Turning Leaves

Living near one of the great lakes, I live in an area that was still like summer until yesterday, and this area will stay about 10 degrees F warmer than areas to the south for a while. As a result, the leaves are still pretty much green here. Yesterday as I was driving home from the store, I saw one of my favorite sugar maples starting to change into its beautiful fall colors:

DSC02536 crop

It was a piece of cake to take this photo because the car in front of me was going sooo slow and nobody was behind me. Hopefully I’ll get lucky like this next time I want to take a photo of this tree as it continues to become even more beautiful. I love sugar maples!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Barbara
    Oct 11, 2007 @ 22:08:23

    I agree, they are so beautiful.

    Reply

  2. jayne
    Oct 12, 2007 @ 06:51:38

    There is just nothing more breathtaking than one in full color, is there? I can’t wait to see this one changing. We’ve been so dry, I fear our colors will be minimal this year.

    Reply

  3. Pam
    Oct 12, 2007 @ 16:43:32

    Barbara – they are, for sure!

    Jayne – No, there isn’t! It will be interesting to watch this one turn. I’ll try to photograph it every time I drive by it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

