Apple Cider, mmmmm!!

It’s been six months since my Dad passed away, and it was a tough day all around because people at work are very tired, including myself, so it just magnified that I miss my Daddy!! But that’s not what I’m here to talk about.

Saturday after work I went grocery shopping (oh joy, just what I felt like doing after working all day), and the produce lady had cups of local organic apple cider for people to try. Mmmmm, it was yummy! Okay, the reason why I brought my Dad up in the first paragraph is apple cider is (shoot, that should be was) our thing to have in the fall together. With a yummy donut here and there for something to have to wash down!

Dad Making Apple Cider

My Dad making apple cider with my brother and me waiting for a taste!

 

1964-12-003
Another view of the same apple cider making day.
The apples used were ones that grew on our property, and they were really yummy!
Scanned from slides in really bad shape.

My Dad’s rule of thumb to me was don’t make or buy apple cider until after the first frost because that’s when the apples get really good. Which is true in normal years. But with the lack of rain this year, the apples are small and not very juicy and already very sweet, so the apple cider is tasting pretty good pre-frost. I miss sharing this different apple cider year with my Dad. But I can’t wait to taste the cider post-frost!

How about you, is apple cider a favorite of yours? And if so, what do you like to have with it, if anything?

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mon@rch
    Oct 08, 2007 @ 17:37:57

    we had our first frost many weeks ago! Lots of cider for me!

    Reply

  2. winterwoman
    Oct 08, 2007 @ 19:15:35

    I’m excited because I will get to make my own apple cider for the first time this year. Can’t wait!

    Reply

  3. Ruth
    Oct 08, 2007 @ 20:03:22

    My uncle has an apple orchard north of Toronto and we lived on apples in all forms. We have not had a frost here yet and the apples are not as juicy as usual because of the drought. I do get fresh cider weekly from a local farm and like it chilled rather than mulled and hot.

    Reply

  4. Mary
    Oct 08, 2007 @ 22:15:55

    We love Apple Cider and Apple Butter. This year, we won’t find it for sale very often but maybe, hopefully, next year. Orchards are in ruin.

    But! I love those photos of your Dad and you. Precious memories. Keep them and SMILE, Pamela Ann!

    Reply

  5. Laura
    Oct 08, 2007 @ 22:41:41

    There’s an orchard here that makes Apple Cider Donuts – those are my favorite!

    Thanks for sharing the nice memories of your dad.

    Reply

  6. Barbara
    Oct 08, 2007 @ 23:06:19

    My Dad would bring me and my four sisters to a cider mill every year. It’s a nice memory.

    Reply

  7. Susan Gets Native
    Oct 09, 2007 @ 00:02:02

    Oh, damn it, Pam. Now I want some cider.

    I like to have cinnamon rolls with hot apple cider. And maybe, just maybe, a little rum.

    My heart wants to collapse inward a little when you bring up your Dad. I miss mine, too. Do you know that I have the note you sent regarding the card I sent, hanging on my fridge? I smile when I read it. And since I seem to always be in front of the fridge, I spend my day smiling like a goon.

    Quick cider story:
    A few years ago, pregnant with Lorelei (Holy Smokes, has it been almost 4 years? ! ?) for Christmas I decided to get some apple cider and do my own mulling on the stove. (Pregnancy hormones make you think you can do stuff that you can’t really do)
    I had all the herbs and stuff (cloves, cinnamon) but I didn’t have any cheesecloth to put it in. So I just dumped it all in, saw that it was floating and thought that when it was ready, I would just scoop out all the stuff.
    Needless to say, it didn’t work. We didn’t drink any.

    Reply

  8. Linda
    Oct 09, 2007 @ 09:46:13

    Me, too, now you made me want apple cider. I only tried it a few times in my life. When I was about 6 or 7 we visited an old friend (a very old lady) of my parents and she poured apple cider to us kids. It tasted a bit funny but we drank it, kids will drink anything. Later my mom tried it and ran over and grabbed it out of our hands. Apparently it had turned. There was quite excitement about it. The little old lady and my parents were very anti-alcohol. The little old lady was in a tizzy, her hands were shaking. She single-handedly corrupted us kids. Great memory, ha.

    I love your old pictures. I didn’t know you could scan slides on a scanner. I’ll have to give it a try.

    Reply

  9. Sherry
    Oct 09, 2007 @ 17:04:43

    My husband and I go to the local cider mill every year and get our cider. We also get apple cider donuts to go with.
    I like it cold or hot!
    Your memories of your Dad are touching. My Dad died in 1992. I still think of him daily! He also went to the cider mill to get his cider in October every year.
    Wonderful memories of your Dad.
    Sherry

    Reply

  10. lizalee
    Oct 11, 2007 @ 00:07:35

    I love serendipity. I had a cup of hot apple cider today. YUM. Someone set it up in the office today for the staff. I had some during my prep period and WOW was it just the thing for my cold. AWESOME! But, I bet it wasn’t half as good as the cider you made with your dad. That rocks.

    I never made cider with my dad but I did make it with his sister once. It was amazing — Gravenstein apples — YUM!

    Reply

  11. Trackback: (There’s no such thing as) Free Food - Part III « A Passion for Nature

Leave a Reply

