Getting a Sun Tan in October?

My friend Mary at work and I decided we would start walking after work when it started getting cooler out. Well, we couldn’t wait and we started this week. And. The. Sun. Has. Been. *Very.* Hot.

I don’t remember the last time the sun felt so hot in October in New York state. Usually my sun tan is waning this time of year, which it was doing in September, but now it’s come back. Just with hiking for an hour every day. Anyway, we’re having a bit of a problem with the hiking trails around work. We tried to go down this trail underneath this bridge, but some men screamed at us that the trail was closed.

2007-10-04 DSC02511

Hmmm, we didn’t see any signs. We turned around and walked west along an open, boring trail.

2007-10-04 DSC02512

I don’t want to do that trail again. I want to see stuff while I’m walking!

Next we went to a place to find the middle of the trail we want to go on, but ended up on the Auburn trail instead.

2007-10-05 DSC02516

Which was a little less boring, but I don’t want to do it again.

2007-10-05 DSC02517

I want woods! And after we hiked the Auburn trail, we investigated our next hiking spot, and it is uphill into the woods. WooHoo!! That will be for Monday! And hopefully it will be a bit cooler out.

BTW: Mary and I worked at Xerox together and I didn’t realize it was her until she brought in the Xerox yearbook from some year I won’t mention but I had big hair.  What *was* I thinking?

On another note, while walking out on my deck the past few days to go to work, I’ve seen the moon overhead, and today since I was early I decided to capture it. I soooo do not like going to work in the dark!!

2007-10-05 DSC02515 crop

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary
    Oct 05, 2007 @ 20:43:27

    Pam, I’m with you. I still have a tan. Whoever heard of 90’s in October? 90+ since June – nearly every day.

    I like woods, too! They give some shade and birds.

    Hang in there. I’m trying, too :o/

    Hey, we all had BIG HAIR…

    Reply

  2. jayne
    Oct 06, 2007 @ 07:11:35

    Yes, we all had the “mall hair” at one time or another! LOL! It’s been hotter than uh-huh here too… not like October at all. We’re just now getting ready to close the pool.

    Looking forward to the pretty images from the wooded trail.

    Reply

  3. Susan Gets Native
    Oct 06, 2007 @ 22:33:00

    It was freakin’ 92 today! What, in the name of all that is holy, is going ON?
    I want to get out my sweaters and my favorite RAPTOR sweatshirt!
    I used to go to work in the dark, too. I worked in security at the Cincy airport and first shift had to be in at 5:30 am to open the concourse. So I had to leave at 4:30 to get to Long Term Parking in time to catch the bus to the concourse. Man, I hated that job.

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Oct 07, 2007 @ 09:49:24

    Mary – I know, this weather is ridiculous!

    Jayne – “Mall hair” LOL!!

    Susan – I have no clue about this weather! I so want to wear my sweaters and sweatshirts and corduroys and fuzzy socks, too! Going to work in the dark sucks out loud, but getting out early is nice. Well, when I do get out early, that is!

    Reply

  5. Barbara
    Oct 07, 2007 @ 11:54:02

    So beautiful. NY Sate is really remarkable in it’s natural beauty.

    Reply

  6. mon@rch
    Oct 07, 2007 @ 17:54:06

    So hard to believe this is WNY in October! Just last year buffalo was dumped on with lake effect! Glad you are getting out hiking!

    Reply

  7. Pam
    Oct 08, 2007 @ 16:49:21

    Barbara – Thank you, I agree, NYS is really beautiful all around!

    Mon@rch – I know! I had forgotten about it snowing already last year!! Wow! Yup, can’t wait for it to cool off a bit, just a bit, it doesn’t need to get radically cooler!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

