I Signed Up To Start Work at 7AM, But. . .

I was late. Every morning I’ve been racing down the highway watching gorgeous orange sunrises, and THIS morning I didn’t care if I was late to work because it’s freakin’ Saturday anyway, and I decided not only was I going to watch the sunrise, but I was going to capture it. Unfortunately, I’m so programmed for speed that I didn’t catch the best photo of all, but I still love the photos I did capture, and I hope you do, too!

This is all I can see of the sunrise from my home because of the trees:

DSC02403

The best photo would have been a real vivid orange one before this next one. Hopefully it will occur again tomorrow morning so I can capture it. Here I’m driving slowly to work for a change (excuse the bug spots on the window and the road signs):

DSC02406

And here’s after the sunrise as I’m still travelling down the highway, damned rain shield on my side window anyway:

DSC02409

15 minutes isn’t too much to ask to watch the sunrise, now is it?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. emma
    Sep 22, 2007 @ 17:56:39

    Thanks for the sunrise photos. I just finished watching the sunrise from my study window overlooking 7 rice fields here in Osaka. It rose around 6 AM. I am birdwatcher and lover of plants, animals, nature, and the cosmos.

    I just started reading you blog recently, and I think I like it a lot. Your links look like a treasure trove I have been hoping to find, too (haven’t had time to check them yet). Thanks so much!!

    Reply

  2. mon@rch
    Sep 22, 2007 @ 18:31:11

    Those sunrise photos are wonderful and well worth not going to work! No worries about the bugs, we all have those problems from time to time! Bravo!

    Reply

  3. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Sep 22, 2007 @ 19:28:28

    I’m glad you postponed your workday to enjoy the sunrise. Thanks for thinking of us and sharing your morning moment.

    Reply

  4. Cathy
    Sep 22, 2007 @ 21:34:37

    Oh, Honey! I so know what you mean. These sunrises are so precious that it seems foolish not to stop and savor them. I’ve been racing to the hospital to be with my mother and try to remind myself to slow down and look up.

    Reply

  5. mary
    Sep 22, 2007 @ 21:42:06

    Pam, you are my twin. I’ve postponed meetings for bluebirds and have been pressing on the gas to work after stopping for sunrises. Why not? It’s life and we don’t want to miss it, do we?

    Reply

  6. jayne
    Sep 23, 2007 @ 08:17:53

    I think seeing a beautiful sunrise is pretty much my very favorite activity in the entire world. There is just nothing like the feeling I get from seeing the full splattering of vivid colors envelope the sky. Makes me feel so very humbled.

    Reply

  7. winterwoman
    Sep 24, 2007 @ 06:05:35

    ummm… if driving with cell phones is against the law because it is dangerous… ummm… cameras? oh dear…

    Reply

  8. Pam
    Sep 25, 2007 @ 19:47:19

    Emma – thank you for commenting! I bet your sunrise was beautiful! I’ll be checking out your blog!

    Mon@rch – Thank you! Only missed 15 minutes of work, but stayed later (blech)!

    Lynne – Thank you, and you’re welcome!

    Cathy – They are so precious, especially as it starts getting colder and cloudy. Hope everything is going good for you and your Mom.

    Twin Mary – LOL!! I seem to press on the gas quite a bit lately. I so need to just get up earlier! Life is too short and too precious to be missed!

    Jayne – I love both sunrise and sunset and I agree, they are very humbling.

    Winterwoman – Actually I use the point and shoot and don’t even look at what I’m doing so about half of the photos turn out! I rest the p&s on the steering wheel or on my shoulder. I drive stick so I’m used to driving with one hand on the wheel!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

