Dishwashers, Dishwashing, ugh!

So my dishwasher blew it’s pump last week, and fortunately I found out because I started it up, cleaned the bathroom, then went downstairs to put in a load of wash. And water was pouring down from the kitchen into the basement. Yuck-o!!! And no Daddy to call for help, darn it! At this point I’m thinking, ‘life sucks, then you die.’ Not really, but I felt like getting dramatic for a moment. Actually I was thinking, yay! The dishwasher was old when I bought my home 15 years ago, and I’m so into getting a new one. And this is where the fun starts.

Every appliance in my home is Kenmore of some vintage or other, simply because I like Kenmore for everything. Except dishwashers. I like GE / Hotpoint. So I went to the GE website, and of course the first dishwasher I see was $1,429.00. And I about had a stroke. I. just. want. it. to. wash. dishes. That’s it. No bells and whistles. Scrolling towards the end of the dishwasher list I finally found some dishwashers in my price range. Now all I need to do is go to my local appliance store and see which one has the least amount of features (the less to break down, right, because I. just. want. it. to. wash. dishes).

A couple of people I’ve told about this think I’m a big nut for needing a replacement dishwasher. See, I was required to wash dishes by hand from a very early age, and I. hate. washing. dishes. by. hand. HATE in a big way.

1964_Pam_Nat_Winter_1964
Me washing dishes at a very young age. Blech!
My older brother is drying the dishes.

But I don’t tell them that. I just tell them that I think a dishwasher can get dishes much cleaner and rinse & dry them much better than I can.

So has anyone bought a dishwasher lately? And if so, do you have anything to warn me about, since I have never bought a dishwasher in my life?

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mon@rch
    Oct 09, 2007 @ 23:07:00

    O my goodness! Are you sure that price is right? I two would have had my heart stop hearing that!

    Reply

  2. Linda
    Oct 09, 2007 @ 23:54:36

    Gotta have a dishwasher. I don’t know how people without them survive. That is such a cute picture!

    Reply

  3. Ruth
    Oct 10, 2007 @ 06:46:30

    That picture is so good. Why is the little boy just sitting there watching you? He should be holding a towel, but that wasn’t what little boys did then. I bought a dishwasher about 11 years ago and it hasn’t given me any trouble. It is a basic GE that cost about $500 at the time.

    Reply

  4. jayne
    Oct 10, 2007 @ 07:13:37

    What a sweet photo Pam! Nope, have never had to purchase a dishwasher yet….knocking on wood!

    Reply

  5. Mary
    Oct 10, 2007 @ 08:05:23

    For $1400, the dishwasher was probably top-of-the-line and had the ability to clear your table and pack itself.

    Like you as a child, I was the dishwasher at my house, and like you, I hate washing dishes. A dishwasher is a MUST!

    You are so funny…

    Reply

  6. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Oct 10, 2007 @ 08:09:11

    I hate washing dishes too! Our dishwasher is nearly dead- I’ll be wanting to hear how you like your new one when you get it. Love the picture of the little girl in the big apron! You’re so cute!

    Reply

  7. amommystory
    Oct 10, 2007 @ 14:37:21

    Stay away from FridgedAir. The top rack of our has broken off four times in the two years we’ve had it, and it does not do a really good job of cleaning, I have to say. My oven and fridge work great. Not my dishwasher. Good luck!
    H

    Reply

  8. Pam
    Oct 10, 2007 @ 16:45:16

    Mon@rch – yup it is! I certainly don’t need that type of expensive appliance in my life!

    Linda – oh yeah, for sure! I survived in an apartment without one, but no more. Thanks!

    Ruth – Thanks! Yeah, my brother was drying the dishes, but I normally did all of the typical girl things and he did all of the typical boy things. My Mom said she would change that if she had it to do over again. Thanks for telling me you love your GE, too. I hope the new one is as good or better than the old one!

    Jayne – Thanks! No smiling while doing dishes! I hope you don’t have to ever buy one!

    Mary – I would want it to cook dinner for me, too! LOL! Oh yeah, dishwashers are a necessity, no doubt about it!

    Lynne – I’ll let you know! Thanks! Although I didn’t feel cute doing those big people dishes with my little girl body!

    Amommystory – Thank you for the advice! I’ve never had a Frigidaire anything, that’s good to know your experience, even though I feel bad for you.

    Reply

  9. Susan Gets Native
    Oct 10, 2007 @ 22:57:42

    Just make sure it fits your counter!

    Reply

  10. nita from red tin heart
    Oct 11, 2007 @ 10:54:22

    What a cute picture. It reminds me of a book The Little Mommy series. My favorite book as a little girl. xo Nita

    Reply

Leave a Reply

