Allegany State Park – France Brook area

Mon@rch and I started out at the France Brook area of Allegany State Park. I commented that it was nice not to see purple loosestrife overtaking the cattails, and Mon@rch said something like ‘yes, but we have tearthumb.’ Of course, I needed to see tearthumb (Polygonum sagittatum– I’m not sure if I have the correct species) up close! It wasn’t easy to photograph because the stem isn’t very big, but here’s one of the photos:

2007-09-15 DSC02193 crop

The stems are four-sided and are armed with backward pointed prickles, which is where the common name tearthumb comes from. Of course, since it is living with cattails, it likes wet places. It is part of the buckwheat family and part of the knotweed genus.

We saw lots of other stuff that I didn’t photograph because I was still in a driving and injured finger stupor.  Plus after a few minutes of being there, it started pouring.  But before that, we saw this bee hanging out on a milkweed leaf – sorry for the fuzzy photo. Somebody had warmed it up a bit with his finger and it started to move and it made me kind of uncomfortable to be so close!

2007-09-15 DSC02195

I got to see first-hand the devastation of the Viburnum Leaf Beetle on this Arrowwood Viburnum (Viburnum dentatum)

2007-09-15 DSC02194

I can see one of the many reasons Mon@rch loves this area so much – it is loaded with milkweed plants:

2007-09-15 DSC02196

Again with the fuzzy photo. I so didn’t have my photography mojo on yet! But it does come later. Stay tuned, my photos do get better and I have more to share on my visit to Allegany State Park!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. toni
    Sep 23, 2007 @ 09:51:29

    I’m looking forward to it Pam

    Reply

  2. Linda
    Sep 23, 2007 @ 10:20:46

    Those are wonderful photos. I’m looking forward to more. It sounds like you had a great time at Allegany State Park.

    Reply

  3. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Sep 23, 2007 @ 10:23:41

    I’m glad your nail is healing and that you got to spend time at Tom’s park. I’ll be waiting for more pix!

    Reply

  4. mon@rch
    Sep 23, 2007 @ 10:34:50

    was a great time for sure and I always love visiting France Brook! Your photos turned out great!

    Reply

  5. mary
    Sep 23, 2007 @ 21:49:08

    You are a tease…these are great photos. I envy your walk with Tom. Let’s see more!

    Reply

  6. jayne
    Sep 24, 2007 @ 06:41:35

    Hope your finger is feeling all better. Lovely start to your adventure with Monarch. Looking forward to more!

    Reply

  7. Mary
    Sep 24, 2007 @ 09:15:15

    Visiting with Tom must be a joy. I can’t wait to see more! Hope your finger is OK by now…

    Reply

  8. Pam
    Sep 25, 2007 @ 19:42:22

    Toni – Thanks, I hope to get back to it soon!

    Linda – Thank you. I did have a great time!

    Lynne – My finger is all better now! I’m glad I got to spend time at Tom’s park, too!

    Mon@rch – Thank you!!

    Mary – I know – I’m sooo bad. I’ll show you more soon, I promise!

    Jayne – It is, thanks! Thank you, I’ll post more soon.

    Mary – I retrieved your other comment out of Akismet – thanks for letting me know about the problem! Tom is a really interesting guy to be around! Yup, my finger is all better now!

    Reply

  9. Trackback: Rambles

Leave a Reply

