Travelling to Allegany State Park

Yesterday I visited Mon@rch at Allegany State Park again! You can click here to see my post from my last visit. Due to construction and pouring rain it felt like it took f-o-r-e-v-e-r to get there, but it was great to see the beautiful hills along Route 86 (Route 17). The love of hills is in my blood, and seeing these hills gets me really excited.

2007-09-15 DSC02156

The rain and clouds, not so much. Even though we really need the rain!

Finally! This is a most welcome sign!

2007-09-15 DSC02183 crop

And I’m finally in the park – I love this bridge that I’m about to cross:

2007-09-15 DSC02188

While putting on my hiking boots I broke my middle fingernail back beyond where it is attached so it is really hard for me to type today. I won’t mention the blood because it makes somebody sick, but I will mention I love carrying my herbs for just such situations as this! So, stay tuned for more about Allegany State Park – hopefully tomorrow my finger will be feeling better and I’ll post more then about our fun time!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Barbara
    Sep 16, 2007 @ 11:29:23

    New York State is beautiful. I love that there s so much nature to enjoy here. I’m glad you and mon@rch had a great time.

    Reply

  2. aullori
    Sep 16, 2007 @ 13:29:53

    I’m looking forward to that photograph of the mushrooms. Thanks for taking us through your hike.

    Reply

  3. mary
    Sep 16, 2007 @ 13:38:10

    Pam, you are just a TEASE! I love these photos and I know what’s coming up will be fabulous. I hope your fingernail heals. Ouch!

    Reply

  4. mon@rch
    Sep 16, 2007 @ 14:49:10

    Thanks again for visiting and for sure it was a good time! I sure hope your finger gets better and hope it isn’t too much of a problem while you are working! I also can’t wait to see your pictures that you captured! BRAVO!

    Reply

  5. cestoady
    Sep 16, 2007 @ 15:38:46

    Always interesting to get a blow-by-blow description of trips to exciting places and learn what can be seen there. You saw a lot but apparently missed the birds. If you want to be reminded of the Wood Thrush, I just saw one I could hardly believe, on the blog : Natureremains.blogspot.

    Reply

  6. Susan Gets Native
    Sep 16, 2007 @ 23:21:52

    I love how you ‘didn’t’ mention the blood.

    Broken fingernail. OW.

    Reply

  7. jayne
    Sep 17, 2007 @ 06:28:37

    Can’t wait to see your pics Pam! HOpe your finger is feeling some better…ouch!

    Reply

  8. Pam
    Sep 17, 2007 @ 19:13:15

    Barbara – I totally agree with you about NYS!

    Aullori – I’ll post it as soon as I am able! You’re welcome!

    Mary – That’s me, a big tease – LOL! Ouch, for sure – it still hurts!

    Mon@rch – Thank *you*! It was a good time! Thanks – it’ll get better soon – I just have to use my other fingers instead while it’s healing! And you know you’ll see the pics soon! 😉

    Cestoady – Glad you like what I’ve started with! I’ll have to check out the blog, thank you!

    Susan – Yeah, blood blood blood, right? Yeah, broken fingernail – whoever thinks of those things until it happens!

    Jayne – I’ll show you asap! Thanks!

    Reply

  9. Sandy
    Sep 24, 2007 @ 21:17:00

    I love your pictures. I live in Georgia now, but when I was a child my family had a cabin in Allegheny. I have so many fond memories of staying there with all my aunts and uncles, cousins, brother, and of course Mom and Dad. Our basketball hoop was a diaper pail with the bottom cut out. We used to go and get water in a clean garbage can from the spring. Had a piano and a washtub that was used for a bass. Also in the cabin was a old victrolla record player. What great memories. I’d love to visit there again. Take my children and grandchildren to see how beautiful New York State is. People here who haven’t visited the north have no idea how beautiful it is there. Thanks for the memories….I’ll bet the Ad Building still smells the same. I remember it as smelling like cedar. I can see my Aunt playing the piano in the bay area, those wooden chairs with the leather cushions…and the hill out back seemed so big to me then!! Please post more…..
    Sandy B

    Reply

Leave a Reply

