007 @ 18:14:51

    Susan – I don’t know! I didn’t know about this ledger until my Mom asked me if I wanted it, so I have questions that need answers! Penny candy. I saw that at Cracker Barrel, but for much more than a penny now! I love the ledger, too. It tells volumes about his upbringing and his character. They sure are “The Greatest Generation.” And my Dad did rock.

    Mon@rch – Thanks – he did rock. Yeah, I wonder what he would have said to the guy if there wasn’t a help wanted sign, but my Dad wasn’t going to part with his money just because someone asked for it!

    Linda – That’s so cool. Yeah, there are some great kids I work with, but boy there are some losers, too. Always talking about wanting raises, etc. I don’t know any 12 year old who would pay for any of that stuff! Oh, and who would be working to have money in the first place.

    Sandy – Yes, he was 12 and out working for the neighbors. Yes it is sad, we live in such a careless, disposable society.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

