Another Arizona Bird

I had it all planned, I was going to post about another special raptor I saw in Arizona and thought for sure I had great photos of it, but I don’t! I’m so bummed!

But don’t be sad, I have a great little birdie that we saw. We were in Boyce Thompson Arboretum hiking along the high trail seeing wonderful views such as this photo taken by my Mom:

101_0075

And seeing roots slowly breaking boulders apart:

AZ-2007-03-20thru29 399

When my Mom’s cell phone rang. It was my older brother, so I sat on a rock and observed everything around me. All of a sudden Mom pointed and I saw a bird on the rock face. I kept watching it and it came closer and I saw the white on its wings. Not a bird I recognize!

AZ-2007-03-20thru29 407

Then it showed me it’s pretty underside – I love its fuzzy hiney:

AZ-2007-03-20thru29 408 crop

And finally it’s front:

AZ-2007-03-20thru29 409 crop

So even though my photos aren’t that great, I could id it as a Painted Redstart or “Painted Whitestart” (Myioborus pictus), in the Wood Warbler family. It’s habitat is Pine-Oak woodlands, of which Boyce Thompson Arboretum has many species. It’s range is central and southeast Arizona from March to September. And despite its name, it isn’t related to the American Redstart.

Definitely a lifer for me! Yay for my brother calling so I could stop and watch this bird for a few minutes.

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda
    Aug 30, 2007 @ 21:30:41

    That is a gorgeous bird! I’ve never seen anything like it. I’ll have to look up those bird names you gave and take a look.

    Reply

  2. naturegirl
    Aug 30, 2007 @ 21:46:08

    Wow a special moment seeing this bird for sure!! That root breaking ROCK!! Mind blowing!!
    Thank you for sharing these amazing images!!in awe NG

    Reply

  3. david, in Big Bear Lake
    Aug 30, 2007 @ 22:36:13

    beautiful

    Reply

  4. mary
    Aug 30, 2007 @ 22:53:28

    Wow! That’s quite a sight for sore eyes, Pam. Beautiful bird and I’m glad you saw it. Don’ say your photos aren’t good. Excellent! I’m jealous of your view but that’s nothing new… LOL!

    Reply

  5. Susan Gets Native
    Aug 30, 2007 @ 23:52:05

    SWEEEEEET!

    Reply

  6. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Aug 31, 2007 @ 01:27:23

    Beautiful bird! I assumed it was related to the American Redstart. You sure know where to fing the cool tree formations!

    Reply

  7. toni
    Aug 31, 2007 @ 06:42:29

    What a beautiful bird. And the rock formations are great.

    Reply

  8. lizalee
    Aug 31, 2007 @ 22:16:18

    Beeee-utiful!

    Reply

  9. Barbara
    Aug 31, 2007 @ 23:40:49

    Wow, it is beautiful!

    Reply

  10. Pam
    Sep 01, 2007 @ 16:14:19

    Linda – I agree! I’ve never seen anything like it before this.

    Naturegirl – It was! And the root breaking rock was really cool!

    David – Thank you!

    Mary – Thank you! LOL! I always love your view, too!

    Susan – For sure!!

    Lynne – Me too, until I looked on the Cornell website. I love looking at trees!

    Toni – Thank you! I love Arizona’s rugged rock formations.

    Lizalee – Thank you!!

    Barbara – I agree with you, for sure! I love it’s name.

    Reply

  11. jayne
    Sep 02, 2007 @ 08:51:02

    Oh wow Pam! What a magnificent bird! I’d have peed my pants!

    Reply

  12. Pam
    Sep 02, 2007 @ 21:34:08

    Jayne – Thanks – it was really cool, and I love it’s name, too! Like someone took a paintbrush to it’s chest.

    Reply

  13. Mary Carlson
    Sep 02, 2007 @ 23:40:34

    That’s a beautiful bird, Pam. I’ve been to the Arboretum once or twice when visiting my in-laws, but never saw a bird that looks like that. I was probably so fascinated by the plants I forgot to look around to capture other things like birds and bugs and butterflies. I’m so glad you were able to capture it in pictures. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  14. Pam
    Sep 03, 2007 @ 06:04:17

    Mary Carlson – Thank you! This is a first for me, too, and I would have missed it completely if not for being forced to stop and look around. I know, there’s so much to see at the arboretum, isn’t there? I love going there.

    Reply

  15. The Birdfreak Team
    Sep 03, 2007 @ 18:51:27

    Great sighting!

    Reply

  16. Pam
    Sep 03, 2007 @ 19:47:41

    Thank you Birdfreak Team!

    Reply

  17. nelson
    Sep 05, 2007 @ 11:45:36

    I hope you are seriouly interested in raptors; but i doubt that you have the time to become interested. Nelson Briefer – If you spend a lot of time at the area of Rt. 60 and Ironwood, or Ironwood and Southern – in winter, you will see many different Northern Goshawks. The area is Apache Junction. http://www.goshawkho-nelson.blogspot.com The Best

    Reply

  18. Pam
    Sep 05, 2007 @ 16:26:33

    Nelson – I love raptors, in fact I was at BTA the day they brought the injured raptors to visit. I don’t like in AZ and probably won’t be back to visit any time soon, but thanks for the info for when I do make it back!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

