Double Eeeek!!

When I came home on Sunday night I saw this huge spider on the side of my home. Okay, well, not as big as a daddy long legs in diameter and not as big as those spiders you see elsewhere, but this guy was huge in comparison to the other spider I have on my home that I recently showed you, and his legs were wiggling wildly. And what are those shiny things – his eyeballs? Notice I’m calling this spider a “him”!

DSC02535 crop

I mean a girl spider can’t be this ugly, can she?

DSC02533 crop

And she wouldn’t have such hairy legs, would she?

DSC02531 crop

Although that butt is kinda big.

As I was going to work yesterday morning, there were two of these guys on my home. I sure hope they don’t keep multiplying! All kidding aside, I actually think this spider is *very* cool! As long as it doesn’t touch me.

P.S. Thanks for all of your comments on my dishwasher post. I bought a GE dishwasher today at my local appliance store, and wouldn’t you know, because I went in there *after* 3:00 I won’t get it until next *THURSDAY*! If I had been there before 3:00 it would be here tomorrow. How icky is that? Now I have to waste time every night doing dishes. How b-o-r-i-n-g!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary
    Oct 10, 2007 @ 20:12:13

    Yeah, b-o-r-i-n-g. I load my dishwasher and hate it when I have fry pans and pots to wash by hand.

    That spider is large, I know. We have two of them on campus. I forgot the name of it, but the female can be nearly two inches and the male a bit smaller. They weave some ornate webs, though!

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Oct 10, 2007 @ 20:45:27

    Mary – My Mom was just saying she hates it when the dishwasher is too full for everything because then she has to hand-wash. Me, I’d rather run two loads of dishes through the dishwasher in one night than wash *anything* by hand! I’m getting dishpan hands and going through hand lotion like crazy!
    Oh yeah, the spider is very large. I haven’t seen the webs yet. All I know is I walk through webs and get them on my face as I walk to my garage. Blech!

    Reply

  3. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Oct 10, 2007 @ 21:11:17

    I think spiders are cool too, but only if they don’t run toward me!

    Reply

  4. mon@rch
    Oct 10, 2007 @ 21:42:13

    Such wonderful macro shots of this spider! Glad you got your dish washer worked out and is only a matter of time till you are able to start washing dishes again.

    Reply

  5. jayne
    Oct 11, 2007 @ 07:10:37

    LOLOLOL… I agree, must be a man with the hairy legs. :c) Glad you got a new dishwasher and that you survive the hand washing until it’s arrival!

    Reply

  6. jason
    Oct 11, 2007 @ 18:55:48

    LOL! That’s hysterical, Pam! How I laughed…

    But to dash water on the gender fire, it’s probably a female. They tend to be larger, and they tend to be the majority web builders (males are prone to roam around a lot looking for females, although that varies with some species).

    And by the way, I’ve seen men with big butts and women with hairy legs. Are you gender stereotyping? šŸ˜‰

    Reply

  7. Cathy
    Oct 11, 2007 @ 20:55:25

    Pam! You are a hoot :0) I’ve been catching up with your posts that I’ve missed. Tell you what – you read my post about my mom. Well God bless her . While she was staying with us in the weekend house – she killed TWO HUGE WOOD SPIDERS in her bathroom. I called an exterminator. He said it’s a really bad spider year. Like you, I find them interesting, BUT – I don’t want to find them in my shower stall.

    I hope that poison ivy rash is improving. Bless you. That has got to be miserable.

    I thought your moon pix through the tree branches was beautiful.

    Reply

  8. Pam
    Oct 11, 2007 @ 21:03:41

    Lynne – I hear you!

    Mon@rch – Thank you! Can’t wait for the dishwasher to be installed! Dishpan hands feel icky!

    Jayne – LOL! I’ll survive with lots of hand lotion!

    Jason – Just kidding, of course! I’ve seen plenty of ugly woman with hairy legs and guys with big butts!

    Cathy – LOL! It’s so nice to have you back. Your mother is brave killing those HUGE wood spiders! My poison ivy is all better. It didn’t even take two weeks, go figure. Thank you on the moon pix!

    Reply

  9. Trackback: Not So Itsy Bitsy « Nature Woman

Leave a Reply

