Turkeys, A Nest, Sugar Maples

Here’s the turkeys we saw at the South Onondaga Cemetery last week, where we found the turkey feathers. There is a corn field right on the other side of the trees, so that’s where they ended up going.

2007-09-02 DSC01983 crop

We also saw this nest just laying on the ground. Mom was admiring the soft fluffy stuff inside of it:

2007-09-02 DSC01989

I’ve blogged about these Sugar Maples here before because I love them, and several generations of my family have seen and enjoyed these maples:

2007-09-02 DSC01988

And they’re starting to turn colors. I love the colors of sugar maples in the fall!

2007-09-02 DSC01985

Hmmm, I’m going to have to plan another trip to Onondaga county soon, because it is loaded with sugar maples there, and they have the *best* apple cider, mmmmmmm. LaFayette, my home town, has an apple festival every year. I’ll have to be sure *not* to go when that is going on, because it is way too crowded there at that time for me!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Sep 11, 2007 @ 19:50:57

    That looks like a beautiful old cemetery. The maples look to have been planted in a row, like soldiers guarding the place. I wonder how old they are? I’d pass on the crowded festival too. I’m not fond of apple cider but I sure do love apple pie! (warm with a scoop of ice cream please!)
    I’ll bet Julie Z could id the nest!

    Reply

  2. mary
    Sep 11, 2007 @ 20:21:46

    What a great place! Your sugar maples look perky. I love apple cider! Our maples are looking sick…but we have high hopes for a moist fall.

    Reply

  3. mon@rch
    Sep 11, 2007 @ 21:15:03

    Cemeteries have great birds and for sure have large trees! BTW: Awesome find with the Turkeys!

    Reply

  4. Barbara
    Sep 11, 2007 @ 22:29:18

    We have some sugar maples in our ysrd, they are beautiful in the fall.

    Reply

  5. Susan Gets Native
    Sep 11, 2007 @ 22:59:03

    Yum…maple syrup.
    A guy from the Nature Center gave me a jar of his own from his sugar maples the other night. Who wants pancakes????

    Reply

  6. Pam
    Sep 12, 2007 @ 16:58:19

    Lynne – It is very old. I have great great great great grandparents buried there. I think the maples defined the edge of the cemetery before it was expanded again. I’ll have to look at the dates of the stones near the trees next time I go. Mmmmm, warm apple pie, yummy!

    Mary – They are having a hard time with lack of water, though. I hope you get some moisture, soon!

    Mon@rch – Cemeteries are some of the best places to find cool old trees, for sure!

    Barbara – That’s really nice! I love sugar maples.

    Susan – OMG – now that is really nice of him to give you a jar – it’s like liquid gold – I’ll be there for the pancakes! Yummy!

    Reply

  7. MojoMan
    Sep 12, 2007 @ 20:11:00

    It’s good to see turkeys in Onondaga County. I was living in Syracuse in the late 70’s or 1980 when I think they may have had the first turkey hunting season in many, many years. They were just coming back thanks to newly-available mature forests and aggressive restocking programs. I wonder if now, over 25 years later, they are becoming pesky the way they are here in eastern Massachusetts.

    Reply

  8. Pam
    Sep 14, 2007 @ 18:48:56

    MojoMan – Interesting – I didn’t realize this. I don’ t know about turkeys in Onondaga Co. or here in Monroe Co. I don’t see them that often, not like deer, so I don’t find them pesky.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

