Piano Recital

Excuse my lack of posts, work and poison ivy are kicking my butt. The work thing I think I have a handle on though. We’re caught up to the middle of next week, and if we stay caught up, we won’t have to work any more OT for a while. That’s my plan, anyway!

Yesterday, Mom and I went to a piano recital for a teacher she would like to have teach her through the Eastman School of Music. It was great being in the audience for one of these things, for I have been one of those nervous students who for years had to play in front of groups of people I didn’t know. All I can say is, oh my, these students are getting some great education, and there are some really gifted students, too. First up were three sisters, all of 8, 7 and 6, who played the piano, violin and cello, respectively. Here you can see the piano and what I called the world’s smallest cello. Oh, I wish you could have seen these little girls perform. This photo is off-center because I didn’t want people in my photo.

DSC02507

More than half of the students played from memory, which is awesome. And I also noted that the songs they played are like the ones I begged my piano teacher to let me play when I was taking lessons. Boogie woogie, ragtime and jazz tunes. I am so happy for these students, because I had to find and play these types of things on my own. My piano lessons were all about scales and classical music, which is okay to a point, but what kept me interested in that when I wanted to play other things, too? That was one of the reasons why I stopped them and took up downhill skiing.

Here’s a cool window in the building we were in for the recital yesterday. I got bored waiting for it to begin, so I started taking photos of *everything* in sight!

DSC02508

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mon@rch
    Oct 01, 2007 @ 22:46:25

    Poison Ivy, broken finger nails, uggg! Love these pictures and very cool those students were able to play that way! To play from memory must be talent.

    Reply

  2. jayne
    Oct 02, 2007 @ 06:52:03

    How fun to hear them play so well! Hope the poison ivy is improving Pam. ;c)

    Reply

  3. Ruth
    Oct 02, 2007 @ 07:53:52

    The window shot is impressive with wonderful perspective. I hated piano recitals and was a nervous participant. I took piano lessons as an adult, and worked much harder than I did when my mother made me do them.

    Reply

  4. Mary
    Oct 02, 2007 @ 15:04:59

    I always admired my friends who played piano, especially when they had recitals. I would have been trembling!

    I hope your poison and your finger is healing, Pam.

    Reply

  5. Barbara
    Oct 02, 2007 @ 22:27:54

    Your Mom will be getting piano lessons, how awesome.

    Reply

  6. Sherry
    Oct 05, 2007 @ 18:15:05

    Lovely photos! The window is stunning.
    Sherry

    Reply

Leave a Reply

